Post your set up and your sexy cat...

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
jamief
Posts: 1856
Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2002 1:50 pm
Location: Awakend

Re: Post your set up and your sexy cat...

Post by jamief » Tue Apr 13, 2010 10:00 pm

oblique strategies wrote:
jamief wrote: Image

new desk allen heath zed r16 and new pair Genelec 8030's Adams A7

:D
Very interested in the allen heath zed r16. What do you think of it?

How does it rate on these three functions:
analog mixer
I,m happy with it just getting to grips with an anolog eq again. Never liked digital eq,s as they seem totally non musical to me and hard to understand

firewire interface

Great seems to run perfectly


midi controller

Not using that bit at all as i have tascam us2400 (beside it in pic)which is a bit of a clasic secret but is mazing for makingh music with - i LOVE it

Thank you
Overall excellent and worth the money

best :)

jamief
Posts: 1856
Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2002 1:50 pm
Location: Awakend

Re: Post your set up and your sexy cat...

Post by jamief » Tue Apr 13, 2010 10:04 pm

tlennon wrote:@jamief - Wow! Really nice dude.
Thanks T, Likin your setup as well. just involved in working with acoustic enginner to tune room up. He,s askin a bit for this but i,m deliverin.

best
J :)

oblique strategies
Posts: 3582
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 9:57 pm
Location: Another Green World

Re: Post your set up and your sexy cat...

Post by oblique strategies » Tue Apr 13, 2010 10:47 pm

jamief wrote:
oblique strategies wrote:
jamief wrote: Image

new desk allen heath zed r16 and new pair Genelec 8030's Adams A7

:D
Very interested in the allen heath zed r16. What do you think of it?

How does it rate on these three functions:
analog mixer
I,m happy with it just getting to grips with an anolog eq again. Never liked digital eq,s as they seem totally non musical to me and hard to understand

firewire interface

Great seems to run perfectly


midi controller

Not using that bit at all as i have tascam us2400 (beside it in pic)which is a bit of a clasic secret but is mazing for makingh music with - i LOVE it

Thank you
Overall excellent and worth the money

best :)
Thanks for the info. How's the sound quality: analog & firewire I/O?

jamief
Posts: 1856
Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2002 1:50 pm
Location: Awakend

Re: Post your set up and your sexy cat...

Post by jamief » Tue Apr 13, 2010 10:54 pm

firewire interface

Great seems to run perfectly


midi controller

Not using that bit at all as i have tascam us2400 (beside it in pic)which is a bit of a clasic secret but is mazing for makingh music with - i LOVE it

Thank you[/quote]

Overall excellent and worth the money

best :)[/quote]

Thanks for the info. How's the sound quality: analog & firewire I/O?[/quote]
My opinion Great !

:)

oblique strategies
Posts: 3582
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 9:57 pm
Location: Another Green World

Re: Post your set up and your sexy cat...

Post by oblique strategies » Tue Apr 13, 2010 11:52 pm

Thanks jamief

rosti
Posts: 280
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 5:23 pm
Location: HELLsinki

Re: Post your set up and your sexy cat...

Post by rosti » Wed Apr 14, 2010 7:23 am

Oooh. I lust your A&H desk <3

edit: why my posts allways starts a new page!?! :D

amigo
Posts: 992
Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2004 9:39 am
Location: Ireland
Contact:

Re: Post your set up and your sexy cat...

Post by amigo » Wed Apr 14, 2010 8:04 am

Image

Image

Image

Finally got around to taking a photo of my current studio setup. :)

Setup includes the following:

Intel Core 2 Quad CPU Q9550 @ 2.83 GHz
4 GB Ram
Windows 7 (32-bit)
Samsung SyncMaster P2370 23" x 2
t.c. electronic studio konnekt 48
Yamaha AN1x
Kore 2 Controller
Alesis MultiMix 12 USB
sE2000 Microphone
Korg KaossPad 3
Roland SPD-S
Akai APC40
KRK Rokit 6 Monitors

I don't have a cat but here's a photo that I quite like... :)

Image

oblique strategies
Posts: 3582
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 9:57 pm
Location: Another Green World

Re: Post your set up and your sexy cat...

