A USB2 hub confirmed to work with a padKONTROL?????

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
compositeone
Posts: 271
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 12:22 pm
Contact:

A USB2 hub confirmed to work with a padKONTROL?????

Post by compositeone » Mon Nov 24, 2008 11:52 am

I got a mac last week and need a hub. I know that my old cheap, crap hub did't work with my padKONTROL on my old PC. Plug the PK into the hub and nothing happens... plug it in directly and it works...

I was hoping that someone could confirm a usb2 hub that works for the padKONTROL under OSX???

Cheers.
http://www.myspace.com/compositeswerve

"So what kind of music do you make?"
"Both kinds...... drum and bass."

dru
Posts: 639
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 3:04 pm
Location: Perth, Australia

Post by dru » Mon Nov 24, 2008 12:00 pm

Have you tried the old hub with your new Mac? Just because the PC didn't like it, doesn't mean the Mac won't. :wink:

djfm
Posts: 777
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 10:13 pm
Location: uk
Contact:

Post by djfm » Mon Nov 24, 2008 12:00 pm

i came here to post the same thing I'm in need of a usb hub too... A powered one
i checked out the belkin one but it doesn't have great reviews
anyone recommend a good one?
thanks
http://www.myspace.com/projectf - Progressive
http://soundcloud.com/fproject
http://twitter.com/fproject1

Macbook 2.4 4GB/Live 7.15/massive/Absynth 4

Crash
Posts: 805
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 4:06 pm
Location: Nowhereland

Post by Crash » Mon Nov 24, 2008 12:11 pm

The new Macbooks are said to deliver too little power over USB, so you may need a powered hub.

My bandmate uses an USB hub on his white plastic Macbook and it ran a Padkontrol + RemoteSL without problems. Don't know the brand though, I can ask him.
HAL: I know I've made some very poor decisions recently, but I can give you my complete assurance that my work will be back to normal. I've still got the greatest enthusiasm and confidence in the mission. And I want to help you.

compositeone
Posts: 271
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 12:22 pm
Contact:

Post by compositeone » Mon Nov 24, 2008 12:18 pm

I meant to say a powered hub is definitely what I'm after. :)
dru wrote:Have you tried the old hub with your new Mac? Just because the PC didn't like it, doesn't mean the Mac won't. :wink:
I think you know what I'll be trying out tonight. :oops:
Crash wrote:The new Macbooks are said to deliver too little power over USB, so you may need a powered hub.

My bandmate uses an USB hub on his white plastic Macbook and it ran a Padkontrol + RemoteSL without problems. Don't know the brand though, I can ask him.


Do you know if the power issue is the same for the new Mac Book Pros as well as Mac Books?

If you wouldn't mind finding out the brand of you band mates hub that would be great, cheers.
http://www.myspace.com/compositeswerve

"So what kind of music do you make?"
"Both kinds...... drum and bass."

chrysalis33rpm
Posts: 1020
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 9:56 pm
Location: San Francisco

Post by chrysalis33rpm » Mon Nov 24, 2008 1:03 pm

I use a Belkin 7 port hub w/ my Mac and a Padkontrol; it works fine.

skullNbones
Posts: 132
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 3:38 pm
Location: New England

Post by skullNbones » Mon Nov 24, 2008 1:10 pm

Belkin 4 port powered hub and pK here, works sweet.
MacbookPro 2.33/ Live7/ APC-40/ BCR2000/ padKontrol/ Oxygen61/ Edirol FA-66/ KRK Rokit 5s with sub/ infinite possibility...

Corn Swabler
Posts: 142
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 9:24 pm

Post by Corn Swabler » Mon Nov 24, 2008 5:13 pm

Image

fragmentated
Posts: 184
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 3:52 pm

Post by fragmentated » Mon Nov 24, 2008 8:33 pm

chrysalis33rpm wrote:I use a Belkin 7 port hub w/ my Mac and a Padkontrol; it works fine.
I use the same here - 7 port powered Belkin. PadKontrol, Novation ReMote SL, and Kore 1 controller all run fine off of mine on a MBP.

SuperBassMexican
Posts: 255
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 10:33 am
Location: Houston
Contact:

Post by SuperBassMexican » Mon Nov 24, 2008 11:39 pm

Corn Swabler wrote:Image
Damn thats so fucking cool!
apple macbook 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo 2GB 250GB, Presonus Firebox, Live 7 SWEET , Micron , LV2 , Padkontrol , Oxygen 8 , Korg Er-1 MK II , Juno 106 , Kaoss 3, Mackie 802

http://www.myspace.com/destroy281

McQ714
Posts: 1851
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 10:12 pm
Location: Orange County, CA

Post by McQ714 » Tue Nov 25, 2008 1:34 am

I use 2 D-Link DUB7s for my desktop and a D-Link DUB4 for my laptop... no issues with the padKontrol here.

jeffplaysmoog
Posts: 195
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 3:18 am
Location: Gilbertsville, NY

Post by jeffplaysmoog » Tue Nov 25, 2008 1:39 am

I use the Linksys pro-connect 4 port powered hub and it works fairly well. I have an axiom 25 and some USB harddrives and they all work flawlessly. My MOTU micro express, however, does not recognize when plugged into the hub.

Post Reply