synching two computers via midi

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
dataf1ow
Posts: 230
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 4:28 pm

synching two computers via midi

Post by dataf1ow » Sat Feb 28, 2009 9:50 pm

I am trying to sync two macBook prosthrough two axiom 49s. The master is sending sync data but the slave isn't receiving any. I have went through multiple tutorials on this subject to no avail.
Any advice?

mrvinyl
Posts: 251
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2005 12:10 pm
Location: Zombie Nation
Contact:

Re: synching two computers via midi

Post by mrvinyl » Sat Feb 28, 2009 9:55 pm

do a search on this forum, there's a free app you can get for windows, and a tutorial for macs
House Music Made In England...
Twitter
Facebook

Tone Deft
Posts: 24155
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:19 pm

Re: synching two computers via midi

Post by Tone Deft » Sun Mar 01, 2009 5:30 am

you don't need another app.

read here, some of it is about syncing over a LAN, there are simpler methods.
http://forum.ableton.com//viewtopic.php ... highlight=


does the Slave have midi activity coming in?

are REMOTE IN/OUT set correctly?
In my life
Why do I smile
At people who I'd much rather kick in the eye?
-Moz

dataf1ow
Posts: 230
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 4:28 pm

Re: synching two computers via midi

Post by dataf1ow » Mon Mar 02, 2009 7:03 am

Alright, well I got it working via wireless network. Now my question is how all of this works...
Can the slave trigger clips etc? I was having trouble doing that. the play buton would just flash endlessly.

Post Reply