Multiband Dynamics NEEDS External Side Chain !!!

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Parametex
Posts: 438
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:34 pm

Multiband Dynamics NEEDS External Side Chain !!!

Post by Parametex » Fri Jan 16, 2009 6:06 pm

This is a cry out for Abes to implement a external side-chain feature to the Multiband Dynamic effect similar to the ones already in gate, compressor etc etc

This Ext SC could optimally affect only one or more frequency sections.

For advanced mixing techniques this is a must! Otherwise one needs to build again cumbersome chains with multiple compressors and so-and-so crossovers.

This feature is also very very easy to implement to the multiband dynamics effect as the Abes have already established a working External side-chaining to other efxs.

Thanks,
P.

Darwinist
Posts: 206
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 2:41 am

Post by Darwinist » Fri Jan 16, 2009 7:53 pm

A great suggestion that *should* be easy to implement in the beta stage.

Bravo. Didn't think of that.

Aw fuck it, let´s just sidechain EVERYTHING!!! And then sidechain another instance of Live to modulate the entire project. :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Achbé
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 11:52 pm

Post by Achbé » Fri Jan 16, 2009 8:22 pm

+1

crumhorn
Posts: 2503
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 6:04 pm

Post by crumhorn » Fri Jan 16, 2009 8:47 pm

+1

Can't get enough of that sidechain
"The banjo is the perfect instrument for the antisocial."

(Allow me to plug my guitar scale visualiser thingy - www.fretlearner.com)

Parametex
Posts: 438
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:34 pm

Post by Parametex » Tue Jan 20, 2009 3:51 pm

Bump for the beta phase!

infiniteB
Posts: 633
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 1:17 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Contact:

Post by infiniteB » Tue Jan 20, 2009 3:59 pm

+1 !
PRODUCER/LYRICIST

(SNEAK PREVIEW OF MY ALBUM)
SOUNDCLOUD
http://soundcloud.com/infinitebeyond/
MYSPACE
http://www.myspace.com/infiniteb
TWITTER:
http://twitter.com/InfiniteBeyond

Khazul
Posts: 3185
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 5:19 pm
Location: Reading, UK

Post by Khazul » Tue Jan 20, 2009 4:01 pm

Have any of you actually used a multi-band compressor that much, and in particular one with a side chain input?

Just curious :)
Nothing to see here - move along!

dom
Posts: 936
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 9:24 am
Location: Ableton Headquarters
Contact:

Post by dom » Tue Jan 20, 2009 4:09 pm

Didn't Moldover build one using Reaktor?

Hint: As being responsible for feature wishes the specification team scans mostly the feature wishlist area and it is hard for them to go through all general posts....
Esp. during these crowded days in the forum it is a good idea if we all could try to keep stuff in the right area.
It is easy, there aren't that much...

/dom
ableton support team
support@ableton.com

Khazul
Posts: 3185
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 5:19 pm
Location: Reading, UK

Post by Khazul » Tue Jan 20, 2009 5:13 pm

dom wrote:Didn't Moldover build one using Reaktor?

Hint: As being responsible for feature wishes the specification team scans mostly the feature wishlist area and it is hard for them to go through all general posts....
Esp. during these crowded days in the forum it is a good idea if we all could try to keep stuff in the right area.
It is easy, there aren't that much...

/dom
The only problem is it seems the feature team are the only folks who read the FR area :)

Perhaps post stuff here so it actually gets discussed, and post a link thread in the FR area, or visa versa?

That said - some of the discussions could do without non-comprehenders boohooing everything they cant see a use for because its beyoind their experience and so *they* dont need it and dont see why anyone else should either :idea:
Nothing to see here - move along!

dom
Posts: 936
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 9:24 am
Location: Ableton Headquarters
Contact:

Post by dom » Tue Jan 20, 2009 5:28 pm

Khazul wrote: Perhaps post stuff here so it actually gets discussed, and post a link thread in the FR area, or visa versa?
Vice versa would be the golden way to get folks over there...

Cheers,
Dom
ableton support team
support@ableton.com

Parametex
Posts: 438
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:34 pm

Post by Parametex » Tue Jan 20, 2009 6:01 pm

@ Khazul

Sure thang! Multiband compressing comes in very handy when you need to do a very thick mix and wish to dynamically make room in the mix to certain sounds.

It can work very well in reducing different elements volumes so that it doesn't draw the listeners attention.


@ Dom

Yes he did but that is ... reaktor right. Propably not even a quarter of Live users have it. Also not necessary a very convenient solution to the problem in hand that could be fixed very easily with native ways.

I'll do a cross post to the feature forum.

Cheers,
Last edited by Parametex on Fri Jan 23, 2009 1:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

gatesy
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 7:42 pm

Post by gatesy » Fri Jan 23, 2009 12:58 pm

+1

akaratz
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 2:30 pm
Contact:

Please implement this in Ableton * !!!

Post by akaratz » Tue Feb 03, 2009 8:37 pm

So, here is my may of making a Multiband Sidechained EQ :
It consist in a
1. band splitter
2. Iternal BUS routing
3. Various traitements - High Freq Enchancer, mono the low end etc ...

a// The EQ : 48db/oct for the low & highs, 24db/oct for the mids, preventing for freq gaps on the crossover freq. A sidechain compressor with kick trigger can be used on bass/sub/lead track
b// the routing uses a free vst plugin, the SolidSoundStudio's Aux Bus Set
http://www.solidsoundstudio.net/
c// the receiver patch, with some fx, comps, eqs or so .. placed on a free audio or send track, one per band is reqired

Here are the attached presets, the things will get brighter :D

http://ochtedete.free.fr/upload/ableton ... %20Bus.rar

http://ochtedete.free.fr/upload/ableton ... ITTER_.adg

http://ochtedete.free.fr/upload/ableton ... XCITER.adg

http://ochtedete.free.fr/upload/ableton ... SS_LOW.adg

http://ochtedete.free.fr/upload/ableton ... SS_MID.adg

It's a little bit "bricollage" but it works great for me. Don't forget to set the routed chans to "Sends only" in the output routing, and fin a way to control the track vol. Ulility or FreeG helps a lot ...
Any comments and sugestions are welcome

Ableton Gurus, please make this trick real in 8 !!!

Parametex
Posts: 438
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:34 pm

Re: Multiband Dynamics NEEDS External Side Chain !!!

Post by Parametex » Sun Mar 22, 2009 10:19 am

bump

Parametex
Posts: 438
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:34 pm

Re: Multiband Dynamics NEEDS External Side Chain !!!

Post by Parametex » Thu Apr 02, 2009 10:44 am

Pretty bump with a sugar on the top ...

This feature would be easy to implement as the standard is already implemented in the way efx works in Live. And yet it would provide very usefull features to us users!

Please make this happen!

Post Reply