audio engineering diplomas/degrees worth it?

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
forge

audio engineering diplomas/degrees worth it?

Post by forge » Wed Nov 26, 2008 11:50 am

I've been an "audio engineer" of sorts for many years now, but aside from doing "audio design" in year 11 and 12, over 15 years ago, and a couple of vaguely relevant units at university that were part of a different course and didn't really tell me anything I didn't already know, I've not really studied it in an "official" capacity and I'm completely "on the job" and self taught, which is well and good for the work I've done, but most of the work I have had has tended to be in a lot of the more boring sides of the industry.

I've always secretly fancied getting into things like film post or sound design, or even some of the bigger studios where you would be involved in much bigger projects - something like that anyway. I've always kind of assumed that it would mean going back to the beginning as a runner or "tape op" (or whatever that is now) or something, and that kind of thing becomes pretty unrealistic when you get into your 30s and have kids/responsibilities etc

I never really wanted to be an audio engineer, I just kind of fell into it as a musician trying to pay the bills, so over the years I've learned everything I know from making music myself or pretty boring and mundane audio work, like conferencing/AV, or smaller advertising type studio work which I did for a number of years, and it was all OK, but nothing like as exciting as I would imagine it would be to work on a feature film or sound design a game or something

so I'm kind of at a point where I either want to just do something completely different and practical at Uni and just make music for the love of it, or have one last push and try and get into what I've always assumed was a pretty difficult side of the industry to get into