problem using computer keyboard with simpler

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
a machine of loving grace
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2021 2:16 pm

problem using computer keyboard with simpler

Post by a machine of loving grace » Mon Apr 19, 2021 2:31 pm

All,

When I use the simpler with my computer keyboard set up as the MIDI controller, I can only activate the sample using "classic" or "one-shot". When I try to use the "slice" feature, no sounds are produced. However, I can see that the "MIDI track in indicator" is lighting up (suggesting a signal is being received) as is the small vertical volume bar on the left hand side of the simpler "device title bar." Note, nothing appears in the "MIDI track out indicator".

Let me know if you have any suggestions. thanks

My specs/system
Live 10.1.35 [demo version]
Windows 2021-04 cumulative update
dirvers are up to date
tested with ASIO and native soundcard (realtek)
MSI
System Model Modern 15 A10M
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-10210U CPU @ 1.60GHz, 2112 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s)
8 GB ram
Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 3rd Gen

garyboozy
Posts: 2666
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 12:27 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: problem using computer keyboard with simpler

Post by garyboozy » Mon Apr 19, 2021 2:51 pm

Slices start on C1 so tap Z a couple of times to change down octaves til you see 'Your current octave is: C1 to D2' in the status bar (bottom-right of Live's window)

a machine of loving grace
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2021 2:16 pm

Re: problem using computer keyboard with simpler

Post by a machine of loving grace » Tue Apr 20, 2021 12:30 am

Thanks. That was it. Problem resolved.

Post Reply