how can i export the audio slices ?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
chicken
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 5:11 pm

Re: how can i export the audio slices ?

Post by chicken » Fri Apr 24, 2009 6:33 pm

hi,

thanx, tnhis is abou the same the support answered me just minutes befor :
> Slices cannot be exported as individual audio files at once. The only way
> is to open the Simpler / Sampler device of the slice you want to export,
> right-click on the waveform selection and choose "crop sample". You will
> find the cropped sample in the corresponding subfolder of your project
> folder.
>
do i have to crop each single slice, or can i crop all slices of a sample at
once ?
will the exported wav slices be renamed automatically in a common way (like
x.wav / 3 slices = x01.wav, x02.wav, x.3.wav) ?

that would be a solution, ... at least one ;-)

fuzzyhead
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2007 12:40 pm
Location: Froggystan

Re: how can i export the audio slices ?

Post by fuzzyhead » Fri Apr 24, 2009 7:13 pm

unfortunately you'll have to crop them one by one,though it's automatically renamed slice1,slice2,etc...

starving student
Posts: 7123
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 6:13 pm
Location: right here

Re: how can i export the audio slices ?

Post by starving student » Tue May 05, 2009 1:39 am

bullocks

chicken
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 5:11 pm

Re: how can i export the audio slices ?

Post by chicken » Tue May 05, 2009 11:24 am

... and bees and flowers ...

GUY SMILEY
Posts: 711
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 2:35 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: how can i export the audio slices ?

Post by GUY SMILEY » Tue May 05, 2009 1:56 pm

Tone Deft wrote:I could give a shit* I'm just trying to help you, why the hell would I want to change your mind?

good luck, I'm out. :P


*I never understood that expression, should it be "I couldn't give a shit" as in it's so insignificant I wouldn't invest feces into that?
yeah you're right it is (was) I couldn't give a shit.
I think an abbreviation came about with the intonation rising at the end of the sentence.
Like I give a shit ?
I could give a shit ? NOT
etc etc

phling
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2009 12:09 pm

Re: how can i export the audio slices ?

Post by phling » Sun Jan 31, 2010 12:19 am

meh.

bump.

phling
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2009 12:09 pm

Re: how can i export the audio slices ?

Post by phling » Thu Feb 25, 2010 10:55 pm

just to cross-reference this, i've found a solution, SoX:

http://superuser.com/questions/102808/h ... ll-samples

i.e. not a solution to export slices from Live, but to slice up audio quickly and efficiently.

braininmyknee
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2012 7:30 pm

Re: how can i export the audio slices ?

Post by braininmyknee » Tue Sep 03, 2013 6:17 am

So I wondered as well...

But here is a solution...

Let's say we aiming to get four perfect slices of a 1 bar loop, 1/4 note duration each.

Instead of slicing to midi right away, you must
1.
warp,
freeze and
bounce to audio

because the slice to midi feature undoes all the warp settings and you'll end up getting loose slices...

Then

2. 'Slice to midi' will auto generate the clip with 4 midi notes with 1/4 note duration
Still a bit loose, why

Because in the Macro Controls of the slicer...
the attack is not 0,
the release is not 0, and
the loop length is not 100%..

So

3. Edit the Macro mappings, knobs to your slices content

Finally

4. Make four midi clips

One note per clip
For each individual slices

And finally

5. Freeze and
Bounce to audio all the midi clips to another audio track

And you'll have four audio slices in 4 slots...

I guess this worked for me.

Post Reply