problem unmounting external hdd because of an ableton file

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
mihai
Posts: 729
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 4:46 pm
Location: Los Angeles, California

problem unmounting external hdd because of an ableton file

Post by mihai » Fri Jun 26, 2009 12:59 am

so i saved a new project and now i am not able to unmount my external because the file AbletonTmp-0000 is in use even though i quit out of live. i am also not able to delete that file because "it is in use".

clues?

Robert Henke
Posts: 1193
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:38 am
Location: Berlin

Re: problem unmounting external hdd because of an ableton file

Post by Robert Henke » Fri Jun 26, 2009 10:55 am

Is an audio track armed ? (the armed track keeps the tmp-0000 file open for recording into it, it will be renamed at the end of the recording process or deleted when disarming)

Cheers, Robert

dom
Posts: 936
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 9:24 am
Location: Ableton Headquarters
Contact:

Re: problem unmounting external hdd because of an ableton file

Post by dom » Fri Jun 26, 2009 11:08 am

Robert Henke wrote:Is an audio track armed ? (the armed track keeps the tmp-0000 file open for recording into it, it will be renamed at the end of the recording process or deleted when disarming)

Cheers, Robert
"...even though i quit out of live."

;-)

mihai: try logging out and logging in again, or just restart the machine.

cheers,
dom
ableton support team
support@ableton.com

mihai
Posts: 729
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 4:46 pm
Location: Los Angeles, California

Re: problem unmounting external hdd because of an ableton file

Post by mihai » Fri Jun 26, 2009 5:13 pm

i figured out what the problem is. i had live crash the other day while i had a channel with eastwest symphonic orchestra vst running and so after that any project that is running that plugin will hang the hdd after i shut down live. the issue is that eastwest's process "ousiad" won't quit even though the plugin isn't in use anymore and so i have to close it manually for everything to return back to normal. i've e-mailed support to see what they say but feel free to pitch in any helpful suggestions.

Post Reply