freeware: midi over lan?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Fieldy
Posts: 168
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 9:01 am

freeware: midi over lan?

Post by Fieldy » Wed Jan 21, 2009 12:33 pm

hi there. found some nice applications to sync a mac book and a windows laptop.
but 100-200 $ is too much for me ,just for syncing.
anyone knows any freeware?
or do you have expierience if a midiclock can stay stable for a 1 1/2 h liveact?
by the way, would be a good application to be included in any live version in the future

greets

ollyb303
Posts: 2666
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 3:49 pm
Location: Bristol, UK
Contact:

Post by ollyb303 » Wed Jan 21, 2009 1:14 pm

.:O:B:1:.
ob1techno.com

paradiddle
Posts: 506
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 12:21 am
Location: mtl

Post by paradiddle » Wed Jan 21, 2009 1:25 pm

The only thing I saw that is interesting (works with pc and mac) is this but it's not free unfortunely:

http://www.nerds.de/en/ipmidi_osx.html

Fieldy
Posts: 168
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 9:01 am

Post by Fieldy » Wed Jan 21, 2009 5:08 pm

thanks a lot. ip midi is freeware for mac.
we try to install the one from ebertronic on the win laptop. would be fantastic if it works

Homebelly
Posts: 2887
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 9:52 pm
Location: Aotearoa New Zealand
Contact:

Post by Homebelly » Wed Jan 21, 2009 6:11 pm

On the mac side, this ability is built into OS X, you don't need any other software..
15" 2.4 MBP/Live/Sampler/Operator/ Home made Dumble clone/Two Strats/One Jazz Bass.
Come and visit any time= Soundcloud

zappen
Posts: 345
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 1:42 am

Post by zappen » Wed Jan 21, 2009 6:15 pm

the ipmidi trial on pc runs for 1 hour from the first midi signal sent, then you must reboot

Fieldy
Posts: 168
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 9:01 am

Post by Fieldy » Wed Jan 21, 2009 6:21 pm

zappen wrote:the ipmidi trial on pc runs for 1 hour from the first midi signal sent, then you must reboot

sadly

Machinate
Posts: 11646
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:15 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by Machinate » Wed Jan 21, 2009 6:24 pm

not freeware, but "maxForLive" :)

Good thing is that maxForLive should, theoretically, be able to sync laptops running Live at higher-than-midi resolution. Rawk.

Fieldy
Posts: 168
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 9:01 am

Post by Fieldy » Wed Jan 21, 2009 6:27 pm

Machinate wrote:not freeware, but "maxForLive" :)

Good thing is that maxForLive should, theoretically, be able to sync laptops running Live at higher-than-midi resolution. Rawk.

would be great! but not available yet

:twisted:

SimonPHC
Posts: 979
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2004 4:59 pm
Location: Ghent, Belgium

Post by SimonPHC » Wed Jan 21, 2009 8:36 pm

http://forum.ableton.com/viewtopic.php? ... t=max+live

It should be possible, but it hasn't been confirmed yet.
Would be cool if Robert Henke made a MFL device that already does this.

Machinate
Posts: 11646
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:15 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by Machinate » Wed Jan 21, 2009 8:56 pm

hehe, Simon, how many max users needed to confirm this?
And making the m4l patch is close to trivial.... hehe.

ollyb303
Posts: 2666
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 3:49 pm
Location: Bristol, UK
Contact:

Post by ollyb303 » Wed Jan 21, 2009 9:22 pm

midivianet works now. you may need midiyoke from midiox as well...
.:O:B:1:.
ob1techno.com

Clearscreen
Posts: 1743
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 5:07 am
Location: Melbourne AU
Contact:

Post by Clearscreen » Wed Jan 21, 2009 10:23 pm

get usine vst free on the pc and use OSC to send tempo and start stop info from pc to mac and back. quartz can handle OSC for free on mac i think and convert it to midi. there should be something free for converting OSC to midi on OSX.
Hp Elitebook 2.8Ghz. Live 7.0.14 & Live 8.1.5, XP Pro. and stuff...

Post Reply