All times are UTC

Post subject: Need Help Orginizing/Work Flow Industrial Hardcore/Breakcore
PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 2:19 am 

Hi all, i have been "writing" a track for a little over a week. but i am no closer to finishing then when i started... i have tried forums on the sites of my "genre" which i use loosely.
i am attempting to write and industrial hardcore track
influenced by
Deathchant records
Rebelscum
Provoke type stuff...
i have a ton of on shots and loops and synths ready to go... im pretty sure i have all the sounds i need to complete the track...
the problem is the arrangment side of things... i was a drummer for a long time so i have the beats down but am haveing trouble getting anything accomplished..
i have the length ish i want the track
would you recomend putting all the drums down first... or getting the intro????
please throw some ideas my way... the ideas are there but the flow isnt
Thanks

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 2:24 am 

are you working in session view? that would be my first suggestion, I worked in arrangement view for a long time but recently went back to session view, i had forgotten how inspiring it can be. I would record a few bars of drums and synths etc and then just start firing the clips on and off, you can always change it later and edit and add fx but if you do that for a few minutes and record everything you do, that is usually a great starting point. Its a pretty rare day when I can't wring something useable out of a session in session view.

BANDCAMP Download "Airlock" free-10 songs recorded in 10 Days

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 3:34 am 

1. Read Tarekith's guide to arranging here: http://tarekith.com/assets/arranging.html
2. Figure out how to create your own method from that. I personally lay everything out and then subtract parts if I am feeling lost.
3. Buy a song or two from Tarekith as a thank you for providing his helpful resource.

It's a good guide!