Post by oblique strategies » Wed Apr 14, 2010 8:11 am

How do you like the Roland SPD-S?

flippo
Posts: 486
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2010 6:06 am
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: Post your set up and your sexy cat...

Post by flippo » Wed Apr 14, 2010 8:11 am

poiypul!

amigo
Posts: 992
Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2004 9:39 am
Location: Ireland
Contact:

Re: Post your set up and your sexy cat...

Post by amigo » Wed Apr 14, 2010 8:14 am

oblique strategies wrote:How do you like the Roland SPD-S?
I think it's a great piece of kit and bought it solely for playing live but it's great fun to play around with in the studio.
When using it live I loaded up some synth sounds and played them like percussion. Great fun! :)

oblique strategies
Posts: 3582
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 9:57 pm
Location: Another Green World

Re: Post your set up and your sexy cat...

Post by oblique strategies » Wed Apr 14, 2010 11:49 am

amigo wrote:
oblique strategies wrote:How do you like the Roland SPD-S?
I think it's a great piece of kit and bought it solely for playing live but it's great fun to play around with in the studio.
When using it live I loaded up some synth sounds and played them like percussion. Great fun! :)
Do you load the sounds onto a compact flash card & play them from the SPD-S directly, or do you use it as a MIDI controller?

outershpongolia
Posts: 2230
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 8:40 am

Re: Post your set up and your sexy cat...

Post by outershpongolia » Wed Apr 14, 2010 12:11 pm

oblique strategies wrote:
amigo wrote:
oblique strategies wrote:How do you like the Roland SPD-S?
I think it's a great piece of kit and bought it solely for playing live but it's great fun to play around with in the studio.
When using it live I loaded up some synth sounds and played them like percussion. Great fun! :)
Do you load the sounds onto a compact flash card & play them from the SPD-S directly, or do you use it as a MIDI controller?
It also works nicely along side an acoustic set.. acoustic triggers on the kick and snare to really merge the acoustic and electronic sounds.. I actually thought about setting something up where the kick trigger would trigger some side chain compression live, with a live drummer.. Lots of big idea's for the Roland (like using program changes to switch the patch when I launch different scenes) but haven't gotten around to them yet..

If you ARE using compact flash, did you just load samples onto the card? or sample them in by recording them with the onboard sampler?

amigo
Posts: 992
Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2004 9:39 am
Location: Ireland
Contact:

Re: Post your set up and your sexy cat...

Post by amigo » Wed Apr 14, 2010 12:39 pm

oblique strategies wrote:
amigo wrote:
oblique strategies wrote:How do you like the Roland SPD-S?
I think it's a great piece of kit and bought it solely for playing live but it's great fun to play around with in the studio.
When using it live I loaded up some synth sounds and played them like percussion. Great fun! :)
Do you load the sounds onto a compact flash card & play them from the SPD-S directly, or do you use it as a MIDI controller?
I tried every possible option available to me and found the best for me was to load the sounds from a flash card. I do like to idea of using it to trigger sounds in a drum rack but I wanted to use it as an independant device more in my live set up.

amigo
Posts: 992
Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2004 9:39 am
Location: Ireland
Contact:

Re: Post your set up and your sexy cat...

Post by amigo » Wed Apr 14, 2010 12:41 pm

outershpongolia wrote: If you ARE using compact flash, did you just load samples onto the card? or sample them in by recording them with the onboard sampler?
I already had the samples in Live so it was easier for me just to tranfser them to the card and load them from there.

outershpongolia
Posts: 2230
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 8:40 am

Re: Post your set up and your sexy cat...

Post by outershpongolia » Wed Apr 14, 2010 12:58 pm

amigo wrote:
outershpongolia wrote: If you ARE using compact flash, did you just load samples onto the card? or sample them in by recording them with the onboard sampler?
I already had the samples in Live so it was easier for me just to tranfser them to the card and load them from there.
I was kinda skeptical about doing that cause I figured some of them might need to be messed with and then loaded in.. Did you make sure they sounded really really nice before loading them on? like resampling and using fx/EQ and such to get the best possible samples and then normalizing them or whatever shiiet? We have the card, just don't have a computer with the slot so we tried recording into it but it was a pain in the ass.

Post Reply