Live8

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
snakedogman
Posts: 846
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2007 11:04 pm
Location: the Netherlands

Post by snakedogman » Sun Jan 18, 2009 11:30 am

Does anyone know if Live 8 has implemented alias/ghost clips in any way? Probably not or they would have mentioned it I guess... :cry:

Well, at least I can cross group tracks off my most wanted list :)

now how about that wacom support :roll:

Afro88
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2006 6:05 am
Location: Brisbane, Oz
Contact:

Post by Afro88 » Sun Jan 18, 2009 12:25 pm

Just wanted to say big big ups to Ableton for addressing so many feature requests. I haven't been more excited about a Live release since I don't know when. 8)

deepfunktribal
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 12:03 am

ableton 8 :-) but still no better eq3 for djing

Post by deepfunktribal » Sun Jan 18, 2009 5:33 pm

one, which does not alter the sound ?
how to use apc for mixing/djing equalizing ?

Chicle777
Posts: 289
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 12:20 am
Location: London/Sthlm

Post by Chicle777 » Sun Jan 18, 2009 5:59 pm

Ableton surprised us all again. I think they squashed the request list with all the new features. Aegerly waiting to test the new Operation features...
Ableton 9.2 Suite + Push, Elektron Octratrack, Nord Lead A1, Nord Drum 2 + Nord Pad, Mono Evolver Desktop, microKorg, SidStation, Nanoloop 1.3-2.01, Mackie 1402 VLZPro, Edirol FA-66

blaugruen7
Posts: 404
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2002 9:17 am
Location: berlin
Contact:

Post by blaugruen7 » Sun Jan 18, 2009 8:07 pm

does Live8 run on my G4 powermac on mac os X.10.4.11?

hoffman2k
Posts: 14689
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by hoffman2k » Sun Jan 18, 2009 8:21 pm

blaugruen7 wrote:does Live8 run on my G4 powermac on mac os X.10.4.11?
I think it'll walk, possibly crawl instead of running.

blaugruen7
Posts: 404
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2002 9:17 am
Location: berlin
Contact:

Post by blaugruen7 » Sun Jan 18, 2009 9:27 pm

but does it crawl the same like live 7 or does it refuse to do anything at all, my dear?

noisetonepause
Posts: 4935
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2002 3:38 pm
Location: Second row from the expensive puddle, under ten others

Post by noisetonepause » Sun Jan 18, 2009 10:05 pm

hoffman2k wrote:
blaugruen7 wrote:does Live8 run on my G4 powermac on mac os X.10.4.11?
I think it'll walk, possibly crawl instead of running.
A little bird told me that it's basically the same as 7.
Suit #1: I mean, have you got any insight as to why a bright boy like this would jeopardize the lives of millions?
Suit #2: No, sir, he says he does this sort of thing for fun.

blaugruen7
Posts: 404
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2002 9:17 am
Location: berlin
Contact:

Post by blaugruen7 » Mon Jan 19, 2009 8:33 am

great news.
i just was thinking of cubase 5 which runs only on 10.5 and intel.

djbambam
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 6:55 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Post by djbambam » Tue Jan 20, 2009 4:55 pm

noisetonepause wrote:
hoffman2k wrote:
blaugruen7 wrote:does Live8 run on my G4 powermac on mac os X.10.4.11?
I think it'll walk, possibly crawl instead of running.
A little bird told me that it's basically the same as 7.
Since they improved the stretching with the introduction of Zplane's Elastique Pro, instead of the plain old Elastique that Live 7 has been using, I think it may draw a bit more power from the cpu for simple things like stretching audio.

db91977
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu May 29, 2008 6:55 pm
Location: San Diego, California, USA

Post by db91977 » Tue Jan 20, 2009 10:05 pm

Well put, you guys!

Plus, with monitors getting bigger and cheaper all the time, there is less of a need to use multiple monitors for a given application. Now if I can find a quad-core laptop with a 24" screen.. :lol:
mholloway wrote:
bendybones wrote: Maybe they didn't miss it.
Maybe they just thought it was not important.
It certainly isn't for me.
Live is one of the few seq's or perhaps the only seq that can comfortaly be run on one screen.
And I love that!
I also love not having extra screens cluttering up my studio or costing me money.
+1

seriously, i don't understand this misguided assumption that Live is "supposed" have separate screens/windows for it's interface, and just hasn't "gotten" there yet.....the single-screen/window interface (other than flipping session/arrangement) is one of the things i LOVE about live, and hope never changes. floating windows destroy my workflow. i don't want a clip window that moves around, overlaps other things....

the ableton GUI is an example of simple = better. i'm very thankful live8 didn't TOUCH it. good job guys.

Rosko
Posts: 213
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 4:12 pm

Post by Rosko » Wed Jan 21, 2009 2:20 am

Also just being able to assign my extra mouse buttons to things like browser toggle session arrange its just (almost) perfect gui imo.
My spare monitor is a great space for an audio editor, folder of samples to use with 3rd part plugs, vstis ect.

hybridnz
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 12:14 am

Post by hybridnz » Wed Jan 21, 2009 2:59 am

djsynchro wrote:
dorsch wrote: what i´m gonna tell my girlfriend?
"I'm buying this and if you have problem with that, tough shit" :D
Mines just given up around new release time ... :)

have a feeling this is going to come just after we release our album ...

bugger ..

condra
Posts: 2753
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 2:03 pm
Location: Dublin
Contact:

Post by condra » Wed Jan 21, 2009 3:52 am

snakedogman wrote:Does anyone know if Live 8 has implemented alias/ghost clips in any way? Probably not or they would have mentioned it I guess... :cry:
I doesn't seem so, unfortunatly. This would be a hobby horse of mine if it wasn't for Sugar Bytes Artillery II, which almost does the job of Dummy Clips for me.

db91977
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu May 29, 2008 6:55 pm
Location: San Diego, California, USA

Post by db91977 » Wed Jan 21, 2009 4:36 am

anamexis wrote:THE BOMB IS DROPPED
Yes, and what a great bomb it appears to be! I took the plunge and got Ableton Live 7 Suite during the holiday rebate special, and even though Live 8 will be coming out later this year, and I could have waited, I'm glad I have it now. I'm having a blast with it! (get it? bomb... blast...?)

After seeing the Live 8 videos, I am even more glad I finally purchased the program, after playing with trial versions for years. Ableton has a bright future, if the development of Live so far is any indication. Clever folks, those Abes, and I think the upgrade to the boxed 8 Suite will be well worth the dinero. I will definitely beta test it, if a public beta becomes available.

The Ableton development team and management deserve major kudos. Major. Especially for listening to their user base and incorporating many of the suggested features and improvements. Thank you, guys! :D

--db

Post Reply