how can i export the audio slices ?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
chicken
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 5:11 pm

how can i export the audio slices ?

Post by chicken » Tue Apr 21, 2009 5:10 pm

hi,

the new slicing feature is welcome.
export of midi slices works fine, but ...

how can i export the relatet audio slices ??

only midi slice export is half sense !

i want to load it to my excternal sampler !

rex export would be great, but i can't find any option for audio-slice-export.

what now ?

cheers,
the chicken

v00d00ppl
Posts: 1630
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2005 3:29 am
Location: Fremont, CA
Contact:

Re: how can i export the audio slices ?

Post by v00d00ppl » Tue Apr 21, 2009 6:14 pm

all i can say is there is NO rex export.......in order to make a rex file you will need recycle.
SSL X Desk / Apollo Twin Solo / Sherman Restyler / Ensoniq EPS Classic / Analog Keys / Handsome Audio Zulu

starving student
Posts: 7123
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 6:13 pm
Location: right here

Re: how can i export the audio slices ?

Post by starving student » Tue Apr 21, 2009 6:35 pm

bump

chicken
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 5:11 pm

Re: how can i export the audio slices ?

Post by chicken » Wed Apr 22, 2009 12:41 am

all i can say is there is NO rex export.......in order to make a rex file you will need recycle.
ok. no big problem. ... but i think a simple audio-wav-slice export should be possible, somehow.
i can't find the funktion ... ?!?
bump
... it up ? ... say wooaaat ... yeah !

where is the Bump'n'silce it up button ?

:|

chicken
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 5:11 pm

Re: how can i export the audio slices ?

Post by chicken » Thu Apr 23, 2009 9:44 pm

can't find bump !

any other idea ?

LeifonMars
Posts: 1104
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 11:48 am

Re: how can i export the audio slices ?

Post by LeifonMars » Thu Apr 23, 2009 10:07 pm

This thread got hilarious.
MBP OSX 10.6.8, Live 8.4, MFII, Evolver, Monomachine, Octatrack, APC40, Launchpad

chicken
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 5:11 pm

Re: how can i export the audio slices ?

Post by chicken » Thu Apr 23, 2009 10:30 pm

yes, serious things sometimes getting funny if anybody wants to answer but nobody can't find it ... ;-)

shaky !

anyway, i think the bump button is the same as the make chart buster button 8O

for this one i got the one and only licence !

i would sell it for 10 ... cutie blond groupies ...

interested ?

LeifonMars
Posts: 1104
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 11:48 am

Re: how can i export the audio slices ?

Post by LeifonMars » Thu Apr 23, 2009 10:52 pm

Well , to answer to your question: Slice to new Midi track-function doesn't slice the audio file it slices to individual audio slices. In fact, it doesn't slice it at all, it just copies your audio file to the playback devices (simpler, sampler) and sets the braces of each device to match with the number and position of slices. (OMG explaining this in english is incredibly difficult for me).

In order to export those slices to individual audio files, you have to place the midi-clip created by slice to a new midi track-function on the same midi track in arrangement view, and then define the areas you wish to export slice by slice. No easy solution here. Hope this makes sense.
MBP OSX 10.6.8, Live 8.4, MFII, Evolver, Monomachine, Octatrack, APC40, Launchpad

chicken
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 5:11 pm

Re: how can i export the audio slices ?

Post by chicken » Fri Apr 24, 2009 12:20 am

ha. yes, that's a nice idea for a work around !

another one of that kind is to take a pen, paint some marker on the TFT where the siles start,
then open the wave in an audio editor, bringing the editor-wave-window to the same size like it was in the live-window, and then cutting the wav into pieces at the points you painted on your TFT.

:P

no, seriously, i'm afraid this simple function is just missing in live. :(

Tone Deft
Posts: 24155
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:19 pm

Re: how can i export the audio slices ?

Post by Tone Deft » Fri Apr 24, 2009 12:25 am

Live > your sampler, why bother? what can your sampler do that Live can't? and don't say export slices of audio! ;)

you can make a midi pattern to play each slice very slowly then record the resulting audio file and take that to your sampler.

I'm at work, maybe I'll look into it later, I remember that you play midi notes to play the slices, I don't recall which plug in is playing the slices. sometimes using 'collect all and save' gets Live to create audio data, sometimes you can freeze a track and get audio in the /processed/freeze directory of the project.
In my life
Why do I smile
At people who I'd much rather kick in the eye?
-Moz

chicken
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 5:11 pm

Re: how can i export the audio slices ?

Post by chicken » Fri Apr 24, 2009 1:07 am

>> what can your sampler do that Live can't?<<

it can't be integrated in other host.
... don't try to tell me i could use rewire.
i tested it. you can not control the live clips via midi thru another host !
the sync gets lost.

i can't work with abletons midi. cubase is my thing, since 20 years !
don't discuss now what's better. i know why !

next thought :
what happens when you will (maybe maybe maybe in far away future) change from live to another audio sequencer ?
... i can tell you: you can forget all your sampling and slicing work. your library will be past !
i'm really not a fan of anything that tries to stick me on it.

i like to edit my samples & slices in the editor of my choice. i like to take influence and want to have full overview about every little sound i slice.
live is a programm that does a lot for you in the background.
i need full background control !

is that enough reason for WHY !?

Tone Deft
Posts: 24155
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:19 pm

Re: how can i export the audio slices ?

Post by Tone Deft » Fri Apr 24, 2009 1:11 am

I could give a shit* I'm just trying to help you, why the hell would I want to change your mind?

good luck, I'm out. :P


*I never understood that expression, should it be "I couldn't give a shit" as in it's so insignificant I wouldn't invest feces into that?
In my life
Why do I smile
At people who I'd much rather kick in the eye?
-Moz

chicken
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 5:11 pm

Re: how can i export the audio slices ?

Post by chicken » Fri Apr 24, 2009 1:23 am

sorry Tone,
didn't want blame on you.
but i think it's allready clear that it doesn't work.

so, no worry and waite for live9 ;-)

longjohns
Posts: 9088
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2003 3:42 pm
Location: seattle

Re: how can i export the audio slices ?

Post by longjohns » Fri Apr 24, 2009 1:25 am

yah if you made a series of clips, each with one note, in the session view of the track...

then when you freeze the track I think you'll get a set of frozen .wav files each corresponding to a slice

Tone Deft
Posts: 24155
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:19 pm

Re: how can i export the audio slices ?

Post by Tone Deft » Fri Apr 24, 2009 1:29 am

no blame chicken, just playing, replying in the same or similar tone. ;) I do like to problem solve these kinds of things, Live is so versatile, you just never know what might work.
/fanboy

what did you make of my suggestion above? that's how I made multi-layered drum samples for my mpc. I loaded up kits, made midi notes (full velocity, 75%, 50% and 25%), played each kit slowly then put the whole long .wav file into the mpc where I chopped it and made samples. EIC Session drum goodness for mpc, yay!
In my life
Why do I smile
At people who I'd much rather kick in the eye?
-Moz

Post Reply