Post your set up and your sexy cat...

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
memes_33
Posts: 867
Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 6:19 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA
Contact:

Re: Post your set up and your sexy cat...

Post by memes_33 » Wed Jun 01, 2011 10:31 pm

Hermanus wrote:That CAT is Huge :mrgreen:
yes, my dog is actually a huge pussy!
Hip-Hop, Breakbeat, Glitch, IDM, Dub, & Mashups! Go to:
http://memes.bandcamp.com
http://www.soundcloud.com/memes_33

Illiac
Posts: 156
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 4:32 pm
Location: Detroit/ Chicago
Contact:

Re: Post your set up and your sexy cat...

Post by Illiac » Thu Jun 02, 2011 7:27 am

i need a mm stingray and a plant. thanks for the inspirato.

Illiac
Posts: 156
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 4:32 pm
Location: Detroit/ Chicago
Contact:

Re: Post your set up and your sexy cat...

Post by Illiac » Thu Jun 02, 2011 7:28 am

oh, and a sub and a dog too.

oblique strategies
Posts: 3580
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 9:57 pm
Location: Another Green World

Re: Post your set up and your sexy cat...

Post by oblique strategies » Fri Jun 03, 2011 12:42 pm

memes_33 wrote: Image
What's with the rack-mounted foam? :)

Rabalder
Posts: 1089
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 10:03 am
Location: Norway

Re: Post your set up and your sexy cat...

Post by Rabalder » Fri Jun 03, 2011 1:09 pm

Protect the foam! PROTECT THE FOAM!!

memes_33
Posts: 867
Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 6:19 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA
Contact:

Re: Post your set up and your sexy cat...

Post by memes_33 » Fri Jun 03, 2011 3:53 pm

oblique strategies wrote: What's with the rack-mounted foam? :)
there's a bad flutter echo on that wall and the one parallel to it, and i had the extra foam sitting around, so i thought 'why not fill the gaps with foam for the extra absorption?' doubt it does much to help, but probably doesn't hurt, either :mrgreen:
Hip-Hop, Breakbeat, Glitch, IDM, Dub, & Mashups! Go to:
http://memes.bandcamp.com
http://www.soundcloud.com/memes_33

channelite
Posts: 472
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2007 8:25 pm
Location: Nevada, USA

Re: Post your set up and your sexy cat...

Post by channelite » Sun Jun 05, 2011 7:50 pm

memes_33, what kind of desk are you using? Where'd you get it?

memes_33
Posts: 867
Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 6:19 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA
Contact:

Re: Post your set up and your sexy cat...

Post by memes_33 » Mon Jun 06, 2011 4:18 pm

Middle Atlantic MDV-DSK http://www.middleatlantic.com/studio/mdv/mdesks.htm . i got it direct from middle atlantic- i have a business relationship with them so i get hooked up. great desk, but probably on the pricier side if you're paying full price.

i might get the little side car rack at some point, too...
Hip-Hop, Breakbeat, Glitch, IDM, Dub, & Mashups! Go to:
http://memes.bandcamp.com
http://www.soundcloud.com/memes_33

3dot...
Posts: 9996
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm

Re: Post your set up and your sexy cat...

Post by 3dot... » Mon Jun 06, 2011 4:55 pm

memes_33 wrote:Image
Image
Image
Image
Image

my sexy cat is a dog. his name is denali and he is awesome!

niiice...

what are all the patch cables for ??? hmmm...I suspect you're hiding something...
8)
Image

memes_33
Posts: 867
Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 6:19 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA
Contact:

Re: Post your set up and your sexy cat...

Post by memes_33 » Mon Jun 06, 2011 5:20 pm

3dot... wrote:what are all the patch cables for ??? hmmm...I suspect you're hiding something...
8)
yeah, a whole closet full of old samplers, synths, pedals, filters, etc. that hardly ever get used. my desk is normalized through a patchbay for everyday use, but the patchbays make any sort of custom setup a breeze. plus, when i want to record multiple inputs on the MOTU, i don't have to reach around to the back to plug in.

the other day, i set up a little synth patch, plugged it into my dbx compressor and sidechained it with drums & snare from ableton sends to get a pumpy effect, and routed that back into ableton to record. the whole signal path connection took about 2 minutes.
Hip-Hop, Breakbeat, Glitch, IDM, Dub, & Mashups! Go to:
http://memes.bandcamp.com
http://www.soundcloud.com/memes_33

3dot...
Posts: 9996
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm

Re: Post your set up and your sexy cat...

Post by 3dot... » Mon Jun 06, 2011 5:58 pm

:D
cool... hehe... I somehow didn't see the rack 1st time around ! and a patch bay really is handy...but you've got lots of cables.. (it's ok.. I have loads of picks.. )

I've had a huge setup at my place.. big ass console patches compressors reverbs...the works..
but it's pretty hot over here at summer..
so a combination of heat... humidity... bad air conditioning.. made me go almost all digital.. and minimize my setup ..
it was like being in a stove !
so now I use a small mackie mixer for all the routing/amping stuff..

very nice setup btw,, and cool cat...
cheers...
Image

aqua_tek
Posts: 2569
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 8:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Post your set up and your sexy cat...

Post by aqua_tek » Mon Jun 06, 2011 8:09 pm

So, I was finding the 25 keys in the SL MKII way too limiting... also, I wasn't really taking full advantage of the Automap function. Sold it, and... well... during my scour for an alternate controller, found an SL Compact 49 for dirt cheap.

Also, purchased Komplete 7.

Image

oblique strategies
Posts: 3580
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 9:57 pm
Location: Another Green World

Re: Post your set up and your sexy cat...

Post by oblique strategies » Tue Jun 07, 2011 5:04 am

aqua_tek wrote:So, I was finding the 25 keys in the SL MKII way too limiting... also, I wasn't really taking full advantage of the Automap function. Sold it, and... well... during my scour for an alternate controller, found an SL Compact 49 for dirt cheap.

Also, purchased Komplete 7.

Image
Ah! The famous Allsop computer stand! Handy little buggers.

el_hambre
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 7:12 pm
Location: Tarragona (Spain)

Re: Post your set up and your sexy cat...

Post by el_hambre » Tue Jun 07, 2011 1:01 pm

This is how look my setup right now. Pretty simply. Kaoss Pad3, Ultranova, Launchdpad and Ableton 8 Suite.
I also have a Saffire 14 to have two good preamps and I'm thinking to change my monitors for something about 5"

Image

ollyb303
Posts: 2666
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 3:49 pm
Location: Bristol, UK
Contact:

Re: Post your set up and your sexy cat...

Post by ollyb303 » Thu Jun 09, 2011 1:07 pm

Image

OB1 Studio, with my pet AudioSapien
.:O:B:1:.
ob1techno.com

Post Reply