Any happy MOTU 828 original owners out there?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Robert Henke
Posts: 1193
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:38 am
Location: Berlin

Post by Robert Henke » Wed Dec 03, 2008 9:49 am

Opus,
you can easily mix files of any bit depth and any sample rate in Live, this is one of the lovely side fx of our engine :-). While using different sample rates in a project would need internal sample rate conversion, which slightly alters the signal, using different bit depths is totally fine, since Live internally uses 32 bit or 64 bit floating point math anyway.

Best practice in your case: Run Live at 44.1kHz, record your files in 24 bit and you are set. 24 bit files need slightly more HD space and therefore take slightly more time to open in Live, but the CPU load is not affected by this.


Using 24 bit files instead of 16 bit makes sense, since you have more headroom.
There are many more reasons why it makes sense to use higher quality files / processing than what the final output (16bit) should be, but I am too lazy to explain.

Hope that helps,
Robert

nbinder
Posts: 867
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 1:47 pm

Post by nbinder » Wed Dec 03, 2008 10:20 am

I own a 828 MK3 and never experienced any problems. Doesn't mean too much though because it heavily depends on your overall configuration.

Opus
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2008 10:00 am

Post by Opus » Wed Dec 03, 2008 11:08 am

Robert Henke wrote:Opus,
you can easily mix files of any bit depth and any sample rate in Live, this is one of the lovely side fx of our engine :-).....

Cool. Thank you very much for the input. So I guess I'll have no fear while using my 16bit 44.1khz drum sample libraries, and recording in 24bit. Good to know the CPU will handle the higher bit depths. I just ordered my original MOTU 828. Can't wait to hook everything up to it.

Opus
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2008 10:00 am

Post by Opus » Wed Dec 03, 2008 11:10 am

nbinder wrote:I own a 828 MK3 and never experienced any problems. Doesn't mean too much though because it heavily depends on your overall configuration.
yeah? I'm glad to hear that. I may have had a defective unit. But I read online that a lot of other users were having similar issues. I really liked the 828 mk3. Maybe i'll get it next time, in a few years after it's old and there aren't any more issues with it. Right now, I need stability more than aything.

Mr Mowgli
Posts: 277
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 11:10 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Post by Mr Mowgli » Wed Dec 03, 2008 5:33 pm

828 really is a beast we use it exclusively, never had a sinlge problem with it, top dog.
Ben Jay - Founder, Prime Loops [2GB Free Download for my friends...Click Banner!]
Image

Opus
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2008 10:00 am

Post by Opus » Thu Dec 04, 2008 6:12 am

Mr Mowgli wrote:828 really is a beast we use it exclusively, never had a sinlge problem with it, top dog.
the original? or the mk3?

Mesmer
Posts: 589
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 4:29 pm
Location: Sunny San Juan, PR

Post by Mesmer » Thu Dec 04, 2008 6:26 am

Aren't the mkII cheap these days?
Aren't they better than the original, plus less cutting edge than the mkIII?

I have one, but have not had the opportunity to put it through it's paces...
I'd like to read nice things about it though?

mine was $450 i believe ... and came with lots and lots of free cables.
plus firewire!! (the dying kind)



-h
http://www.mesmero.net
---
Image
---
Hidden Driveways wrote:This doesn't answer your question at all, but I said it anyway simply for the joy of making a post.

Opus
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2008 10:00 am

Post by Opus » Thu Dec 04, 2008 10:43 pm

yeah, they're cheap, but, i'm one broke mofo...

plus, after using the mk3 and having major bugs, and then reading about a lot of similar issues with the mk2, i decided to go with the original.
because of it's stability, and i don't plan on recording higher than 44.1khz anyways.

Post Reply