Solutions for JS scripting in M4L?

Learn about building and using Max for Live devices.
amounra93

Solutions for JS scripting in M4L?

Post by amounra93 » Thu Dec 10, 2009 5:18 am

Ok.

I apologize in advance for stupid questions, I'm really new to JS (in fact REALLY new...I've skimmed over stuff in the past, but now I'm building working scripts, so bear with me).

I started a new thread in the hopes that more js specific info will find its way here. The beginning of this thread really began here:

http://forum.ableton.com/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=128452

I figured out that you can assign global variables inside of functions without using the "var" prefix when making assignments (even though this is not really working as expected, either).

I am attempting to assign liveAPI variables inside of a function, so that the function can be called AFTER the Live API has instantiated itself. Loadbang() doesn't work. (Thanks, btw, to jayemell for some insight into a good way to deal with this, which I'm working on right now).

My current objective is to build a simple js to deal with the Launchpad's User2 controls. I've already accomplished this with the standard Max4Live objects, but I just can't leave well enough alone, and there a couple of things I see as being more advantageous in using js. I was able to build a script that worked last night, but it won't instantiate at load as it should, so I'm having to rethink some things. Not to mention the code is very cumbersome, I know there have to be some better ways to do this.

I have several questions, though. Right now, I have a constructor for each control on the launchpad, coupled with a callback for the same. In addition, I've built functions for each control to forward color values to the hardware. Again, cumbersome. I feel like there should be a way to call the variables containing the api_paths from outside the js, but haven't so far figured out how.

It looks like this:

Code: Select all

autowatch = 1