Nord Modular G1 and Live 8

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
BinaryB
Posts: 1016
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 6:04 am
Location: Sydney / SanFrancisco

Nord Modular G1 and Live 8

Post by BinaryB » Sun May 24, 2009 5:22 am

Anyone rocking these two together ?
I am having trouble recording midi cc data into ableton.

I was hoping to setup a couple of synths and use the clips as presets...

Any tips to be had about this ?

Any info would be appreciated.
Live8 & Serato
Download NYE'08 DJset

Johnisfaster
Posts: 7251
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 8:34 am
Contact:

Re: Nord Modular G1 and Live 8

Post by Johnisfaster » Sun May 24, 2009 5:38 am

I rock the g1 and live 8, although I haven't spent much time recording cc's from it into live but that couldn't be that difficult. have you recorded midi cc's before using live? what are your midi settings in lives preferences?
It was as if someone shook up a 6 foot can of blood soda and suddenly popped the top.

BinaryB
Posts: 1016
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 6:04 am
Location: Sydney / SanFrancisco

Re: Nord Modular G1 and Live 8

Post by BinaryB » Sun May 24, 2009 6:45 am

Thanks for the response mate.

I have recorded mdid cc's a lot before a couple of years ago
but i forget the things to check... but you are right it should be simple.

I have the Nord and midi sport in/out on D (D = midisport Channel #4)
Midi Track = MidiSport D Track and Sync on for in and out.

Arm Midi Track in Live and tried global record too.

I used to use logic all the time when the Modular first came came out.
It was so easy...
> Press pause, record and arm the track.
> Ctrl Snapshot from the Nord
= preset midi files in logic.

I guess I will just have to use Logic on my macbook to create these 'presets'
and use them on my PC desktop if i cant get it working in Live8.


Cheers
Ben
Live8 & Serato
Download NYE'08 DJset

Johnisfaster
Posts: 7251
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 8:34 am
Contact:

Re: Nord Modular G1 and Live 8

Post by Johnisfaster » Sun May 24, 2009 6:48 am

BinaryB wrote:Thanks for the response mate.

I have recorded mdid cc's a lot before a couple of years ago
but i forget the things to check... but you are right it should be simple.

I have the Nord and midi sport in/out on D (D = midisport Channel #4)
Midi Track = MidiSport D Track and Sync on for in and out.

Arm Midi Track in Live and tried global record too.

I used to use logic all the time when the Modular first came came out.
It was so easy...
> Press pause, record and arm the track.
> Ctrl Snapshot from the Nord
= preset midi files in logic.

I guess I will just have to use Logic on my macbook to create these 'presets'
and use them on my PC desktop if i cant get it working in Live8.


Cheers
Ben
I would check your midi preferences in live

also, is using program changes not an option? I know there is a second of load time involved so sometimes it isn't an option.
It was as if someone shook up a 6 foot can of blood soda and suddenly popped the top.

BinaryB
Posts: 1016
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 6:04 am
Location: Sydney / SanFrancisco

Re: Nord Modular G1 and Live 8

Post by BinaryB » Sun May 24, 2009 7:04 am

:) Checking midi preferences is a good idea.

I changed the settings around and then restarted and it works !!!

Now to find how to record while paused to get all my Midi-Ctrl data at the start of a clip.

THANKS for the help FastJohn.

Cheers
Ben
Live8 & Serato
Download NYE'08 DJset

Johnisfaster
Posts: 7251
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 8:34 am
Contact:

Re: Nord Modular G1 and Live 8

Post by Johnisfaster » Sun May 24, 2009 7:12 am

BinaryB wrote: Now to find how to record while paused to get all my Midi-Ctrl data at the start of a clip.
is that even possible in live? I'd love to hear about it if it is. in my experience you'd have to manually slide the clip cc's around to set up your "presets"
It was as if someone shook up a 6 foot can of blood soda and suddenly popped the top.

