APC 40 transport controls HELP!

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
pavelius
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 6:17 am

APC 40 transport controls HELP!

Post by pavelius » Thu Jun 04, 2009 2:08 pm

HOLA, is there anyway to reset to default the APC40? the transport (play,record,stop) buttons doesnt work, they did when i first installed everything but now they are not working, i tried to remep them but it seems they dont even send midi data, i think they stop working when i opened Live 8, first time i open with Live 7 and it worked. now i tried Live 7.0.13, 7.0.16 and 8.0.3 with none of them work, HELP!!

33tetragammon
Posts: 903
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 8:34 pm
Location: The Universe
Contact:

Re: APC 40 transport controls HELP!

Post by 33tetragammon » Thu Jun 04, 2009 2:43 pm

pavelius wrote:HOLA, is there anyway to reset to default the APC40? the transport (play,record,stop) buttons doesnt work, they did when i first installed everything but now they are not working, i tried to remep them but it seems they dont even send midi data, i think they stop working when i opened Live 8, first time i open with Live 7 and it worked. now i tried Live 7.0.13, 7.0.16 and 8.0.3 with none of them work, HELP!!
i believe you can do this by going into Live's preferences midi tap,then de-select the apc-40 and disable its i/o,and then select it again and enable its i/o.this resets everything tom default.
i read that somewhere.hope that solves your problem.

my problem is i'm still waiting for mine....bummer!

Nick Shepherd
Posts: 314
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 10:06 am
Location: Berlin

Re: APC 40 transport controls HELP!

Post by Nick Shepherd » Thu Jun 04, 2009 2:57 pm

afaik transport controlls on midi controllers send MMC data - not midi... should be the same on the APC !?

<edit> i was wrong there, sorry - the transport section is capable of MMC & MIDI

other than that i would try 33tetragammon´s recommandation, seems to be the only logical way for a "soft reset"

pavelius
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 6:17 am

Re: APC 40 transport controls HELP!

Post by pavelius » Thu Jun 04, 2009 3:11 pm

Nick Shepherd wrote:afaik transport controlls on midi controllers send MMC data - not midi... should be the same on the APC !?

<edit> i was wrong there, sorry - the transport section is capable of MMC & MIDI

other than that i would try 33tetragammon´s recommandation, seems to be the only logical way for a "soft reset"

Thanks guys, but ive tried that already, the problem start when i used Live 8.0.3 but now it wont work with live 7.0.16 or with other version, i reboot, disconected everything, tried with three different versions of live.
the only time that worked for some time was the first time i used it with Live 7.0.16 and when i changed the usb port but it only worked for a couple of hours. I dont know maybe a bug or apc malfunction

33tetragammon
Posts: 903
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 8:34 pm
Location: The Universe
Contact:

Re: APC 40 transport controls HELP!

Post by 33tetragammon » Thu Jun 04, 2009 5:51 pm

pavelius wrote:
Nick Shepherd wrote:afaik transport controlls on midi controllers send MMC data - not midi... should be the same on the APC !?

<edit> i was wrong there, sorry - the transport section is capable of MMC & MIDI

other than that i would try 33tetragammon´s recommandation, seems to be the only logical way for a "soft reset"

Thanks guys, but ive tried that already, the problem start when i used Live 8.0.3 but now it wont work with live 7.0.16 or with other version, i reboot, disconected everything, tried with three different versions of live.
the only time that worked for some time was the first time i used it with Live 7.0.16 and when i changed the usb port but it only worked for a couple of hours. I dont know maybe a bug or apc malfunction
ok,so if it stopped working when you tried it with live 8,try this:dump live 8 off your harddrive,then try it again with live 7.016(latest update).if it works then,i would guess it's a live 8 bug.if not,it might be an apc bug

Tone Deft
Posts: 23565
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:19 pm
Location: SF, CA

Re: APC 40 transport controls HELP!

Post by Tone Deft » Thu Jun 04, 2009 5:53 pm

turn your stuff off.
turn your computer on.
let it boot up and load the default apps.
turn on the APC.
wait for the computer to see it, mine beeps when it enumerates a device.
turn on your other gear.
launch Live.
set up the midi preferences.

my APC is USB AUDIO DEVICE
my BCR is USB AUDIO DEVICE [2]
my SL25 is on Port 2 for control surfaces and Port 1 for the midi stuff (IIRC on the midi half.)
oddstep wrote:I agree with all of this. I'm just bored of writing "its music, just listen and trust your judgement"

djsynchro
Posts: 7471
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 9:06 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: APC 40 transport controls HELP!

Post by djsynchro » Thu Jun 04, 2009 6:06 pm

deleting the preferences file might do the trick

pavelius
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 6:17 am

Re: APC 40 transport controls HELP!

Post by pavelius » Thu Jun 04, 2009 10:35 pm

djsynchro wrote:deleting the preferences file might do the trick
Deleating the preferences was the trick, everything is working now...
Thank you guys..

celloincage
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2013 1:15 pm

Re: APC 40 transport controls HELP!

Post by celloincage » Thu Apr 10, 2014 12:12 pm

hi,
how did you delete the preferences ?

Jimbabwae
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 10:29 pm

Re: APC 40 transport controls HELP!

Post by Jimbabwae » Fri Apr 11, 2014 5:42 am

Hi Celloincage,

This should help: https://www.ableton.com/en/articles/corrupt-prefs/

Cheers

Jimmy

celloincage
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2013 1:15 pm

Re: APC 40 transport controls HELP!

Post by celloincage » Fri Apr 11, 2014 11:42 am

thank you for your answer
what I missed to read was this page
https://www.ableton.com/en/articles/acc ... n-folders/

because my preferences were there !

Post Reply