Meters in Ableton: Useless?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Kilroy
Posts: 99
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 3:34 am

Meters in Ableton: Useless?

Post by Kilroy » Thu Jul 09, 2009 1:56 pm

Does anyone know how to display DBs next to Ableton's audio meters in session view? There's not much point to them without the DBs for me.

Willyum
Posts: 1194
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 6:17 am
Location: Jamaica, Queens

Re: Meters in Ableton: Useless?

Post by Willyum » Thu Jul 09, 2009 2:01 pm

Just drag the side of the track to the side.... hold alt to open all at once.

UKRuss
Posts: 5044
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2008 9:32 am

Re: Meters in Ableton: Useless?

Post by UKRuss » Thu Jul 09, 2009 2:02 pm

Drag the track wider...

heavensdaw
Posts: 1825
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 12:01 pm
Location: inbetween the inbetween

Re: Meters in Ableton: Useless?

Post by heavensdaw » Thu Jul 09, 2009 2:06 pm

The Meters are fine, however the operators can be useless...

Hd

Tarekith
Posts: 17364
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: Meters in Ableton: Useless?

Post by Tarekith » Thu Jul 09, 2009 2:08 pm

Operator is a great synth, what are you talking about?
:lol:

Angstrom
Posts: 14668
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Meters in Ableton: Useless?

Post by Angstrom » Thu Jul 09, 2009 2:09 pm

UKRuss wrote:Drag the track wider...
and taller

Image

Kilroy
Posts: 99
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 3:34 am

Re: Meters in Ableton: Useless?

Post by Kilroy » Thu Jul 09, 2009 3:00 pm

Sorry, I meant to say arrangement view. I don't use session view too much. The only area I can drag to make wider is the track drop area with the title bar.

Edited to say that I certainly am useless at most things, heavensdaw!

Angstrom
Posts: 14668
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Meters in Ableton: Useless?

Post by Angstrom » Thu Jul 09, 2009 3:22 pm

yeah, the arrangement view mixer is useless.
it's why we need dual screen facility, so we can have session on one screen and the arrangement on the other

heavensdaw
Posts: 1825
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 12:01 pm
Location: inbetween the inbetween

Re: Meters in Ableton: Useless?

Post by heavensdaw » Thu Jul 09, 2009 3:32 pm

:D Hey I wasn't actually referring to you!.. (just having a bit of fun)

You have to switch over to session view.. make your adjustment there and then return to the arrange page... pita... i know but as of now it's the only option..

Fwiw.. I put a utility plug on every channel and adjust/automate levels with that... this leaves your track faders free to adjust overall volume levels..

Hope this helps some..

best

Hd

Kilroy
Posts: 99
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 3:34 am

Re: Meters in Ableton: Useless?

Post by Kilroy » Thu Jul 09, 2009 3:36 pm

Hd,

Thanks for the words. The utility plug is such a good idea for automating volume. Which one do you use?

K

heavensdaw
Posts: 1825
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 12:01 pm
Location: inbetween the inbetween

Re: Meters in Ableton: Useless?

Post by heavensdaw » Thu Jul 09, 2009 3:43 pm

Lives very own. 8)

Hd

Kilroy
Posts: 99
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 3:34 am

Re: Meters in Ableton: Useless?

Post by Kilroy » Thu Jul 09, 2009 3:59 pm

Can anybody tell me what Hd is talking about? I am not sure what plug to use under Utility. Maybe I have a different version of Live (7014) than he does.

Rinsemeister
Posts: 839
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:08 am
Location: Up in the Mountains NW of Alicante, Spain

Re: Meters in Ableton: Useless?

Post by Rinsemeister » Thu Jul 09, 2009 4:11 pm

Don't expand the Utility plug drop-down.

Just select (double click) utility and you will have a default zeroed preset to work with.

Hope that helps.

Z.
Yeah but, No but......

http://soundcloud.com/mr-zed


ZED'S DEAD BABY.

Image

re.mark
Posts: 1248
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 11:25 pm
Location: UK

Re: Meters in Ableton: Useless?

Post by re.mark » Thu Jul 09, 2009 7:22 pm

Using Utility may cause a problem for you in some instances seeing as it only goes down as far as -35db.
A Workaround is described here: http://forum.ableton.com/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=119156 ;)

Rinsemeister
Posts: 839
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:08 am
Location: Up in the Mountains NW of Alicante, Spain

Re: Meters in Ableton: Useless?

Post by Rinsemeister » Thu Jul 09, 2009 9:44 pm

^^^

+2

Z.
Yeah but, No but......

http://soundcloud.com/mr-zed


ZED'S DEAD BABY.

Image

Post Reply