Hi, this requires a little explanation:
In the course of session recording, you have tweaked mixer and fx controls. These movements are recorded into the Arrangement as well as the clips being launched. After recording, you can see little red corners around every control that has a movement recorded (we call it 'automation'). You can edit the automation as an envelope in the Arranger, by selecting the control.
Now what happens if you change the value of an automated (red-cornered) control, by dragging or typing:
- if you are in record, your action is recorded, obviously;
- if you are not, Live assumes you want to try out something, but not (yet) get rid of the control's original automation. It therefore temporarily de-activates the automation in favor of your new setting. The 'Back-to-Arrangement' button in the Control Bar lights up to warn you: what you hear is not what's on 'tape'! Clicking on the Back-to-Arrangement button will re-activate all automation.
Here is what you can do to avoid losing data:
- Watch the Back-to-Arrangement button. Make sure it's off before saving.
- Get rid of automation where it is in the way, by selecting an automated control and calling Delete Automation from the Edit menu.
It seems this is the most common source of confusion in the program. Something we need to improve soon!