Recording Harmonica | Software problem !!

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
FloCre
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2013 4:08 pm

Recording Harmonica | Software problem !!

Post by FloCre » Mon Sep 07, 2020 12:16 pm

Hi everybody,

I have BIG problems recording harmonica with Ableton. I always experience random clicks depending on where I play my recording from and the clicks even are exported!

It's not the recording or my equipment. The files saved to the project folder are always clean. I have this problem for a long time now and pretty much changed my whole setup during the last few months.

This is an example:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/u9wy55bg3y9zj ... n.wav?dl=0

Does anyone of you have an idea how I can fix this problem? It definitely is a software problem.

I had to record harmonica in Garage Band lately to not risk these almost random clicks...

I look forward to hearing from you.

Best,
Konstantin

Richie Witch
Posts: 1007
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 10:10 pm
Location: Washington, DC
Contact:

Re: Recording Harmonica | Software problem !!

Post by Richie Witch » Mon Sep 07, 2020 12:19 pm

What's your buffer set to? Have your buffer set incorrectly could cause this problem.
"Watching the Sky" ~ A 4-track EP of piano, strings, and Native American flute

FloCre
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2013 4:08 pm

Re: Recording Harmonica | Software problem !!

Post by FloCre » Mon Sep 07, 2020 12:28 pm

It was set to 512 but it doesn't matter if it's 32 or 2048 :|

TLW
Posts: 758
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2018 2:37 am

Re: Recording Harmonica | Software problem !!

Post by TLW » Mon Sep 07, 2020 5:18 pm

Is the harmonica valved by any chance?
Live 10 Suite, 2020 27" iMac, 3.6 GHz i9, MacOS Catalina, RME UFX, assorted synths, guitars and stuff.

FloCre
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2013 4:08 pm

Re: Recording Harmonica | Software problem !!

Post by FloCre » Mon Sep 07, 2020 7:02 pm

That's a next level question :!:
The harmonica isn't valved though...

TLW
Posts: 758
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2018 2:37 am

Re: Recording Harmonica | Software problem !!

Post by TLW » Tue Sep 08, 2020 1:44 am

I asked because valves clicking shut in some of my half-valved harmonicas can sound like someone’s tapping the mic stand if I get too close to the mic. Then there’s the rattling sound when note-bending makes the reed hit the cover plate in the low-octave ones.... Complicated things harmonicas.

I actually can’t hear much wrong with the audio clip you posted. There seems to be a “pop” right at the start that sometimes I hear and sometimes I don’t. If that’s the problem it might be worth checking that you are splitting the clips when the wave-form crosses the “zero dB” line. Otherwise the audio goes from silent to a sudden volume jump when the clip starts playing which can make popping noises.
Live 10 Suite, 2020 27" iMac, 3.6 GHz i9, MacOS Catalina, RME UFX, assorted synths, guitars and stuff.

fishmonkey
Posts: 4207
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 4:50 am

Re: Recording Harmonica | Software problem !!

Post by fishmonkey » Tue Sep 08, 2020 1:32 pm

i hear a click just after the start and a bit before the end of the sample...
badbrainz wrote: I'm a drummer, so I'm already at an intellectual disadvantage here

FloCre
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2013 4:08 pm

Re: Recording Harmonica | Software problem !!

Post by FloCre » Tue Sep 15, 2020 10:31 pm

This is a clean file from the project folder:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/ocwqzhftc488u ... D.wav?dl=0

This is the damaged export:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/ziht25rcvr5yq ... t.wav?dl=0

I'm close to buying Logic but I really don't want to learn another DAW...

fishmonkey
Posts: 4207
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 4:50 am

Re: Recording Harmonica | Software problem !!

Post by fishmonkey » Tue Sep 15, 2020 10:59 pm

how are you doing the export? are there effects on the export?

does this happen only with files recorded by Live, or even if you import a good sample recorded elsewhere?
badbrainz wrote: I'm a drummer, so I'm already at an intellectual disadvantage here

FloCre
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2013 4:08 pm

Re: Recording Harmonica | Software problem !!

Post by FloCre » Tue Sep 15, 2020 11:24 pm

There are no effects applied at all. Just a 24bit WAV without Dithering just as it was recorded.

It only happens with files recorded by Live and basically only with harmonica. Never had any problems with vocals!

fishmonkey
Posts: 4207
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 4:50 am

Re: Recording Harmonica | Software problem !!

Post by fishmonkey » Tue Sep 15, 2020 11:26 pm

btw one is a mono file and the one with glitches is stereo...
badbrainz wrote: I'm a drummer, so I'm already at an intellectual disadvantage here

TLW
Posts: 758
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2018 2:37 am

Re: Recording Harmonica | Software problem !!

Post by TLW » Tue Sep 15, 2020 11:43 pm

I’m guessing a bit, but the crackles almost sound like the D/A convertor (or Live’s master channel) is being clipped slightly while exporting, maybe reducing the export volume level a little or putting a brick-wall limiter on the master channel set to output no higher than -1dB might help. Another possibility is Live’s warp function is introducing some artefacts into the export. Try switching it off (if it’s on) or trying a different warp algorithm.

As for switching to Logic (which I have and, despite it’s MIDI frustrations and annoyances, sometimes use), Live is no better or worse at exporting audio accurately than any other DAW.
Live 10 Suite, 2020 27" iMac, 3.6 GHz i9, MacOS Catalina, RME UFX, assorted synths, guitars and stuff.

Post Reply