RAM changes my sound!

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
LouisC
Posts: 99
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2006 11:15 pm

RAM changes my sound!

Post by LouisC » Mon May 04, 2009 11:02 am

Wow!
this is amazing!
I just installed a brand new 2gb stick of RAM into my computer today.

It made my mixes sound so much warmer and thicker. It's put a beautiful sheen to all of my music.

Has anybody else tried this? I highly recommend it. I might experiment with different brands of RAM to see if there are some others that might sparkle up the high end.

lou.

djsynchro
Posts: 7471
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 9:06 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: RAM changes my sound!

Post by djsynchro » Mon May 04, 2009 11:20 am

I use Samsung hard drives, they have a really fat low end.

twisted-space
Posts: 1253
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 5:50 pm
Location: UK Midlands

Re: RAM changes my sound!

Post by twisted-space » Mon May 04, 2009 11:26 am

It's a well know fact that PCs sound warmer than Macs

pepezabala
Posts: 3499
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 4:29 pm
Location: In Berlin, finally

Re: RAM changes my sound!

Post by pepezabala » Mon May 04, 2009 11:28 am

twisted-space wrote:It's a well know fact that PCs sound warmer than Macs
that's because macs are cool.

funky shit
Posts: 3977
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 9:50 pm
Location: Earth

Re: RAM changes my sound!

Post by funky shit » Mon May 04, 2009 11:38 am

:lol:
Image

TITBAG
Posts: 947
Joined: Sat May 26, 2007 2:40 am

Re: RAM changes my sound!

Post by TITBAG » Mon May 04, 2009 12:16 pm

I use a single density floppy RAID array, laced with pubic hair clippings from teh man Marley Marl, it gives me unimaginable nuances and pleasure beyond comprehension

3dot...
Posts: 9996
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm

Re: RAM changes my sound!

Post by 3dot... » Mon May 04, 2009 12:59 pm

I sum my tracks on Logic 4 on a Pentium3 with soundblaster pro ...u know .. for that OOOMPH...
I then continue to master straight to Vinyl panties....
but yeah...pubic hair is a must ...and 3d glasses..
Image

do_om
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2006 3:43 am

Re: RAM changes my sound!

Post by do_om » Mon May 04, 2009 1:31 pm

Do you take bookings ?

Aequitas123
Posts: 1204
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 3:58 pm

Re: RAM changes my sound!

Post by Aequitas123 » Mon May 04, 2009 1:38 pm

the specific type of mouse i use automatically adds amazing sidechaining to all my songs.

locojohn
Posts: 486
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 8:42 am
Location: riga, latvia

Re: RAM changes my sound!

Post by locojohn » Mon May 04, 2009 3:02 pm

I noticed (but it took me a year of critical listening) that once I plug-in a USB stick into my laptop, my mixes sound warmer, bigger... I am now investigating which sticks make it sound better than others when plugged in.

Also I noticed the sound quality of my mixes changes slightly (sound better) when I bend my laptop's screen a little forward.

Andrejs
/*
  • the basic tone of life remains the same,
    and in it there are some happy melodies
    and some sad melodies
    - sekito kisen
*/

re.mark
Posts: 1248
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 11:25 pm
Location: UK

Re: RAM changes my sound!

Post by re.mark » Mon May 04, 2009 3:11 pm

oh... i think i brought the wrong make of ram then, because since upgrading my ram my tunes have lost the warmth and power they once had. :(

forge
Posts: 17422
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2004 9:47 am
Location: Queensland, AU
Contact:

Re: RAM changes my sound!

Post by forge » Mon May 04, 2009 9:27 pm

if you really want to brighten up your sound, stick your RAM in a beaker of caustic soda first, then get a file and round off the edges of the contacts before polishing them with a very fine grit sand paper until they really sparkle under a lamp. Then all you have to do is lubricate them with an industrial axle grease before you put them back into your computer. For best results also grease the sockets before you seat the RAM.

Then if you get a really decent staple gun, ideally a powered one, and stick a couple of staples through either side of each RAM stick, preferably through the black bits, so that they are really tightly stapled into your motherboard, then that will give you an amazingly tight sound.

And don't forget to prime your hard drive before every session with a really good electromagnet. This is vital for optimum performance and fidelity. You can do this just by rubbing the electromagnet along the side of your computer you believe the hard drive to be on, but it works best if you open the case and put it directly on the hard drive itself.

hope that helps.

LoopStationZebra
Posts: 10586
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 5:57 pm
Contact:

Re: RAM changes my sound!

Post by LoopStationZebra » Mon May 04, 2009 9:29 pm

PHAT!
I came for the :lol:
But stayed for the :x

Gab
Posts: 280
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 2:38 pm
Location: France

Re: RAM changes my sound!

Post by Gab » Mon May 04, 2009 9:50 pm

djsynchro wrote:I use Samsung hard drives, they have a really fat low end.
:lol:
'If they act too hip, you know they can’t play shit.'

LouisC
Posts: 99
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2006 11:15 pm

Re: RAM changes my sound!

Post by LouisC » Mon May 04, 2009 11:49 pm

guys and girls...
i've made a new discovery!

i've found out this time that ableton sounds slightly more shimmery in the highend while runnong on a 1ghz piece of toast.

wholemeal is preferable.

Post Reply