midi help- is this possible in Live?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
greenscreens
Posts: 139
Joined: Fri May 11, 2007 3:23 pm

midi help- is this possible in Live?

Post by greenscreens » Wed May 20, 2009 10:50 pm

Is there a way to send a midi note to ableton so that it continues to add 1 note up for example you hit a C on your midi controller and the next time you hit the same key C, C# is played, then you hit the C note again and D is played. is that possible? at first i thought this could be realized with the arpeggiator but i dont want it to run automatically i want to be able to play the notes without it being quantized/sequenced

greenscreens
Posts: 139
Joined: Fri May 11, 2007 3:23 pm

Re: midi help- is this possible in Live?

Post by greenscreens » Wed May 20, 2009 10:54 pm

almost like the Pitch midi function but it continues to add the given amount to the same note instead of transposing what you are playing

rbmonosylabik
Posts: 2659
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 7:27 am

Re: midi help- is this possible in Live?

Post by rbmonosylabik » Wed May 20, 2009 10:55 pm

Look at the Random MIDI plug in
Image

MBP 2.3 GHz i5, Live 9.6.1, Push, MPD32, Rane SL2

greenscreens
Posts: 139
Joined: Fri May 11, 2007 3:23 pm

Re: midi help- is this possible in Live?

Post by greenscreens » Wed May 20, 2009 11:03 pm

can it do it orderly- only adding one note? doesnt it just randomly select any note?

Tone Deft
Posts: 23797
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:19 pm
Location: SF, CA

Re: midi help- is this possible in Live?

Post by Tone Deft » Wed May 20, 2009 11:04 pm

there's a round robin setting and a setting for up or down.

go play.
"Obsession is a great substitute for talent." - Steve Martin on learning the banjo

Dell Inspiron 15 7000, Live 10.1, Win10 Home, Edirol UA101, APC40, Remote SL, SPD-SX, mic, POD500HDX, JX305, Nova
soundcloud.com/tone-deft

greenscreens
Posts: 139
Joined: Fri May 11, 2007 3:23 pm

Re: midi help- is this possible in Live?

Post by greenscreens » Wed May 20, 2009 11:08 pm

brilliant, got it. thanks

djsynchro
Posts: 7471
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 9:06 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: midi help- is this possible in Live?

Post by djsynchro » Wed May 20, 2009 11:51 pm

why wouldn't you just hit the next key up on your keyboard?

Post Reply