All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: typing into vsts loaded into ableton
PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2009 5:03 am 

Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2004 7:25 pm
Posts: 593
so some of my vsts are not accepting keyboard input when i load them into ableton. you know, typing in values vs dragging the knob around. but ableton won't let me. i disable the keyboard as midi function, still no luck.

is this common or is there something i need to change in my pref?

really annoying when the stupid knob is so sensitive that you can't select the right value.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: typing into vsts loaded into ableton
PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2009 6:37 pm 

Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2004 7:25 pm
Posts: 593
bump


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: typing into vsts loaded into ableton
PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2009 6:53 pm 

Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2008 7:29 pm
Posts: 752
Location: England
I never even knew this was a bug as it's something i've had for ages, though it doesn't make any difference to how the plug in actually works.

I've read in these forums that it's mostly a problem with NI plug ins and for sure it's never been a problem for me with any other manufacturers software.

I also read that Ableton are in contact with NI to see what they can do about solving it. No idea when though, not even a hint as to how it's coming along.

_________________
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default ... did=944007


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: typing into vsts loaded into ableton
PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2009 6:57 pm 

Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 12:16 am
Posts: 15673
Location: New Orleans
In the folder for your Ableton personal preferences (so in my XP installation, the path would be C:\Documents and Settings\Neb\Application Data\Ableton\Live 7.0.15\Preferences) create a text file called Options.txt and in that file, put in the following line exactly:

-_EnsureKeyMessagesForPlugins

Save it, and re-launch Live. That should fix it.

_________________
Image Image Image Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: typing into vsts loaded into ableton
PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2009 7:04 pm 

Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2008 7:29 pm
Posts: 752
Location: England
nebulae wrote:
In the folder for your Ableton personal preferences (so in my XP installation, the path would be C:\Documents and Settings\Neb\Application Data\Ableton\Live 7.0.15\Preferences) create a text file called Options.txt and in that file, put in the following line exactly:

-_EnsureKeyMessagesForPlugins

Save it, and re-launch Live. That should fix it.



Any idea what the path is for vista?

_________________
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default ... did=944007


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: typing into vsts loaded into ableton
PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2009 7:12 pm 

Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2005 3:29 am
Posts: 1491
Location: Fremont, CA
nebulae wrote:
In the folder for your Ableton personal preferences (so in my XP installation, the path would be C:\Documents and Settings\Neb\Application Data\Ableton\Live 7.0.15\Preferences) create a text file called Options.txt and in that file, put in the following line exactly:

-_EnsureKeyMessagesForPlugins

Save it, and re-launch Live. That should fix it.


thank you for this heads up

_________________
Emulator x3 /Ableton PUSH /Akai S1000HD /Arturia Spark Creative Drum Machine/ Arturia V Collection 3/ EPS classic / MPC 60 II / MPC 2000XL/ Xstation 25/ Xboard 49/ Live 9/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: typing into vsts loaded into ableton
PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2009 7:18 pm 

Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 12:16 am
Posts: 15673
Location: New Orleans
Jarvisimon wrote:
nebulae wrote:
In the folder for your Ableton personal preferences (so in my XP installation, the path would be C:\Documents and Settings\Neb\Application Data\Ableton\Live 7.0.15\Preferences) create a text file called Options.txt and in that file, put in the following line exactly:

-_EnsureKeyMessagesForPlugins

Save it, and re-launch Live. That should fix it.



Any idea what the path is for vista?


No, but I assume something similar - search on your C: drive for the following files...that's the same place where the Options.txt file should be:

AsioLog.txt
Preferences.cfg

_________________
Image Image Image Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: typing into vsts loaded into ableton
PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 7:59 pm 

Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2004 7:25 pm
Posts: 593
works like a charm. thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: typing into vsts loaded into ableton
PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 8:26 pm 

Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 12:16 am
Posts: 15673
Location: New Orleans
Superchibisan wrote:
works like a charm. thanks!


Once again, I rule.

Mad props to me.

_________________
Image Image Image Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group