recommend me CD decks? (probly 4use with a DVS)

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
bendybones

recommend me CD decks? (probly 4use with a DVS)

Post by bendybones » Thu Jul 02, 2009 11:40 pm

I basically want the convenience of turning up to a DJ set with nothing but some CDs - no cabling, no rearranging gear to make room.
(In saying that, i will probly go Serato ASAP... but still... less hsssle)

I have no previous experience with decks.
I see alot of clubs have the Pioneer 1000mk3's
If I get the (way cheaper) 100s to practice on and turn up to a club with a set of 1000s installed will I know what I'm doing?
I mean, how similar are they?

For that matter, how about using a Vestax VCI 100 to control Serato for practicing...
Would that be enough to know where I'm at with a pair of 1000s or 100s when I turn up to a club?

Thanks much,
B
Last edited by bendybones on Fri Jul 03, 2009 2:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
MBP 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, OS X 10.5.8, Live 8 Suite, Logic Studio 9, Ultralite Mk3

bendybones

Re: recommend me CD decks? (probly 4use with a DVS)

Post by bendybones » Fri Jul 03, 2009 2:02 pm

Bump.

Hidden Driveways

Post by Hidden Driveways » Fri Jul 03, 2009 2:39 pm

I think for basic mixing you will be fine using cheaper decks for practice, then using the 1000's at a club.

But, if you want to get more complex and do creative tweaks, you probably won't have enough confidence.

But... the latest version of Serato is loaded with fun tweaky stuff, so you can get creative in the software. I would say go for some cheap basic CDJ with good pitch control.

Hidden Driveways

Post by Hidden Driveways » Fri Jul 03, 2009 2:50 pm

The CDJ-200 would be fine:
http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/PUSA/ ... rs/CDJ-200

If you can go up to a CDJ-400, it's an offical Scratch Live controller:
http://www.pioneerprodj.com/dj-equipment/cd/cdj-400.asp

But the "offical" thing is no big deal. A lot of people use the Korg Nano stuff to control SSL.

Minimal Justice System