Live8

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Lazos
Posts: 653
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 9:02 am
Location: Auckland
Contact:

Post by Lazos » Fri Jan 16, 2009 11:19 am

glitchrock-buddha wrote:Collison looks cool enough, but it seems to me like tension and collison should be one instrument. Don't you think?
Not really, more like Electric and Collision could be the same, but not really either.

Shit! Where's SACK, the comprehensive bagpipe physical-modeling synth :evil:

Oh well, I'll have to wait for L9 for that. :wink: :)

hoffman2k
Posts: 14717
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by hoffman2k » Fri Jan 16, 2009 11:35 am

Lazos wrote:Shit! Where's SACK, the comprehensive bagpipe physical-modeling synth :evil:
I think there's a Max patch for that. There's even one that generates the sounds of a flock of sheep. So you could do a whole Scottish landscape...

Incidentally, after all the requests for a sample library of farmyard animals.. You now have the ability to have synthesized farm yard animals..

misteron
Posts: 506
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 2:28 am

Post by misteron » Fri Jan 16, 2009 11:42 am

Lazos wrote:SACK
MBP 2.4GHz, 4Gb RAM, OSX 10.5.5, Live7Suite, Motu Ultralite Mk3, ADAM p11A

bendybones
Posts: 355
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 12:43 am
Location: Galway, Ireland

Post by bendybones » Fri Jan 16, 2009 11:57 am

I can't stop thinking about crossfades...
crossfading is not the feature I'm excited most about actually using,
but it is the most intriguing to me
because the prior impossibility to crossfade used to be inherent in Live's philosophy
ie 'one track, one sound source'.

I guess that kind of got lifted when racks came in but still, not with clips.
And I always got the impression that this was one of the features that required a rewrite to implement
... but I guess I heard wrong?

angryman
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 1:22 pm
Location: Perth Australia

Post by angryman » Fri Jan 16, 2009 12:01 pm

Khazul wrote:
angryman wrote:Great! What about Dual Output support for the Master(Not the Cue).Would Be Great,(and simple....hint) Reaper does it so its not a limitation of my hardware! Otherwise its looking fucking sweet . Live could just be the most exciting tool to work with ever from the looks of it!
Whats so special about this that cant be done by just adding an audio track with input set to re-sampling and output set to whatever external channel you want?
Well ok I'll explain....Theres me, theres my drummer, theres a track we are playing along to and overdubbing on at the same time. I have to set up a headphone mix track for myself which is the MBuss sent to a track to have the same headphone mix as my drummer because Live won't send a duplicate mix of Headphone 1/2 so in essence the master ouput to Headphone 3/4. And therefore when i change the volumes/pans/anything automatable In my headphones you hear nothing different as it is not sent accurately to the resampling track. Try it for yourself.

Plus it is not an accurate reflection of the mix, so i cannot set a accurate headphone mix for my drummer that is correct or what he wants with any certainty as it is purely a guessing game.

Let alone my own headphone mix !

Instead I import the tracks into a different sequencer (Reaper) purely for this task.

So to summarize...... thats why its important.
C2 Duo E6600| Asus P5BDlux WFI| 2Gb OCZ| BFG7950| WaterCooling|

Abes7Suite| SSL DuendePcie| Line6UX8| Novation Remote 25SL | Nebula2| DrMS|

Tacam VLA5s|

Sibanger
Posts: 2225
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 7:44 am
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Contact:

Post by Sibanger » Fri Jan 16, 2009 12:10 pm

No way Abes. All dreams coming true. Now there will be nothing left to dream.

Need money....... have to sell my unnecessary body parts.
Hmmm, what can I remove without bleeding too much? Must keep both hands.............

angryman
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 1:22 pm
Location: Perth Australia

Post by angryman » Fri Jan 16, 2009 12:15 pm

The Looper is prety frikking impressive to ... It all is impressive.
C2 Duo E6600| Asus P5BDlux WFI| 2Gb OCZ| BFG7950| WaterCooling|

Abes7Suite| SSL DuendePcie| Line6UX8| Novation Remote 25SL | Nebula2| DrMS|

Tacam VLA5s|

rewind
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 12:04 am
Location: UK/Belgium
Contact:

Post by rewind » Fri Jan 16, 2009 12:32 pm

Looks great. I'll be buying the upgrade for sure. And if the ableton shop gets those green track suits in....

Airbase
Posts: 202
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 1:05 pm
Location: Gothenburg
Contact:

Post by Airbase » Fri Jan 16, 2009 1:05 pm

<broken record mode>
All looks good, but where's the #@!%& multi monitor support...

:(

I've been waiting for so long...
</broken record mode>
Long Live Live.

Khazul
Posts: 3185
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 5:19 pm
Location: Reading, UK

Post by Khazul » Fri Jan 16, 2009 1:06 pm

Airbase wrote:<broken record mode>
All looks good, but where's the #@!%& multi monitor support...

:(

I've been waiting for so long...
</broken record mode>
+1
Nothing to see here - move along!

misteron
Posts: 506
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 2:28 am

Post by misteron » Fri Jan 16, 2009 1:55 pm

Airbase wrote:<broken record mode>
All looks good, but where's the #@!%& multi monitor support...

:(

I've been waiting for so long...
</broken record mode>
C'mon dude don't be a buzz kill
Ableton deserve only praise at this point, at least for the moment, and at least in this thread.
Live8 will go down in history as the greatest update ever!
Albeit perhaps only until Live9 is announced ;)
If you've been waiting so long would it kill you to wait a few days til the hype dies down before shitting on their well-deserved parade?

<broken record mode>
Well done Abes, the level of integration is really special!
You not only got pretty much all the frequently requested features in there but a truly astonishing array of new innovations and EXCELLENT workflow improvements too.
I can't wait to get stuck into beta testing and upgrading ASAP.
</broken record mode>
MBP 2.4GHz, 4Gb RAM, OSX 10.5.5, Live7Suite, Motu Ultralite Mk3, ADAM p11A

massiveheadpain
Posts: 208
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 7:44 pm
Contact:

Post by massiveheadpain » Fri Jan 16, 2009 2:25 pm

just wanted to pop my head in and say: ABLETON YOU GUYS KICK ASS

been a user since version 3 and will be a user for life!!!!

hdrpbx
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 12:05 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Post by hdrpbx » Fri Jan 16, 2009 2:25 pm

hi everyone, i bougth live last month and i just registered now to say:

thank you ableton for this amazing upgrade!!1

its been said million times allready but it wont hurt saying it once more



and about MFL, do you think it will be possible to use it to improve the external instrument device concept ? like creating our own editors for external synths, maybe send midisysex to totally integrate my emu-5000 in to live, that would be a dream !!!
(apologies if its a repost and it has allready been answered)

anway all the new features are enough to keep me busy for years and years

thanks, and thanks again

Idonotlikebroccoli
Posts: 1203
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 12:29 pm
Location: Norway

Post by Idonotlikebroccoli » Fri Jan 16, 2009 2:47 pm

Max for Live! 8O ^^
Please vote! Live 10's "multi" clip editing should allow selection+editing of multiple clips in one action:

(L10-SUG-0228) Multiple MIDI transpose

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=228094

hoffman2k
Posts: 14717
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by hoffman2k » Fri Jan 16, 2009 3:07 pm

Airbase wrote:<broken record mode>
All looks good, but where's the #@!%& multi monitor support...

:(

I've been waiting for so long...
</broken record mode>
What do you want displayed on the second screen? Mixer? Clips? Porn Synced to the music? Stock Quotes? It'll sorta all be possible apparently.

Post Reply