Waves plugins not working with Live 11

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
lapieuvre
Posts: 725
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 9:29 pm

Waves plugins not working with Live 11

Post by lapieuvre » Sun Mar 14, 2021 5:12 pm

Hi,

I just realize that none of my Waves Plugins work in Live 11...

They work fine in Cubase and Logic, but when I try to load them in Live, I get this message: VST2 "Sibilance Mono": This VST2 Plug-in is not compatible with Live. It does the same with all my other Waves plug-ins and I just updated my Waves plugins through Waves Central.

Thanks for any help
MBP 2018, 16 GB Ram, OSX 10.15.7
Live 10.1.30 Suite
Live 11.0
Soundcards : FF800, Apollo Twin duo

lapieuvre
Posts: 725
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 9:29 pm

Re: Waves plugins not working with Live 11

Post by lapieuvre » Tue Mar 16, 2021 1:31 pm

After many researches, contacting support, I still didn't find an answer to my problem.

In the preferences-> Plug-ins Image
Everything is grayed out... I can't rescan plug-Ins.

In Live 10 I see Waves 12.7, but in Live 11 I only see Waves 12.0
MBP 2018, 16 GB Ram, OSX 10.15.7
Live 10.1.30 Suite
Live 11.0
Soundcards : FF800, Apollo Twin duo

Mark Williams
Posts: 644
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2014 2:43 pm
Location: Kent

Re: Waves plugins not working with Live 11

Post by Mark Williams » Tue Mar 16, 2021 2:38 pm

You have duplicates, remove the duplicates, and force rescan. Ensure you are only installing the latest Waves pugins.
Live 11, Win10, Push 2, KK S61 MK2, Focusrite Scarlett 18i20 & ADA8200, Softube Console 1 Mk2, Deepmind12D, Eventide H9, Line 6 M5, Komplete 12, Hydrasynth, Cobalt 8M, NDLR, Bass Station2, MicroFreak, Alesis Multi Strike Pad

lapieuvre
Posts: 725
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 9:29 pm

Re: Waves plugins not working with Live 11

Post by lapieuvre » Tue Mar 16, 2021 2:45 pm

Thanks Mark,

It did it ! I removed the WaveShell2-VST 12.0 - component and VST3 from the plug-ins Folder, then Reopened Live and now my plug-ins are loading.

Strange thing though, they still show up as Waves 12.0 in the Browser, but really it loads waves 12.7 plug-ins.

regards.
MBP 2018, 16 GB Ram, OSX 10.15.7
Live 10.1.30 Suite
Live 11.0
Soundcards : FF800, Apollo Twin duo

Mark Williams
Posts: 644
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2014 2:43 pm
Location: Kent

Re: Waves plugins not working with Live 11

Post by Mark Williams » Tue Mar 16, 2021 9:26 pm

No problem.
Live 11, Win10, Push 2, KK S61 MK2, Focusrite Scarlett 18i20 & ADA8200, Softube Console 1 Mk2, Deepmind12D, Eventide H9, Line 6 M5, Komplete 12, Hydrasynth, Cobalt 8M, NDLR, Bass Station2, MicroFreak, Alesis Multi Strike Pad

[jur]
Site Admin
Posts: 2770
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Ableton

Re: Waves plugins not working with Live 11

Post by [jur] » Tue Mar 16, 2021 9:58 pm

lapieuvre wrote:
Tue Mar 16, 2021 2:45 pm
Strange thing though, they still show up as Waves 12.0 in the Browser, but really it loads waves 12.7 plug-ins.
That'd be cool if you could report this to support@ableton.com
thx
Ableton Forum Moderator

rnb0
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2016 3:52 pm

Re: Waves plugins not working with Live 11

Post by rnb0 » Mon Apr 19, 2021 3:29 pm

Similar issue here. Actually they (Element2 and Smack Attack) DID work with 11 but then when I ran Waves crappy licensing check ("Central"), it updated itself and then it appears to have updated the plugins (though the actual version numbers didn't change.) So stuff worked in 11 until Waves forced a "new" version. Then I got the same message you did. I walked through their poorly documented settings fixes and found some pieces (bundles and shells) with new dates on them in my user/public folders and placed them in my vst folder and rescanned and now the plugins don't even show up under the shell. Because their licensing regimen is so clunky, I went back into Central to see if stuff had become somehow unlicensed but no. I'm pretty done with their stuff because I can't spend a morning trying to get a plugin that I (re)paid for to work. Too bad. The actual product (Element 2) is actually quite handy. But because of the overhead, I'm thinking of buying wavetable to add to my standard 11 setup.

Post Reply