Page 1 of 1

Posted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 8:13 pm
by Bagle
you can burn a data DVD

and google answers stupid fucking questions

Posted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:07 pm
by nbinder
Did you mean the als files? Then the question is not "stupid fucking" and the answer is not as short as this.

Do your als files have dependencies? Non-builtin plugins? Samples?

Posted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:39 pm
by funky shit
"collect all and save" in the file menu will let u do this.
It saves all the samples and recorded data in the live file.

Then you can move the file wherever you want.

:D

Posted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:45 pm
by Dexes
funky shit wrote:"collect all and save" in the file menu will let u do this.
It saves all the samples and recorded data in the live file.
Not quite, it saves the samples in the project folder. So make sure you copy the whole folder & not just the .als file.

Posted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:50 pm
by funky shit
I was under the impression everybody would move the whole file folder when doing this.

Posted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:56 pm
by babkubwa
regarding non built in plug ins/vsts -

might be worth duplicating those tracks, freezing and flattening.

Wish I'd done that for a few old projects - my old stuffs from a few years ago is in a right mess.

I always freeze/flatton and collect all now. Takes up a load of space but prevents a lot of probs

Posted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 11:15 pm
by beats me
If you're migrating everything to a new computer can't you just copy your entire Ableton library folder to an external drive or something and then once you've installed Live on the new machine put that library on on your drive and point Ableton to that as the default library?

Why do it track by track?

Posted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 11:19 pm
by funky shit
beats me wrote:If you're migrating everything to a new computer can't you just copy your entire Ableton library folder to an external drive or something and then once you've installed Live on the new machine put that library on on your drive and point Ableton to that as the default library?

Why do it track by track?
True.

Posted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 11:24 pm
by Tone Deft
buy a new drive.

get an enclosure for your current drive.

install the new drive, copy the data from the current drive.

store the current drive as a backup.

less copying, less waiting and you have a complete backup.

Posted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 11:39 pm
by babkubwa
I'm very wasteful of space - and very disorganized. I have stuff duplicated over several hard drives - despite the "credit crunch", giga bytes per pound has never been better.

having lost a shit load of work a few times in the past, I'd rather splash out on a £60 harddrive as insurance. No time for file management. Duplicate and back up the lot every few weeks.

Re: Can you put half completed, and completed tunes...

Posted: Wed Feb 04, 2009 1:25 am
by beatpoet
Steffan wrote:... onto a disc?

The reason why I wanna do this is because I've had a new pc tower and I wanna store all my tunes onto a disc (hopefully) and then put them onto my new pc.

Thanks in advance.
Never, your half completed tunes will eat all your completed tunes if you put them on the same disc.

Posted: Wed Feb 04, 2009 1:43 am
by Homebelly
Tone Deft wrote:buy a new drive.

get an enclosure for your current drive.

install the new drive, copy the data from the current drive.

store the current drive as a backup.

less copying, less waiting and you have a complete backup.
+1.

Or even, once you have the new comp.
Net work it with the old one and transfer every thing that way.

Posted: Wed Feb 04, 2009 1:52 am
by beats me
babkubwa wrote:I'm very wasteful of space - and very disorganized. I have stuff duplicated over several hard drives - despite the "credit crunch", giga bytes per pound has never been better.

having lost a shit load of work a few times in the past, I'd rather splash out on a £60 harddrive as insurance. No time for file management. Duplicate and back up the lot every few weeks.
I was running 5 external drives, each one purchased after I filled the previous one and then a slightly larger drive came out. One was even partitioned into 4 smaller drives. A couple months ago I said fuck all this and got a terabyte external drive and I couldn't be happier.

Posted: Wed Feb 04, 2009 2:16 am
by Homebelly
beats me wrote: got a terabyte external
My god man 8O 8O you got one of those flying lizard things that chased Jeff Goldblome around in Jurassic park??
Don't you think your just asking for trouble?

Posted: Wed Feb 04, 2009 10:43 am
by babkubwa
beats me wrote:
babkubwa wrote: A couple months ago I said fuck all this and got a terabyte external drive and I couldn't be happier.
not sure about that man. Easier but risky. All your Eggs in one basket. They break easy enough. Even your Lacies aren't bomb proof - can't trust any of em 100%