Ableton Live in virtual machine?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
IDM
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 01, 2009 7:30 am

Ableton Live in virtual machine?

Post by IDM » Thu May 28, 2009 11:55 pm

I'm trying to run Ableton Live inside of virtual box. It runs - all the plugins and my old projects - but it gets to point where it keeps clipping. VirtualBox is able to use both cpus in one process so I can get over 100% cpu usage - but it never goes over about 120percent. In ableton in winxp in virtualbox, ableton shows about 5% cpu usage consistently, but the clipping seems to be consistent with shortage of cpu cycles. When it gets past a certain point in my track for example, the clipping gets worse and worse. Has anyone had any success running ableton in a VM? Any suggestions? Thanks.

adventurepants_
Posts: 1773
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 3:05 am

Re: Ableton Live in virtual machine?

Post by adventurepants_ » Fri May 29, 2009 12:24 am

VMware and virtual machines are not suitable to run real time dependent software like DAW programs.

Its a hiding to nowhere, it will only perform poorly no matter what you tweak.
nathannn wrote:i will block everyone on this forum if i have to.

IDM
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 01, 2009 7:30 am

Re: Ableton Live in virtual machine?

Post by IDM » Fri May 29, 2009 12:39 am

It seems so close I can't see why it isn't possible...

adventurepants_
Posts: 1773
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 3:05 am

Re: Ableton Live in virtual machine?

Post by adventurepants_ » Fri May 29, 2009 12:46 am

IDM wrote:It seems so close I can't see why it isn't possible...

I think youre misunderstanding how virtualisation works, and what its for. even though modern CPUs will run virtualised machines at a low level, its still emulated to some degree, and things like ram and drive access and screen updates will be slower than running natively. DAW software needs as much power as you can throw at it, and there is absolutely a performance hit to running virtualised machines.

Its great for running multiple file servers on the same physical box, useless for anything multimedia.
nathannn wrote:i will block everyone on this forum if i have to.

bosonHavoc
Posts: 1936
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 8:34 am
Location: Austin, Texas
Contact:

Re: Ableton Live in virtual machine?

Post by bosonHavoc » Fri May 29, 2009 1:26 am

but it be cool to run everything else in a virtual machine right?
i was planning to get vmware when i get a new proc and do a reinstall.

adventurepants_
Posts: 1773
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 3:05 am

Re: Ableton Live in virtual machine?

Post by adventurepants_ » Fri May 29, 2009 1:38 am

bosonHavoc wrote:but it be cool to run everything else in a virtual machine right?
i was planning to get vmware when i get a new proc and do a reinstall.
sure, vmware is great for some stuff. eg if youre worried about security you can run a stripped down Windows (or linux, whatever) virtual machine and do all of your 'more interesting' web browsing from within there.
nathannn wrote:i will block everyone on this forum if i have to.

Quinnx
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2013 1:09 am

Re: Ableton Live in virtual machine?

Post by Quinnx » Wed Jun 18, 2014 3:00 am

This maybe along time coming

But I have just managed to install push and ableton 9.4 in a vwware machine running with omnisphere
and it works Great! :lol:
in fact to some degree it works better..

just for the record

kimyo
Posts: 79
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2004 7:57 pm
Location: new rochelle, ny usa
Contact:

Re: Ableton Live in virtual machine?

Post by kimyo » Thu Jan 29, 2015 12:00 am

Quinnx wrote:But I have just managed to install push and ableton 9.4 in a vwware machine running with omnisphereand it works Great! :lol: in fact to some degree it works better..just for the record
this is great news. are you running audio thru a usb interface? that's the part which is holding me back, both vmware and the oracle vm give me scratchy audio. (well, no audio aside from scratchiness)

outsidesys
Posts: 400
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 2:26 am

Re: Ableton Live in virtual machine?

Post by outsidesys » Thu Jan 29, 2015 1:16 am

For the record, I would like to see more specifics. Hardware specs, ESXi or Workstation version, VM settings (if other than the defaults), additional drivers (if any), and guest OS including version or service pack level.

mrdelurk
Posts: 457
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 8:45 am
Location: Pahoa
Contact:

Re: Ableton Live in virtual machine?

Post by mrdelurk » Thu Jan 29, 2015 11:45 pm

Ableton Live 8 works fine in Virtual Machines: http://www.southseascave.com/?p=41
Maybe Live 9 has some new kink, I don't know

Quinnx
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2013 1:09 am

Re: Ableton Live in virtual machine?

Post by Quinnx » Thu Mar 05, 2015 2:26 am

Im using usb Audio.. thru and Roland VsynthXT with little or no latency issues.
Running on a windows 7 host.

hacktheplanet
Posts: 2846
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 6:37 am
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Re: Ableton Live in virtual machine?

Post by hacktheplanet » Sat Mar 07, 2015 7:00 pm

IDM wrote:In ableton in winxp in virtualbox, ableton shows about 5% cpu usage consistently, but the clipping seems to...
Why are you running XP. Let it die already. Please for the love of god LET IT DIE.
Image

Angstrom
Posts: 14671
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Ableton Live in virtual machine?

Post by Angstrom » Sat Mar 07, 2015 7:33 pm

hacktheplanet wrote:
IDM wrote:In ableton in winxp in virtualbox, ableton shows about 5% cpu usage consistently, but the clipping seems to...
Why are you running XP. Let it die already. Please for the love of god LET IT DIE.
Posted: Thu May 28, 2009 11:55 pm

hacktheplanet
Posts: 2846
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 6:37 am
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Re: Ableton Live in virtual machine?

Post by hacktheplanet » Sat Mar 07, 2015 11:05 pm

Posted: Thu May 28, 2009 11:55 pm
Aargh necro'd again :x
I don't know what to believe any more
Image

mrdelurk
Posts: 457
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 8:45 am
Location: Pahoa
Contact:

Re: Ableton Live in virtual machine?

Post by mrdelurk » Mon Mar 16, 2015 8:38 pm

hacktheplanet wrote:Why are you running XP. Let it die already. Please for the love of god LET IT DIE.
March 2015: PC sales weak as many businesses stick with Windows XP :lol:

Post Reply