Apogee drops Windows support

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Machinesworking
Posts: 11118
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 9:30 pm
Location: Seattle

Post by Machinesworking » Mon Feb 23, 2009 10:22 pm

Hidden Driveways wrote:Apogee seems to have a pretty tight relationship with Apple. I'm not sure to what extent, but there was a while there where it seemed like Apple was going to scoop them up. The Ensemble was the first very Apple looking thing they put out. The Duet feels exactly like a MacBook Pro to me.

I'm a happy RME owner too, but I'd love to slave my MultiFace II to an Apogee Big Ben clock to see if I could hear the difference, or A/B the digital conversion to hear the difference with a Rosetta.
Definitely tight with Apple, It's the only interface that has it's own window in Logic! Serious, the Ensemble I believe has a dedicated interface for it built in to Logic.

Yeah, I realized after getting the FF 800 that I couldn't really tell the subtleties between high end gear after getting to that level, but hey aren't you able to?? A blind A/B would be cool if you can, yr store don't stock Apogee though huh?

Hidden Driveways
Posts: 1977
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 8:13 pm
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Contact:

Post by Hidden Driveways » Mon Feb 23, 2009 10:33 pm

Machinesworking wrote:
Hidden Driveways wrote:Apogee seems to have a pretty tight relationship with Apple. I'm not sure to what extent, but there was a while there where it seemed like Apple was going to scoop them up. The Ensemble was the first very Apple looking thing they put out. The Duet feels exactly like a MacBook Pro to me.

I'm a happy RME owner too, but I'd love to slave my MultiFace II to an Apogee Big Ben clock to see if I could hear the difference, or A/B the digital conversion to hear the difference with a Rosetta.
Definitely tight with Apple, It's the only interface that has it's own window in Logic! Serious, the Ensemble I believe has a dedicated interface for it built in to Logic.

Yeah, I realized after getting the FF 800 that I couldn't really tell the subtleties between high end gear after getting to that level, but hey aren't you able to?? A blind A/B would be cool if you can, yr store don't stock Apogee though huh?
We always stock their stuff, but you can't crack a box open - bring it home - etc etc - then put it back in stock as new. SO yeah. No can do. :(

Anyhow, the people I've known who bought high-end Apogee gear always say that you can instantly hear the difference. I knew this one guy who bought a 16X box and used it with a PC. He had a really hard time getting it to work with XP, and it drove him crazy because it would work every once in a while. He said when it worked it was like night and day, it sound soo much better... then it would fuck up on him and the pristine sound would go away. He ended up switching to Mac and being very happy with his Mac Pro.

sven303
Posts: 108
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 7:22 am

Post by sven303 » Mon Feb 23, 2009 10:42 pm

Just a thought but when Apple bought Emagic (Logic) they stopped supporting windows.
Maybe apogee are on the brink of becoming a new acquisition for apple. Would kind of make sense really adding an audio hardware company to the portfolio.

Actually having just looked at apogee products they appear to all be firewire, im sure i read somewhere that apple had dropped firewire with its latest hardware. Maybe an apple expert can confirm...im not apple user.

Da hand
Posts: 1642
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2003 8:38 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada

Post by Da hand » Mon Feb 23, 2009 10:46 pm

Hidden Driveways wrote:
Machinesworking wrote:
Hidden Driveways wrote:Apogee seems to have a pretty tight relationship with Apple. I'm not sure to what extent, but there was a while there where it seemed like Apple was going to scoop them up. The Ensemble was the first very Apple looking thing they put out. The Duet feels exactly like a MacBook Pro to me.

I'm a happy RME owner too, but I'd love to slave my MultiFace II to an Apogee Big Ben clock to see if I could hear the difference, or A/B the digital conversion to hear the difference with a Rosetta.
Definitely tight with Apple, It's the only interface that has it's own window in Logic! Serious, the Ensemble I believe has a dedicated interface for it built in to Logic.

Yeah, I realized after getting the FF 800 that I couldn't really tell the subtleties between high end gear after getting to that level, but hey aren't you able to?? A blind A/B would be cool if you can, yr store don't stock Apogee though huh?
We always stock their stuff, but you can't crack a box open - bring it home - etc etc - then put it back in stock as new. SO yeah. No can do. :(

Anyhow, the people I've known who bought high-end Apogee gear always say that you can instantly hear the difference. I knew this one guy who bought a 16X box and used it with a PC. He had a really hard time getting it to work with XP, and it drove him crazy because it would work every once in a while. He said when it worked it was like night and day, it sound soo much better... then it would fuck up on him and the pristine sound would go away. He ended up switching to Mac and being very happy with his Mac Pro.
So from the above, am I to conclude that Apogee's switch to being Mac only is because they couldn't write a decent driver for Windows?

