Is this possible?: clip as a tempo/groove master

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
grooveWhiz Akeem

Is this possible?: clip as a tempo/groove master

Post by grooveWhiz Akeem » Mon Jan 26, 2009 2:32 pm

Hey, I'm new to ableton and wonder if the following is possible in session view (found one post regarding this, but that one seems to only work in arragement view).

I have an old jazz-funk song and want to play it unwarped. In the middle of the song the tempo decreases from 100 to 80 bpm.
Now I wanna play another clip in sync to the first one. It should use the "unapplied" warping info from the first clip to follow the small tempo/rhythmical variations and the huge tempo slowdown of the master clip. Then I'd like to switch the second clip to become the current tempo master...

Does live support something like this? Is this a job for the new groove features?

Thanks in advance
Akeem

Motion

Post by Motion » Mon Jan 26, 2009 7:15 pm

Hi

Perhaps this may be helpful to you from the Live 7 manual.I do understand you are asking about session view and see you know about arrangement view.I am not sure if there is any relationship or they are distinctly separate. (I see no ability to use session clips as tempo master/slave)

9.2.1 Tempo Master/Slave

All warped clips in the Arrangement View have one further option: They can be defined as tempo masters by toggling their Master/Slave switches. Any number of clips can be set as tempo masters, but only one clip at a time can actually be the tempo master. This distinction is always granted to the bottom-most, currently playing clip in the Arrangement View.