Page 1 of 1

APC 40, is it bus powered?

Posted: Sat Jan 17, 2009 5:31 pm
by greenscreens
Does anyone know if the APC 40 is bus powered?

Posted: Sat Jan 17, 2009 5:32 pm
by 8O
No, it needs a wall wart.

Posted: Sat Jan 17, 2009 5:32 pm
by Baron von Case
Are you low on wall outlets?

:wink:

Posted: Sat Jan 17, 2009 5:36 pm
by [nis]
from a different thread:
Ralf wrote:
[nis] wrote: The APC40 is unfortunately NOT bus powered. Due to the huge amout of LEDs, the overall power consumption is too high to get powered from a USB connection (USB can only provide a max. of 500 mA).
If I count correctly, that's 379 LEDs which might light at the same
time, especially if you tinker around with MfL. 240 for the endless encoders, 80 for the 5x8 Matrix, etc.

They are quite bright, so even if they are low power versions and take only, let's say, 4 mA (in case of a 1:1 busy cycle), that's already 3 times the capacity of an USB link, for the LEDs alone. Wow!

Posted: Sat Jan 17, 2009 6:39 pm
by Parametex
Lets cross our fingers that they included powersupply is one of those super light weight ones (like the ones with cell phones .. )

Posted: Sat Jan 17, 2009 6:49 pm
by sparklepuff
My APC40 runs on this.

Image