Another stir of the pot :wink:

blaugruen7
Posts: 404
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2002 9:17 am
Location: berlin
Contact:

Post by blaugruen7 » Mon Feb 23, 2009 10:51 pm

what does this mean?

will apogee be bought by apple?
or is?

beats me
Posts: 23319
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:39 pm

Post by beats me » Mon Feb 23, 2009 10:55 pm

sven303 wrote:Actually having just looked at apogee products they appear to all be firewire, im sure i read somewhere that apple had dropped firewire with its latest hardware. Maybe an apple expert can confirm...im not apple user.
They only dropped the firewire ports on the new Macbook.

But since they are getting all buddy buddy with Apple I doubt they are going to produce hardware that can't be used with Apple.

That would be hilarious though.

beats me
Posts: 23319
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:39 pm

Post by beats me » Mon Feb 23, 2009 10:56 pm

I just thought of something.

Apple-gee 8O

noisetonepause
Posts: 4935
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2002 3:38 pm
Location: Second row from the expensive puddle, under ten others

Post by noisetonepause » Mon Feb 23, 2009 10:57 pm

I'm completely past buying hardware that needs vendor-supplied party drivers.
Suit #1: I mean, have you got any insight as to why a bright boy like this would jeopardize the lives of millions?
Suit #2: No, sir, he says he does this sort of thing for fun.

aqua_tek
Posts: 2569
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 8:48 pm
Contact:

Post by aqua_tek » Mon Feb 23, 2009 11:14 pm

Euphonix is also on the bandwagon.

http://www.apogeedigital.com/products/power-trio.php

Apple's answer to ProTools HD systems?

beats me
Posts: 23319
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 6:39 pm

Post by beats me » Mon Feb 23, 2009 11:18 pm

aqua_tek wrote:Euphonix is also on the bandwagon.

http://www.apogeedigital.com/products/power-trio.php

Apple's answer to ProTools HD systems?
8O

That's some sexy shit right there but I'm pretty sure my accountant will disagree with me.

otnooishphoo
Posts: 146
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2009 7:34 pm

Post by otnooishphoo » Mon Feb 23, 2009 11:20 pm

if you dont know what word clock is you probably wont be buying apogee anyways.

just a thought.

Machinesworking
Posts: 11118
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 9:30 pm
Location: Seattle

Post by Machinesworking » Tue Feb 24, 2009 12:22 am

otnooishphoo wrote:if you dont know what word clock is you probably wont be buying apogee anyways.

just a thought.
True, the only time I could have used a dedicated clock was last summer, slaving via adat lightpipe a G5 to the laptop. It worked OK, but an ocaisonal digital glitch would fsu! Wasn't about to spend another $1500+ on a dedicated Master clock though, personally I would rather deal with one machine.

dysanfel
Posts: 428
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 3:06 am

Post by dysanfel » Tue Feb 24, 2009 12:36 am

This isn't really news. The Duet/Ensemble would have never been Windows compatible anyway, and that is probably the majority of their sales.
Gig Rig - rMBP 2.3GHZ i7, 16GB RAM, 256GB SSD, OSX 10.11.x, Presonus FS, Live 9.x
Home Rig - i7-6700k Hackintosh 32GB DDR4, 2nd Generation Scarlet 18i20, ADA8000, JoeMeek SixQ, Live 9.x

Fizmarble
Posts: 320
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2006 4:25 pm

Post by Fizmarble » Tue Feb 24, 2009 6:33 pm

Keddy wrote:I just commented about this elsewhere, but here's my $.02:

I didn't know Apogee EVER made Windows compatible products, so whatever!
Same here. I don't feel the loss.

jasefos
Posts: 534
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2004 6:31 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Post by jasefos » Wed Feb 25, 2009 9:14 am

otnooishphoo wrote:if you dont know what word clock is you probably wont be buying apogee anyways.

just a thought.
Quote of the day!
JaseFOS

-Live10.1 |Push2|Maschinemk2|KeyLab61|LaunchPad|MCUpro|MCExt|MCExt|iPad2|TouchABLE2
-Mac Pro 5.1 (dual hex core Xeon 3.46gHz, 28Gb RAM) running MacOS 10.13.6
-Universal Audio Apollo Quad (firewire)
-SHITLOADS OF HARDWARE SYNTHS

Post Reply