ANYONE KNOW ABOUT MAC PROS?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Hidden Driveways
Posts: 1977
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 8:13 pm
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Contact:

Post by Hidden Driveways » Mon Jan 05, 2009 5:10 pm

nicklittle wrote:Hidden driveways: Yeah im running the same. What specs your g5???
Dual 1.8 gHz 2.5 RAM

I would recommend leaving it on 10.4.11. The newer OS's are really geared for IntelMacs. Many G5 owners had trouble + casuallties jumping up 10.5. Invarably you will hear G5 owners telling you that going up to 10.5 is not a problem. Maybe not for them, but I know for a fact it was a real problem for others. Best not to tempt fate. The goal here is to have a music creation machine, not a machine with the latest and greatest dock features.

Bump up the RAM. I used a company called RamJet. Don't flush away the money in your student loan until you have to.

If you don't have an Apple cinema display, get one! I have a 15" which is terribly small, BUT, the greatest thing in the world is when you press power on the monitor, it powers up the whole computer. You can buy 15" cinema displays on eBay for $60 USD. No kidding. Get one. It's fun.


Hidden Driveways
Posts: 1977
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 8:13 pm
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Contact:

Post by Hidden Driveways » Mon Jan 05, 2009 5:16 pm


commuter
Posts: 471
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2004 10:04 am
Location: Rennes/France
Contact:

Post by commuter » Mon Jan 05, 2009 5:19 pm

I totally disagree. This is still a good machine for Live.
I never said that he can't run live on it, i said that it's REALLY underpowered by today standard , especially for live 7.
Here we don't talk about a dual processor Powermac!!
But a single 1.6 G5.....

I had an 1.6 G5 imac 4 years ago, and also had a DELL laptop at the same time : a 1.5 ghz centrino.....The imac was slaughtered by the DELL in the performance area.
Things have changed a lot since then in mac world......

Why did i answer that ? because the initial poster asked if it's worth to switch from a PC to this G5 : i don't think so, chances are that his PC is more powerful..
So, i just talk from my own experience, and my answer is just an humble advice...


That's all i have to say, nothing controversial here...
:)
15" Macbook Pro 2,3 quadcore I7 2012/8gb ram/240gb SSD/ LIVE 9.06/OSX 10.8.5, NI Komplete audio 6
https://www.facebook.com/commuterofficial
http://soundcloud.com/commuter

nicklittle
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2008 6:45 pm
Location: LEEDS UK

Post by nicklittle » Mon Jan 05, 2009 5:28 pm

geez thats put me in a pickle...

guess ill try adding some ram and see how it goes.

thanks so much for you time. Really appreciate it..

Hidden Driveways
Posts: 1977
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 8:13 pm
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Contact:

Post by Hidden Driveways » Mon Jan 05, 2009 5:44 pm

I'm no technical expert, but all of the other parts of the computer on the G5 are optimized for speed and performance. A Dell is optimized for running intensive virus scanning software. :wink: An iMac is a laptop in a different box. A desktop Apple is all about creative production.

Telling someone who just scored a free G5 that they have to go out and buy a new computer is lousy advice, and I called you out.

Hidden Driveways
Posts: 1977
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 8:13 pm
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Contact:

Post by Hidden Driveways » Mon Jan 05, 2009 5:48 pm

My friend Lionel uses a single 1.6 as the heart of his studio:

http://www.dna-productions.com/visceral/home.htm

Shoot him an email if you need any first hand tips from someone who actually knows about this computer.

commuter
Posts: 471
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2004 10:04 am
Location: Rennes/France
Contact:

Post by commuter » Mon Jan 05, 2009 5:57 pm

Telling someone who just scored a free G5 that they have to go out and buy a new computer is lousy advice, and I called you out.
Where did i say he should buy a new computer ?
I just said that chances are that his PC is more powerful than the imac.......

So, yes he can use the G5 for production, no problems.....

but......
Never Mind.....

Quote from the original post :
OR ANY OTHER SUGGESTIONS TO MAKE THIS A WORTHWHILE TRANSFER FROM PC TO MAC.
i'm a mac user myself, but i can't tell someone to switch just for the sake of having a mac, The switch must be worth it......

But Yes i know it's perfectly possible to produce tracks on a Old G5..
15" Macbook Pro 2,3 quadcore I7 2012/8gb ram/240gb SSD/ LIVE 9.06/OSX 10.8.5, NI Komplete audio 6
https://www.facebook.com/commuterofficial
http://soundcloud.com/commuter

nicklittle
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2008 6:45 pm
Location: LEEDS UK

Post by nicklittle » Mon Jan 05, 2009 7:32 pm

both you guys cheers again, can i upgrade the processors? will that make it better?

Hidden Driveways
Posts: 1977
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 8:13 pm
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Contact:

Post by Hidden Driveways » Mon Jan 05, 2009 7:43 pm

nicklittle wrote:both you guys cheers again, can i upgrade the processors? will that make it better?
No... I don't think so.

Here's the thing... if you want a powerhouse dynamo of a computer, then you'll have to get something else. If you want to spend under $100 and get that G5 humming then do that. Do one or the other, just don't sweat the gear too much and make music.

Here is the exact RAM you need. $62 for two gigs:
http://www.crucial.com/store/listparts. ... z%20DDR%29

suspended childhood
Posts: 373
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 7:21 pm
Contact:

Post by suspended childhood » Tue Jan 06, 2009 3:26 am

i wouldnt mess with upgrading processors on an old outdated mac. youre better off slapping some ram in it and call it a day.

you probably wont notice much from upgrading the processor because the bus' are still in place and cannot be upgraded anyway.
John Deere 9860STS Hydraflex , 15" MBP 2.5 C2D 4 gigs RAM, 15" MBP 2.33 Dual Core 3 gigs ram, ultralite x2, MPD 32, Kontrol49, v4, CG-8, live 7, reason 4, Trilogy, MiniMonsta, Oddity, M8. http://www.myspace.com/robclay

nicklittle
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2008 6:45 pm
Location: LEEDS UK

Post by nicklittle » Tue Jan 06, 2009 9:45 am

Yeah thought so. Cheers mate, will let you guys know what happens.

Post Reply