All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Live 8 System Requirements
PostPosted: Mon Feb 16, 2009 2:50 pm 

Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 2:28 pm
Posts: 3
Thinking about buying now Live7 and upgrading later to Live8. Will Live 8 work with OSX 10.4.11 and will it be useable on a 1GHZ G4 Emac with 1GB RAM? Live 7 Demo runs ok but i think Live 8 will need more Power or not?

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 16, 2009 3:47 pm 

Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2004 6:48 pm
Posts: 1067
Location: Vienna
sure it will run on your PC 8)

_________________
Bitwig/1.0.5 - Ableton/Live 8 - Apple/MacPro-2.8Ghz-8Core-RAID - Samsung/SM-P2770H 27" - Yamaha/HS80M/HS10W - Behringer/BCR/BCF - Allen & Heath/Xone:3D - Sennheiser/HD25-13 - Native Instruments/Komplete9/Traktor Pro


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 16, 2009 3:57 pm 

Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 9:50 pm
Posts: 3977
Location: Earth
xzusa8ky wrote:
sure it will run on your PC 8)


:lol:

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Live 8 System Requirements
PostPosted: Mon Feb 16, 2009 5:23 pm 

Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2008 7:58 pm
Posts: 19
Location: Dallas, TX
christian_kaiser wrote:
Thinking about buying now Live7 and upgrading later to Live8. Will Live 8 work with OSX 10.4.11 and will it be useable on a 1GHZ G4 Emac with 1GB RAM? Live 7 Demo runs ok but i think Live 8 will need more Power or not?

Thanks

I ran beta Live-8 on a 1.5GHz Mac Mini with 1GB of RAM and OS X 10.4.11. It was as problem-free as the Hindenburg and I had 6-crash reports in one hour. The poor wee Mini's fan was wheezing asthmatically and we could all toast chestnuts on the computer's enclosure.

It has to be remembered that this was beta software and the bugs may yet be ironed out, but as things stand, our Ableton Overlords may have to up the minimum requirements for computers running their new software.

It sounds good though...

:D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:18 am 

Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 2:28 pm
Posts: 3
thanks at first i hope they publish the requirements quickly, i think the Ableton Team must have a target of what computer they will make it run without problems


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:26 am 

Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2004 7:25 am
Posts: 1010
Location: Mainz / Germany
i don't know, but i think somewhere i read Live 8 itself
would be the same on CPU than Live 7. of course there
are new things that can become heavy on the CPU if
you use them (vocoder, complex pro...). Remember
that it is slower at the moment because of the running
debugging code...

_________________
Phongemeinschaft (Live-ElectroJazz / NuJazz)
Homepage - youtube - Like! :-)
Live 8 (32Bit), HP DV7, i5 2,53GHz, 8 GB RAM, Win7 (64Bit)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:28 am 

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 4:29 pm
Posts: 3486
Location: Dublin, surprisingly
unless you use it to sequence plain audio without many efx you will hit the wall quite soon with the emac.

I have a macbook 2ghz and lots of the livesets from the "construction kits" in the beta 8 library use 80%cpu or more.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2009 1:01 pm 

Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 2:28 pm
Posts: 3
Thanks a lot , have also a Macbook Late 2008 2GHZ but the emac is much comfortabler to make music.

Now i will go and buy Ableton 7 LE that i can become for 100€ (boxed!) from a reseller here in my city than i wait for the release of 8....

Does anybody know about a Ableton 8 LE??? There is no announcement or so but Ableton will do such a version also i think


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group