ableton license question and windows 7 rc1

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Imaulle
Posts: 128
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 9:46 pm

Re: ableton license question and windows 7 rc1

Post by Imaulle » Thu May 07, 2009 8:03 pm

to install Vista or Windows 7 from USB drive

format the flash drive
open a new cmd window with admin privs

Code: Select all

diskpart
list disk 
select Disk 2 (or whatever the usb disk is labled after doing list disk)
clean
create partition primary
select partition 1
active
format fs=fat32
assign
exit
then mount the ISO using daemon tools or virtual clone and run this command

Code: Select all

xcopy H:\*.* /s/e/f J:\
H being the ISO and J being the flash drive

robleighton22
Posts: 366
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 1:35 am

Re: ableton license question and windows 7 rc1

Post by robleighton22 » Thu May 07, 2009 8:10 pm

Imaulle wrote:to install Vista or Windows 7 from USB drive

format the flash drive
open a new cmd window with admin privs

Code: Select all

diskpart
list disk 
select Disk 2 (or whatever the usb disk is labled after doing list disk)
clean
create partition primary
select partition 1
active
format fs=fat32
assign
exit
then mount the ISO using daemon tools or virtual clone and run this command

Code: Select all

xcopy H:\*.* /s/e/f J:\
H being the ISO and J being the flash drive
do i hav to format the usb drive?

i have all my stuff backed up on that drive - can i not create a partition. i want to keep all date on the usb drive (don't mind losing the data on my c drive.

thanks

Gab
Posts: 280
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 2:38 pm
Location: France

Re: ableton license question and windows 7 rc1

Post by Gab » Thu May 07, 2009 8:15 pm

The setps described by Imaulle include formatting the drive, yes. I don't know if you can partition it to have the install partition on the one hand and the backup partition on the other.

But you could buy a cheap USB thumbdrive. A 4GB one will be perfect.

Thanks for the explanation Imaulle, I couldn't find how to do the last step. Now that Creative has released a working driver for my soundcard I'm eager to see how 7 performs.
'If they act too hip, you know they can’t play shit.'

robleighton22
Posts: 366
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 1:35 am

Re: ableton license question and windows 7 rc1

Post by robleighton22 » Sat May 09, 2009 2:53 pm

ok after some more testing, all i can say is why why why did vista ever happen!!!

i thought my pc was too slow to run my motu 828mkII in 96khz speed - it would crash all the time. sooo many problems, so i never bothered.

using ableton 7.15, the latest motu drivers (NOT IN COMPATIBILITY MODE, something that only worked once i did a clean install) - the cpu meter hits a max of 17%. everything runs so much faster. ableton loads faster, traktor loads faster - ableton runs faster, much much faster.

also i can listen to music now with the motu828 set to 96khz mode. im so peed off that vista prevented my from using my pc properly. i really hope microsoft don't charge too much for the upgrade.

ive got a intel 2.2ghz dual core processer, 2gb ram and 160gb of hdd, and a geforce 8600m gs. i know am pretty certain i don't need macos. although, i am still getting bluescreen errors from my motu - this is blatently an issue with motu as all windows users seem to get this unless they are using a specific chipset.

Post Reply