Who are you, really?

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
jcwillia

Who are you, really?

Post by jcwillia » Thu Apr 09, 2009 5:17 pm

I was on my walk from the train to my office today (I work in downtown Chicago) when it occurred to me that I am very strange bird. I write (mostly bad) electronic music and yet I am a married father of two (soon to be three) kids in a nice suburb who works as a Finance manager at a Fortune 500 company.

And oh yeah, I attend a relatively progressive Christian Church that actually supports all this craziness that we do with Live. In fact, were it not for my church, I would probably never heard of Ableton Live.

So I got to thinking - what do the rest of the forum guys do with their "real" lives?

Please, indulge me.
Composition Name : JRock3x8
Soundcloud | Blog

Aequitas123

Re: Who are you, really?

Post by Aequitas123 » Thu Apr 09, 2009 5:35 pm

I work in Marketing during the day and attend the church of Satan at night. Come to think of it, i probably wouldn't be into Ableton if it weren't for Satan either! :o

aisling

Post by aisling » Thu Apr 09, 2009 5:35 pm

I am a balding unemployed looser with 2 kids and 2 college degrees I never really used because I thought I'd make it in music.......

So much time has elapsed since my "education", that it is easier to tell a "prospective" employer that I did 10 years in prison rather than say "I had a dream" and I followed it......and it never worked out (I have been in more bands than I can count, trying to get a shot, and so many other attempts). Fortunately, I have contracting skills that bring in some $, and a wife, who I think believes in me.....I am dusting my self off, and trying to get into nursing school. I recently became an EMT. I volunteer for meals on wheels as a way to contribute to my community.

I dig Jesus, but equally find buddha, Mohammed, the jewish prophets, Malcolm x, Gandhi, Joseph Campbell and MLK just as influential.....