This is my Fave Reverb..Heard of Altiverb?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Opus
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2008 10:00 am

This is my Fave Reverb..Heard of Altiverb?

Post by Opus » Fri Dec 05, 2008 1:38 pm

http://www.audioease.com/Pages/Altiverb ... bMain.html

If you ever try it, pipe an acoustic guitar or a wind instrument through it. It literally blows my socks off. But It can be very heavy on the CPU. Does wonders on rhythm tracks with a tight decay and mix below 10%. Using a cheap 2nd laptop would make an ideal send reverb for live use....

beats me
Posts: 23319
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:39 pm

Post by beats me » Fri Dec 05, 2008 1:48 pm

Speakerphone is great too, but both are a little pricey.

Meef Chaloin
Posts: 2164
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 10:09 pm

Post by Meef Chaloin » Fri Dec 05, 2008 1:51 pm

WTF? Since when has Altiverb been for XP as well?

8O
Posts: 5502
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 9:29 am
Location: Berlin

Post by 8O » Fri Dec 05, 2008 1:53 pm

Reverb seems to be in at the moment. But $700!
Image

Opus
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2008 10:00 am

Post by Opus » Fri Dec 05, 2008 1:56 pm

Meef Chaloin wrote:WTF? Since when has Altiverb been for XP as well?
i think since Version 6.

Opus
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2008 10:00 am

Post by Opus » Fri Dec 05, 2008 1:56 pm

Meef Chaloin wrote:WTF? Since when has Altiverb been for XP as well?
i think since Version 6.

Opus
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2008 10:00 am

Post by Opus » Fri Dec 05, 2008 2:07 pm

http://www.audioease.com/Pages/mp3%20Al ... glish.html

Well, Spending about $1k on a new PC laptop and a copy of Altiverb isn't that extreme compared to the cost of a lot of reverbs out there.

It's capabilities are very unique.

six_o_clock_crow
Posts: 244
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 7:48 pm
Location: Portsmouth: small town near Havant & Waterlooville, UK
Contact:

Post by six_o_clock_crow » Fri Dec 05, 2008 2:22 pm

Opus wrote:http://www.audioease.com/Pages/mp3%20Al ... glish.html

Well, Spending about $1k on a new PC laptop and a copy of Altiverb isn't that extreme compared to the cost of a lot of reverbs out there.
Indeed. For example: http://www.dv247.com/invt/20098/
HARDWARE:
Vaio laptop / M-Audio Transit / Zoom H2 /
Alesis M1 Active 520's / Sennheiser EH2200's
Behringer BCR2000 / misc. instruments & toys

SOFTWARE:
Live 7 / Sound Forge Audio Studio

Opus
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2008 10:00 am

Post by Opus » Fri Dec 05, 2008 2:26 pm

damn

polyslax
Posts: 2402
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 11:22 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by polyslax » Fri Dec 05, 2008 2:46 pm

Altiverb's the only thing I've used for reverb for the last few years, the library is incredible and they add a free IR each month. Excellent tight ambience's, cavernous spaces, outdoor settings, recording studios, clubs, post pro, plates etc. I'd also recommend the Lexicon and EMT Plate IRs from Acousticas for use in Altiverb.
Image Image

Meef Chaloin
Posts: 2164
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 10:09 pm

Post by Meef Chaloin » Fri Dec 05, 2008 2:49 pm

what's the cpu consumption like on it?

six_o_clock_crow
Posts: 244
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 7:48 pm
Location: Portsmouth: small town near Havant & Waterlooville, UK
Contact:

Post by six_o_clock_crow » Fri Dec 05, 2008 3:01 pm

I use PSP's Easyverb - http://www.pspaudioware.com/

It's cheap(ish) at £75/$150 (approx), is easy to use and sounds great I reckon.

It's no Altiverb of course, but definately a big step up from Live's reverb and the free reverbs I've tried.
HARDWARE:
Vaio laptop / M-Audio Transit / Zoom H2 /
Alesis M1 Active 520's / Sennheiser EH2200's
Behringer BCR2000 / misc. instruments & toys

SOFTWARE:
Live 7 / Sound Forge Audio Studio

esky
Posts: 701
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 3:54 pm
Location: Berlin - Kreuzberg 61
Contact:

Post by esky » Fri Dec 05, 2008 3:08 pm

I had stability problems with Altiverb. A friend recommended

WizooVerb W2...!

It uses IR's as well as algorithms and sounds just fantastic.
The company Wizoo was sold and now works for digidesign...

polyslax
Posts: 2402
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 11:22 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by polyslax » Fri Dec 05, 2008 3:09 pm

Meef Chaloin wrote:what's the cpu consumption like on it?
Can't check at the mo, but I typically just run one instance on a return track, so it's never been an issue... I would guess about 5%, running the AU on a Mac Pro 2.8.
Image Image

lola
Posts: 1100
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 1:57 pm

Post by lola » Fri Dec 05, 2008 4:17 pm

Sir

Post Reply