Poll: 2nd APC40 or MPD32

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply

Should I buy a secon APC40 or a MPD32 instead

Poll ended at Wed Jul 01, 2009 9:35 am

Yes, in every case.
7
47%
No, take the MPD32 and save the money for DS-10 Plus.
8
53%
 
Total votes: 15

Allan A.Live
Posts: 116
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 2:23 pm
Location: Austria
Contact:

Poll: 2nd APC40 or MPD32

Post by Allan A.Live » Mon Jun 29, 2009 9:35 am

Holiday money arrived today, an one quater is reserved every year for gearlust. Should I buy an second APC40 or just a MPD32, in the rality I would use the 2nd APC only for launching Clips at playing live, for this job also a MPD32 is enough, less price.... The other thing is that I can really need a 2nd APC in the Studio for perfect Workflow. Hard decission... with the saved money I can buy a NDSi with new DS-10 plus in September.

Thank you mates... :D

Allan A.Live
Posts: 116
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 2:23 pm
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Poll: 2nd APC40 or MPD32

Post by Allan A.Live » Mon Jun 29, 2009 2:35 pm

Push :evil:

lord toranaga
Posts: 252
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2004 12:46 am
Location: New Orleans

Re: Poll: 2nd APC40 or MPD32

Post by lord toranaga » Mon Jun 29, 2009 2:38 pm

your signature already states that you have 2 apc40, what gives?
Peace & Love, Lord Toranaga

Hermanus
Posts: 1648
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 7:47 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Poll: 2nd APC40 or MPD32

Post by Hermanus » Mon Jun 29, 2009 4:34 pm

I got a mpd32... Not an APC40 [yet?]

If :roll: I plan to buy an apc, I'll keep this wonderful pad.
I Use it for example, to launch the 16 patterns in DblueGlitch with one bank for the pads. Really efficient and fun with freq+ reso mapped on knobs!

With an apc added, I would clearly reserve the mpd32 for FX sends' midi fun :wink:

Here my two cents...

So I'll go for mpd32.

[still don't know if I buy a mackie mixing table 802vlz3, or this APC40??? any advice?]

Allan A.Live
Posts: 116
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 2:23 pm
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Poll: 2nd APC40 or MPD32

Post by Allan A.Live » Mon Jun 29, 2009 5:19 pm

lord toranaga wrote:your signature already states that you have 2 apc40, what gives?
I'll come the time before :lol:

nuxnamon
Posts: 1770
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 10:59 pm
Location: 650 area

Re: Poll: 2nd APC40 or MPD32

Post by nuxnamon » Mon Jun 29, 2009 7:52 pm

if it's for studio use, why not get a MCU.. mine plays so well with the apc and it's like they have that secret handshake down pretty well..

djsynchro
Posts: 7471
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 9:06 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Poll: 2nd APC40 or MPD32

Post by djsynchro » Mon Jun 29, 2009 7:56 pm

I recommend the XYZ-123 MKII version 3.1 firmware

Allan A.Live
Posts: 116
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 2:23 pm
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Poll: 2nd APC40 or MPD32

Post by Allan A.Live » Mon Jun 29, 2009 8:10 pm

Mcu=mind control unit? Sorry, my first was so expensive that there is no money left for a second one.... ;-)

glitchrock-buddha
Posts: 4357
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2005 1:29 am
Location: The Ableton Live Forum

Re: Poll: 2nd APC40 or MPD32

Post by glitchrock-buddha » Mon Jun 29, 2009 8:17 pm

I'd have one of each. Each has what the other is missing.
Professional Shark Jumper.

Allan A.Live
Posts: 116
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 2:23 pm
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Poll: 2nd APC40 or MPD32

Post by Allan A.Live » Tue Jun 30, 2009 5:36 am

OK, thought about it over night, you may have right, with more economic use, one APC is enough for playin' live, so I ordered the MPD,... and with saved money something for my pussies ;-) and there is still something left for the new DS-10,...

Image

Thanks again :P

djthopa
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 11:37 am
Contact:

Re: Poll: 2nd APC40 or MPD32

Post by djthopa » Tue Jun 30, 2009 8:23 am

Hi,

Got two apc, they work great together...only! When you select a track, say track 1, both Apc 40 knob area control that same channel ,saying this, you cant edit say track 1 on apc 1 and track 8 on Apc 2.

Its great when you got more than 8 track, just setup the different grid areas for the two Apcs.

Hope this helps

Ball Sack
Posts: 428
Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2006 1:27 pm
Location: Scrotum

Re: Poll: 2nd APC40 or MPD32

Post by Ball Sack » Tue Jun 30, 2009 9:58 am

Is there a cable you can get for the dsi to turn it into a midi controller?
have you seen what you can do with that thing... looks pretty impressive.

Allan A.Live
Posts: 116
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 2:23 pm
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Poll: 2nd APC40 or MPD32

Post by Allan A.Live » Tue Jun 30, 2009 10:17 am

No idea, maybe there exists a homebrew midi app. I only need it for building sounds on-the-go, I record them at home in Live, but if the new one will have export-funktion for wav.-files (as beatmaker o noise I/O) this would be the best thing... maybe,... the DSi has a WIFI Port....

Hermanus
Posts: 1648
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 7:47 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Poll: 2nd APC40 or MPD32

Post by Hermanus » Tue Jun 30, 2009 3:15 pm

wifi is for midi on DS...

I never succeeded to configure the wifi on the DS. but I don't have a wifi router so... :lol:

http://dsmidiwifi.tobw.net/ :mrgreen:

Post Reply