ANYONE KNOW ABOUT MAC PROS?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
funky shit
Posts: 3977
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 9:50 pm
Location: Earth

Post by funky shit » Sun Jan 04, 2009 10:45 pm

Baron von Case wrote:
nicklittle wrote:Sorry guys, my housemate thought it would be funny to write that.

apologise to you all, got my answer first time round.

thanks for all the advise though... :wink:
Yeah, whatever psycho. :wink:
Image

Corn Swabler
Posts: 142
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 9:24 pm

Post by Corn Swabler » Mon Jan 05, 2009 3:34 am

nicklittle wrote:Sorry guys, my housemate thought it would be funny to write that WHILE I WAS SUCKING HIS PENIS
Image

smutek
Posts: 4488
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2003 3:30 pm
Location: Baltimore,United States

Post by smutek » Mon Jan 05, 2009 3:52 am

CLICK TO ADD OR REMOVE NICK LITTLE

arafel
Posts: 505
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 2:19 am
Location: Calgary, Canada

Post by arafel » Mon Jan 05, 2009 3:59 am

My G4 1.67 Ghz, 2gig Ram Powerbook, works great with Live 6.05, OSX 10.4.11

In a usual project, I max out about 12 midi tracks (RMX, Atmos, Predator, Albino, Simpler, Impulse), 2 insert fx per (eq, comp, camelspace, etc), and about 3 Audio tracks (3 insert fx per) and have 4 send Fx. Somewhere about 8+ midi tracks going I need to freeze a few to keep working smoothly. Ends up at about 70% cpu usage, and will glitch/ stutter after that.

Great workhorse -
2.8ghz Quad PowerMac, Fa-66 using optical link, Live 9.72, Remote25, Maschine, Samson 65a.

Machinesworking
Posts: 11105
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 9:30 pm
Location: Seattle

Post by Machinesworking » Mon Jan 05, 2009 5:13 am

arafel wrote:My G4 1.67 Ghz, 2gig Ram Powerbook, works great with Live 6.05, OSX 10.4.11

In a usual project, I max out about 12 midi tracks (RMX, Atmos, Predator, Albino, Simpler, Impulse), 2 insert fx per (eq, comp, camelspace, etc), and about 3 Audio tracks (3 insert fx per) and have 4 send Fx. Somewhere about 8+ midi tracks going I need to freeze a few to keep working smoothly. Ends up at about 70% cpu usage, and will glitch/ stutter after that.

Great workhorse -
Agreed, 1.6 is near a minimum, but it's not a deal killer. [grandpa voice] I used a g4 400 for music and it worked just fine, kids these days!![/grandpa voice]. Great job on getting an old G5 for free!

nicklittle
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2008 6:45 pm
Location: LEEDS UK

Post by nicklittle » Mon Jan 05, 2009 8:18 am

cheers for some of the helpful advise.

nicklittle
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2008 6:45 pm
Location: LEEDS UK

Post by nicklittle » Mon Jan 05, 2009 1:06 pm

Machinesworking thanks for your message, saw the thread about the new mac mini coming out, might just flog the g5 and get one of those.

Hidden Driveways
Posts: 1977
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 8:13 pm
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Contact:

Post by Hidden Driveways » Mon Jan 05, 2009 4:18 pm

commuter wrote:
A 1.6GHZ PROCESSOR AND 512RAM
Not a Mac Pro, but an old Powermac G5 which is really underpowered.....
I totally disagree. This is still a good machine for Live.

Hidden Driveways
Posts: 1977
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 8:13 pm
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Contact:

Post by Hidden Driveways » Mon Jan 05, 2009 4:39 pm

My G5 is 5 years old and it runs Live 7 like a fucking champ. My computer hasn't been replaced and updated because it's completely unnecessary.

What version of OSX is your machine running, Nick? I'm on 10.4.11 and I'm happy there.

nicklittle
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2008 6:45 pm
Location: LEEDS UK

Post by nicklittle » Mon Jan 05, 2009 4:44 pm

Yeah apparently the mac mini will be announced today or in the coming days, hopefully a 2.2ghz with 2 g ram as standard, then the new led monitor.. this is probably being very naive but is it possible to put the whole quad core processor and xeon chips etc in my g5s shell? Or is that not gonna be practical.

If anyone heres anything about the mac mini post on here would ya.

I ve got a vaio laptop at the mo, 2g ram 1.8ghz processor, but i only have ableton installed on it, nothing else. Things are all cool until i get to say 8 tracks with cpu intensive reverbs etc on them, then it all gets a bit glitchy. Using some cpu crippling vsts etc.

I can either suke up the g5, or spend my student loan on a mac mini/imac/macbook. But not 100% sure which!!

If you lot had £1000 to spend on a new workhorse, what would it be???

Also i got a pair of mackie mr8s the other day, for the money they are amazing.

cheers for now.

nicklittle
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2008 6:45 pm
Location: LEEDS UK

Post by nicklittle » Mon Jan 05, 2009 4:48 pm

Hidden driveways: Yeah im running the same. What specs your g5???

Hidden Driveways
Posts: 1977
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 8:13 pm
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Contact:

Post by Hidden Driveways » Mon Jan 05, 2009 5:10 pm

nicklittle wrote:Hidden driveways: Yeah im running the same. What specs your g5???
Dual 1.8 gHz 2.5 RAM

I would recommend leaving it on 10.4.11. The newer OS's are really geared for IntelMacs. Many G5 owners had trouble + casuallties jumping up 10.5. Invarably you will hear G5 owners telling you that going up to 10.5 is not a problem. Maybe not for them, but I know for a fact it was a real problem for others. Best not to tempt fate. The goal here is to have a music creation machine, not a machine with the latest and greatest dock features.

Bump up the RAM. I used a company called RamJet. Don't flush away the money in your student loan until you have to.

If you don't have an Apple cinema display, get one! I have a 15" which is terribly small, BUT, the greatest thing in the world is when you press power on the monitor, it powers up the whole computer. You can buy 15" cinema displays on eBay for $60 USD. No kidding. Get one. It's fun.


Hidden Driveways
Posts: 1977
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 8:13 pm
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Contact:

Post by Hidden Driveways » Mon Jan 05, 2009 5:16 pm


commuter
Posts: 471
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2004 10:04 am
Location: Rennes/France
Contact:

Post by commuter » Mon Jan 05, 2009 5:19 pm

I totally disagree. This is still a good machine for Live.
I never said that he can't run live on it, i said that it's REALLY underpowered by today standard , especially for live 7.
Here we don't talk about a dual processor Powermac!!
But a single 1.6 G5.....

I had an 1.6 G5 imac 4 years ago, and also had a DELL laptop at the same time : a 1.5 ghz centrino.....The imac was slaughtered by the DELL in the performance area.
Things have changed a lot since then in mac world......

Why did i answer that ? because the initial poster asked if it's worth to switch from a PC to this G5 : i don't think so, chances are that his PC is more powerful..
So, i just talk from my own experience, and my answer is just an humble advice...


That's all i have to say, nothing controversial here...
:)
15" Macbook Pro 2,3 quadcore I7 2012/8gb ram/240gb SSD/ LIVE 9.06/OSX 10.8.5, NI Komplete audio 6
https://www.facebook.com/commuterofficial
http://soundcloud.com/commuter

Post Reply