Johnisfaster
Posts: 7251
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 8:34 am
Contact:

Re: Nord Modular G1 and Live 8

Post by Johnisfaster » Sun May 24, 2009 7:13 am

but hey, lets just talk about how f**king awesome the G1 is :)

I've been looking for someone to trade their rack version for my keyboard version, still no takers.
It was as if someone shook up a 6 foot can of blood soda and suddenly popped the top.

b0unce
Posts: 5379
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 4:16 pm

Re: Nord Modular G1 and Live 8

Post by b0unce » Sun May 24, 2009 7:15 am

I'll shit on your chest.

For FREE.
spreader of butter

Johnisfaster
Posts: 7251
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 8:34 am
Contact:

Re: Nord Modular G1 and Live 8

Post by Johnisfaster » Sun May 24, 2009 7:16 am

:roll:
It was as if someone shook up a 6 foot can of blood soda and suddenly popped the top.

b0unce
Posts: 5379
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 4:16 pm

Re: Nord Modular G1 and Live 8

Post by b0unce » Sun May 24, 2009 7:19 am

Johnisfaster wrote::roll:
said the man who sold his x0xb0x for a live8 upgrade. or nearly did. or something.



in otherwords, you're fucktarded.
spreader of butter

BinaryB
Posts: 1016
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 6:04 am
Location: Sydney / SanFrancisco

Re: Nord Modular G1 and Live 8

Post by BinaryB » Sun May 24, 2009 7:25 am

I got a keyboard version too !

I used to have a rack verion when they first came out but now i love having the keyboard version for turntablist stuff with my Rane-Serato TTM57SL mixer.
If only it had a mod wheel :(


I use it as a filter on the FX send and a sound/bassline machine with Serato.
Next move is to start recording loops off the nord into Serato and work with it on the Technics...

Serato-Ableton is going to be a farkin cazy for me!
and then throw M4L into the mixxx...

I just figured out how to do the dumping for presets too !!!
Just record the CTRL Snapshot into a clip and then slide the start of the clip to where the ctrl messages start... its sunday here so im thinking a little slow. :oops:
Live8 & Serato
Download NYE'08 DJset

Johnisfaster
Posts: 7251
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 8:34 am
Contact:

Re: Nord Modular G1 and Live 8

Post by Johnisfaster » Sun May 24, 2009 7:27 am

I was selling it for modular gear, it didn't sell though so I still have it.
b0unce wrote:
said the man who sold his x0xb0x for a live8 upgrade. or nearly did. or something.

in otherwords, you're fucktarded.
said the child with nothing better to do than to try to bother people online.
It was as if someone shook up a 6 foot can of blood soda and suddenly popped the top.

BinaryB
Posts: 1016
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 6:04 am
Location: Sydney / SanFrancisco

Re: Nord Modular G1 and Live 8

Post by BinaryB » Sun May 24, 2009 7:31 am

Johnisfaster wrote:
BinaryB wrote: Now to find how to record while paused to get all my Midi-Ctrl data at the start of a clip.
is that even possible in live? I'd love to hear about it if it is. in my experience you'd have to manually slide the clip cc's around to set up your "presets"
I just figured out how to do the dumping for presets too !!!
Just record the CTRL Snapshot into a clip and then slide the start of the clip to where the ctrl messages start...

Does this help ?
Live8 & Serato
Download NYE'08 DJset

b0unce
Posts: 5379
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 4:16 pm

Re: Nord Modular G1 and Live 8

Post by b0unce » Sun May 24, 2009 7:31 am

Johnisfaster wrote:I was selling it for ....
said the retard, the genuine retard, who was ACTUALLY trying to sell a x0xb0x....to fund, of all things, a fucking live8 upgrade. that's what you said it was for. NO mention of modular modules.


Y'cant live that down.
Last edited by b0unce on Sun May 24, 2009 7:34 am, edited 1 time in total.
spreader of butter

Johnisfaster
Posts: 7251
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 8:34 am
Contact:

Re: Nord Modular G1 and Live 8

Post by Johnisfaster » Sun May 24, 2009 7:34 am

b0unce wrote:said the retard, the genuine retard, who was ACTUALLY trying to sell a x0xb0x....to fund, of all things, a fucking live8 upgrade.


Y'cant live that down.
you didn't read what I said, I was selling it to buy modular gear.
It was as if someone shook up a 6 foot can of blood soda and suddenly popped the top.

Post Reply