Basic Composition Book Recommends?

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
continuous

Basic Composition Book Recommends?

Post by continuous » Sat Apr 04, 2009 6:44 pm

Any recommendations for a good, easy to understand book on writing basic compositions for a semi-noob with a limited understanding of music theory?

Although I've been tinkering around with my laptop and live for more than a few years now I'm ashamed to say I've never actually finished a track. I've loads of little bits that I've built but have trouble expanding them into an actual piece

It's time for me to refocus.

That's not to say that I don't really enjoy creating a few bars and just letting them reverberate through the house... creating an atmosphere. That's all I ever hoped for outta all this really. But it gets to be a little more fun when you've got an intro that comes on and develops into a structure with changes that kick in etc.

Very basic pop/rock/whatever song structure is what I'm after here so that I can just make some basic little tunes that have the standard parts that an everyday song does. If the book was geared to using Live to build basic songs that would be rad.

I do listen intently when I'm enjoying my favorite tracks but I feel that I need a book I can crack open to try to soak up the basics. I'm also considering a class at the local community college but a good book would be a good start.

I did search and found some suggestions but they aren't quite what I'm looking for and may be outdated....

I guess this reads as a page out of a diary or something but just trying to get myself on track as Spring comes on I guess.

Thanx in advance for your suggestions!

condra

Re: Basic Composition Book Recommends?

Post by condra » Sat Apr 04, 2009 7:01 pm

The Dance Music Manual by Rick Snoman

noisetonepause

Post by noisetonepause » Sat Apr 04, 2009 8:18 pm

Arnold Schönberg - Fundamentals of Musical Composition.