APC 40, is it bus powered?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
greenscreens
Posts: 139
Joined: Fri May 11, 2007 3:23 pm

APC 40, is it bus powered?

Post by greenscreens » Sat Jan 17, 2009 5:31 pm

Does anyone know if the APC 40 is bus powered?

8O
Posts: 5502
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 9:29 am
Location: Berlin

Post by 8O » Sat Jan 17, 2009 5:32 pm

No, it needs a wall wart.
Image

Baron von Case
Posts: 353
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 6:21 am
Location: Youngstown, OH USA
Contact:

Post by Baron von Case » Sat Jan 17, 2009 5:32 pm

Are you low on wall outlets?

:wink:
Image

[nis]
Posts: 578
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 2:31 pm
Location: Ableton Headquarters
Contact:

Post by [nis] » Sat Jan 17, 2009 5:36 pm

from a different thread:
Ralf wrote:
[nis] wrote: The APC40 is unfortunately NOT bus powered. Due to the huge amout of LEDs, the overall power consumption is too high to get powered from a USB connection (USB can only provide a max. of 500 mA).
If I count correctly, that's 379 LEDs which might light at the same
time, especially if you tinker around with MfL. 240 for the endless encoders, 80 for the 5x8 Matrix, etc.

They are quite bright, so even if they are low power versions and take only, let's say, 4 mA (in case of a 1:1 busy cycle), that's already 3 times the capacity of an USB link, for the LEDs alone. Wow!
Nico Starke
Ableton Product Team

Parametex
Posts: 438
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:34 pm

Post by Parametex » Sat Jan 17, 2009 6:39 pm

Lets cross our fingers that they included powersupply is one of those super light weight ones (like the ones with cell phones .. )

sparklepuff
Posts: 3300
Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 4:54 am
Location: Brooklyn

Post by sparklepuff » Sat Jan 17, 2009 6:49 pm

My APC40 runs on this.

Image
Guitar | Synths | Samplers | Ableton @ Phantogram & Big Grams

Post Reply