typing into vsts loaded into ableton

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Superchibisan
Posts: 593
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2004 7:25 pm

typing into vsts loaded into ableton

Post by Superchibisan » Wed Apr 15, 2009 5:03 am

so some of my vsts are not accepting keyboard input when i load them into ableton. you know, typing in values vs dragging the knob around. but ableton won't let me. i disable the keyboard as midi function, still no luck.

is this common or is there something i need to change in my pref?

really annoying when the stupid knob is so sensitive that you can't select the right value.

Superchibisan
Posts: 593
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2004 7:25 pm

Re: typing into vsts loaded into ableton

Post by Superchibisan » Wed Apr 15, 2009 6:37 pm

bump

Jarvisimon
Posts: 762
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2008 7:29 pm
Location: England

Re: typing into vsts loaded into ableton

Post by Jarvisimon » Wed Apr 15, 2009 6:53 pm

I never even knew this was a bug as it's something i've had for ages, though it doesn't make any difference to how the plug in actually works.

I've read in these forums that it's mostly a problem with NI plug ins and for sure it's never been a problem for me with any other manufacturers software.

I also read that Ableton are in contact with NI to see what they can do about solving it. No idea when though, not even a hint as to how it's coming along.

nebulae
Posts: 15707
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 12:16 am
Location: New Orleans
Contact:

Re: typing into vsts loaded into ableton

Post by nebulae » Wed Apr 15, 2009 6:57 pm

In the folder for your Ableton personal preferences (so in my XP installation, the path would be C:\Documents and Settings\Neb\Application Data\Ableton\Live 7.0.15\Preferences) create a text file called Options.txt and in that file, put in the following line exactly:

-_EnsureKeyMessagesForPlugins

Save it, and re-launch Live. That should fix it.
Image Image Image Image

Jarvisimon
Posts: 762
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2008 7:29 pm
Location: England

Re: typing into vsts loaded into ableton

Post by Jarvisimon » Wed Apr 15, 2009 7:04 pm

nebulae wrote:In the folder for your Ableton personal preferences (so in my XP installation, the path would be C:\Documents and Settings\Neb\Application Data\Ableton\Live 7.0.15\Preferences) create a text file called Options.txt and in that file, put in the following line exactly:

-_EnsureKeyMessagesForPlugins

Save it, and re-launch Live. That should fix it.

Any idea what the path is for vista?

v00d00ppl
Posts: 1630
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2005 3:29 am
Location: Fremont, CA
Contact:

Re: typing into vsts loaded into ableton

Post by v00d00ppl » Wed Apr 15, 2009 7:12 pm

nebulae wrote:In the folder for your Ableton personal preferences (so in my XP installation, the path would be C:\Documents and Settings\Neb\Application Data\Ableton\Live 7.0.15\Preferences) create a text file called Options.txt and in that file, put in the following line exactly:

-_EnsureKeyMessagesForPlugins

Save it, and re-launch Live. That should fix it.
thank you for this heads up
SSL X Desk / Apollo Twin Solo / Sherman Restyler / Ensoniq EPS Classic / Analog Keys / Handsome Audio Zulu

nebulae
Posts: 15707
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 12:16 am
Location: New Orleans
Contact:

Re: typing into vsts loaded into ableton

Post by nebulae » Wed Apr 15, 2009 7:18 pm

Jarvisimon wrote:
nebulae wrote:In the folder for your Ableton personal preferences (so in my XP installation, the path would be C:\Documents and Settings\Neb\Application Data\Ableton\Live 7.0.15\Preferences) create a text file called Options.txt and in that file, put in the following line exactly:

-_EnsureKeyMessagesForPlugins

Save it, and re-launch Live. That should fix it.

Any idea what the path is for vista?
No, but I assume something similar - search on your C: drive for the following files...that's the same place where the Options.txt file should be:

AsioLog.txt
Preferences.cfg
Image Image Image Image

Superchibisan
Posts: 593
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2004 7:25 pm

Re: typing into vsts loaded into ableton

Post by Superchibisan » Thu Apr 16, 2009 7:59 pm

works like a charm. thanks!

nebulae
Posts: 15707
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 12:16 am
Location: New Orleans
Contact:

Re: typing into vsts loaded into ableton

Post by nebulae » Thu Apr 16, 2009 8:26 pm

Superchibisan wrote:works like a charm. thanks!
Once again, I rule.

Mad props to me.
Image Image Image Image

Post Reply