M-Audio Axiom won't work with Live 8

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
comradec
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 1:03 am
Location: Stockton-on-Tees, UK
Contact:

M-Audio Axiom won't work with Live 8

Post by comradec » Mon May 04, 2009 1:18 am

I'm having a devil of a job getting my M-Audio Axiom 25 to work with Ableton Live 8.

It used to work fine with Live 7 but I stopped using the Axiom for a while, since when I've upgraded to Live 8.

The keys and pads are fine but there's no response at all in Live 8 when I try to use the transport buttons.

I've got it set up in Live's MIDI Sync preferences so that Axiom 25 Classic is shown in two of the control surface slots, with USB Axiom 25 In1 and USB Axiom 25 In2 at the MIDI inputs, and USB Axiom 25 Out as the MIDI output.

The Track and Remote settings are activated for both in and out in the MIDI ports section of the MIDI Sync preferences.

I've sent a dump data instruction from Live 8 to the Axiom, which appeared to receive it okay, and tried using the Axiom in programs 18, 19 and 20, as instructed.

One other aspect of the switchover to Live 8 that's puzzling me is the disappearance of the dedicated Axiom controller lesson (the AxiomTutorial live pack). I've installed it, just as I had in the previous version, but it's no longer visible and I can't find a way to access the tutorial in Live's lessons section.

Are there any known issues with Live 8 that affect the Axiom?
Steve Cooke – #FunkMaverick
http://stevecookemusic
Live 9 Suite running on a MacBook Pro with OS X El Capitan; Zoom TAC-2 Thunderbolt audio interface; M-Audio Trigger Finger Pro MIDI control surface

scott nathaniel
Posts: 668
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2008 6:52 pm

Re: M-Audio Axiom won't work with Live 8

Post by scott nathaniel » Mon May 04, 2009 1:45 am

comradec wrote:I'm having a devil of a job getting my M-Audio Axiom 25 to work with Ableton Live 8.

It used to work fine with Live 7 but I stopped using the Axiom for a while, since when I've upgraded to Live 8.

The keys and pads are fine but there's no response at all in Live 8 when I try to use the transport buttons.

I've got it set up in Live's MIDI Sync preferences so that Axiom 25 Classic is shown in two of the control surface slots, with USB Axiom 25 In1 and USB Axiom 25 In2 at the MIDI inputs, and USB Axiom 25 Out as the MIDI output.

The Track and Remote settings are activated for both in and out in the MIDI ports section of the MIDI Sync preferences.

I've sent a dump data instruction from Live 8 to the Axiom, which appeared to receive it okay, and tried using the Axiom in programs 18, 19 and 20, as instructed.

One other aspect of the switchover to Live 8 that's puzzling me is the disappearance of the dedicated Axiom controller lesson (the AxiomTutorial live pack). I've installed it, just as I had in the previous version, but it's no longer visible and I can't find a way to access the tutorial in Live's lessons section.

Are there any known issues with Live 8 that affect the Axiom?
Make sure you turn on axiom before opening Live. Then make sure axiom is listed in the midi track input option as well as the overall midi preferences. I'll futz with mine and see if I can't help you out with something more substantial. Good luck.

comradec
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 1:03 am
Location: Stockton-on-Tees, UK
Contact:

Re: M-Audio Axiom won't work with Live 8

Post by comradec » Mon May 04, 2009 2:32 am

scott nathaniel wrote:Make sure you turn on axiom before opening Live. Then make sure axiom is listed in the midi track input option as well as the overall midi preferences. I'll futz with mine and see if I can't help you out with something more substantial. Good luck.

I've done all those things already but still no joy.

It's a bit bizarre because I used to have the Axiom set up absolutely fine and all the variables that I can see appear to be exactly the same this time round.
Steve Cooke – #FunkMaverick
http://stevecookemusic
Live 9 Suite running on a MacBook Pro with OS X El Capitan; Zoom TAC-2 Thunderbolt audio interface; M-Audio Trigger Finger Pro MIDI control surface

Diskclaimer
Posts: 295
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 1:59 am
Location: Danbury, CT
Contact:

Re: M-Audio Axiom won't work with Live 8

Post by Diskclaimer » Mon May 04, 2009 7:24 pm

I can not get the Axiom .alp to install in Live 8 either.. and i have a 61 on the way to me right now... :?

comradec
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 1:03 am
Location: Stockton-on-Tees, UK
Contact:

Re: M-Audio Axiom won't work with Live 8

Post by comradec » Mon May 04, 2009 7:31 pm

Diskclaimer wrote:I can not get the Axiom .alp to install in Live 8 either.. and i have a 61 on the way to me right now... :?
I've raised this issue on M-Audio's official user forum too and one of their technical support staff has responded there, so it might be worth following the exchange to see how things develop. Reporting your problem in that thread would probably help make it seem more urgent to M-Audio.

http://forums.m-audio.com/showthread.ph ... #post39468
Steve Cooke – #FunkMaverick
http://stevecookemusic
Live 9 Suite running on a MacBook Pro with OS X El Capitan; Zoom TAC-2 Thunderbolt audio interface; M-Audio Trigger Finger Pro MIDI control surface

Diskclaimer
Posts: 295
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 1:59 am
Location: Danbury, CT
Contact:

Re: M-Audio Axiom won't work with Live 8

Post by Diskclaimer » Mon May 04, 2009 7:52 pm

comradec wrote:
Diskclaimer wrote:Reporting your problem in that thread would probably help make it seem more urgent to M-Audio.

http://forums.m-audio.com/showthread.ph ... #post39468
Done.

comradec
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 1:03 am
Location: Stockton-on-Tees, UK
Contact:

Re: M-Audio Axiom won't work with Live 8

Post by comradec » Mon May 04, 2009 7:59 pm

Diskclaimer wrote:
comradec wrote:
Diskclaimer wrote:Reporting your problem in that thread would probably help make it seem more urgent to M-Audio.

http://forums.m-audio.com/showthread.ph ... #post39468
Done.

First we take Manhattan. Then we take Berlin. (Apologies to Mr Cohen)
Steve Cooke – #FunkMaverick
http://stevecookemusic
Live 9 Suite running on a MacBook Pro with OS X El Capitan; Zoom TAC-2 Thunderbolt audio interface; M-Audio Trigger Finger Pro MIDI control surface

Diskclaimer
Posts: 295
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 1:59 am
Location: Danbury, CT
Contact:

Re: M-Audio Axiom won't work with Live 8

Post by Diskclaimer » Mon May 04, 2009 8:05 pm

comradec wrote:
First we take Manhattan. Then we take Berlin. (Apologies to Mr Cohen)
Agreed... (Not sure about the apologies) 8)

Post Reply