newbie with a question

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
lancerguy
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2021 8:45 pm

newbie with a question

Post by lancerguy » Sat Jan 09, 2021 9:11 pm

hey i recently purchased a mini launchpad mk3 and im having issues with audio output on ableton live 10 lite. i know im not suppose to post issues on the forums but this is ridiculous how no video or anything hash helped and customer service is closed. basically when i am browsing sounds and effects etc...... i can hear them but once i put them in the tracklist i see that they are playing but there is no audio at all. any suggestions will help at this point thanks. :evil:

Tarekith
Posts: 17720
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: newbie with a question

Post by Tarekith » Sat Jan 09, 2021 11:52 pm

Tarekith
Ableton Forum Administrator
Inner Portal Studio - Professional Audio Mastering

lancerguy
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2021 8:45 pm

Re: newbie with a question

Post by lancerguy » Tue Jan 12, 2021 2:10 am

so i downloaded the ASIO audio card driver and still nothing, for a company that is well known this is bs you cant even contact someone on setting up. am i suppose to buy an actual audio interface if i want the audio to come out of my pc speakers? im so confused i have a launch pad and atleast it works fine. clearly something isnt right.

Lojik
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 10:12 am

Re: newbie with a question

Post by Lojik » Thu Jan 14, 2021 7:06 am

The launchpad is just a midi device so is unlikely to be causing your audio issues. You can hear audio when previewing so your sound card settings are likely not the problem either.

When you say "add to the tracklist" what do you mean? Are you dropping audio onto an audio track, or via a midi track (e.g. in a simpler/sampler or drum rack)? What gives you the indication that the sound is playing, you just can't hear it?

Mark Williams
Posts: 459
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2014 2:43 pm
Location: Kent

Re: newbie with a question

Post by Mark Williams » Thu Jan 14, 2021 4:15 pm

Complete lack of system/setup info here. No help at all.
Live 10,Push 2, KK S61 MK2, Focusrite Scarlett 18i20 & ADA8200, Softube Console 1 Mk2, Deepmind12D, Eventide H9, Komplete 12, Hydrasynth, Modal Cobalt 8M, NDLR, Bass Station2, MicroFreak, Alesis Multi Strike Pad

miyaru
Posts: 979
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 12:08 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: newbie with a question

Post by miyaru » Thu Jan 14, 2021 4:47 pm

Ableton has loads of good video's to start with, and their manual is excellent, and Mark is right, without any relevant info it is hard to you out!
Greetings from Miyaru.

Prodaw i7-7700, 16Gb Ram, Focusrite Scarlett 18i20 3rd gen, Live Suit 10, Push2, Reason Suite 11, Presonus Eris E8, Lexicon MPX1,
Korg N1, Korg R3, NI Massive, Rob Papen's Predator 2, Sonarworks Reference 4 and Scaler.

jestermgee
Posts: 4046
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 6:38 am
Contact:

Re: newbie with a question

Post by jestermgee » Thu Jan 14, 2021 11:48 pm

lancerguy wrote:
Tue Jan 12, 2021 2:10 am
so i downloaded the ASIO audio card driver and still nothing, for a company that is well known this is bs you cant even contact someone on setting up. am i suppose to buy an actual audio interface if i want the audio to come out of my pc speakers? im so confused i have a launch pad and atleast it works fine. clearly something isnt right.
No, you cannot just contact someone to hold your hand and plug in your cables for you usually, especially when no one knows what your audio interface is. As fun as it may appear, Ableton Live is still a Pro Audio software and there is some basic level of knowledge needed to get going. One of this is how to troubleshoot the basics.

I'd suggest maybe posting screenshots of your main view in Live and the audio options page so we can see what you have setup. If you have some kind of sound coming out when you click sounds in the browser this suggests you have your audio interface setup correct but also sounds like you have preview channels routed to your speakers, just maybe the main output in Live is being sent to another output you do not have connected. A picture would help experienced users to identify all that isn't your issue. FYI, you cannot paste images here so you need to upload them somewhere and link here.

Post Reply