8.4 and reaktor 5.12 crashes

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Swordfish
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 2:12 am

Re: 8.4 and reaktor 5.12 crashes

Post by Swordfish » Sun Jul 26, 2009 8:54 am

Hey!
Nice work...this solved the problem!

(and yes, I own reaktor but 5.14 works fine...I don't want to update)

:)
You're quicker than ableton support.

ewistrand
Posts: 1537
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2002 5:33 am
Location: Eagan, Minnesota

Re: 8.4 and reaktor 5.12 crashes

Post by ewistrand » Sun Jul 26, 2009 6:03 pm

From 5.1.4 to 5.1.5 I can understand- the only changes in 5.1.5 were Kore compatibility fixes.
From 5.1.2 to 5.1.4 on the other hand- there's a lot of things that were fixed. Frankly, the only reason I can see why someone wouldn't update to 5.1.4 is because they'd have to reactivate using the Service Center, which brings up the question why...

ew

SubFunk
Posts: 7853
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 3:41 pm
Location: A Big Toilet Called Berlin
Contact:

Re: 8.4 and reaktor 5.12 crashes

Post by SubFunk » Sun Jul 26, 2009 6:07 pm

^^^ a crack. :roll:
*** Image GAFM ***

Swordfish
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 2:12 am

Re: 8.4 and reaktor 5.12 crashes

Post by Swordfish » Mon Jul 27, 2009 1:17 am

I have to say Im jealous of my friends who use the cracked NI software - it doesn't have that stupid service centre trying to update every time I open the plugins. That thing is never ever up to date...a real pain.

NorvernMonkey
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 4:14 pm
Location: Yorkshire UK

Re: 8.4 and reaktor 5.12 crashes

Post by NorvernMonkey » Tue Aug 04, 2009 1:59 pm

SubFunk wrote:
NorvernMonkey wrote:
SubFunk wrote: i trashed the reaktor preference file, since then 'knocking on wood' it's been flawless.

can you explain in a little more detail?
many thanks
sorry if i sound stupid!
on a MAC go to user~library~preferences~ and trash the reaktor 'com.native-instruments.Reaktor5.plist' file and any other related one (only in the preferences folder) this is what i did, started once reaktor standalone afterwards rebuilt my preferences and that's it.
i cant find this..im using a pc though, should i be looking inside the reaktor folder?
i did a search for this file and cant find it anywhere

silveriofunk
Posts: 396
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 12:34 am
Location: London

Re: 8.4 and reaktor 5.12 crashes

Post by silveriofunk » Tue Aug 04, 2009 2:16 pm

latest version of both and although it does crash sometimes what really annoys me is that as soon as i have a few reaktor instruments open in live things start getting very ssslooooww and the CPU goes all over the place

with 7 i never saw my mac go above 60%, now this is normal for me...

NorvernMonkey
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 4:14 pm
Location: Yorkshire UK

Re: 8.4 and reaktor 5.12 crashes

Post by NorvernMonkey » Tue Aug 04, 2009 2:25 pm

live 8.4 won't even see my reaktor (updated now to 5.1.5) in the vst folder now.always worked fine with 7
basically means i've had to go back to 7

ewistrand
Posts: 1537
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2002 5:33 am
Location: Eagan, Minnesota

Re: 8.4 and reaktor 5.12 crashes

Post by ewistrand » Tue Aug 04, 2009 2:55 pm

Reset your plugin folder or trash your preferences.cfg.

ew

NorvernMonkey
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 4:14 pm
Location: Yorkshire UK

Re: 8.4 and reaktor 5.12 crashes

Post by NorvernMonkey » Tue Aug 04, 2009 3:01 pm

ewistrand wrote:Reset your plugin folder or trash your preferences.cfg.

ew
i cant find this file, sorry if i'm being stupid! where should i look? inside the native instuments folder on c drive? or in reaktor standalone or something? im on a pc

NorvernMonkey
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 4:14 pm
Location: Yorkshire UK

Re: 8.4 and reaktor 5.12 crashes

Post by NorvernMonkey » Tue Aug 04, 2009 3:33 pm

EDIT

bingo!
is this safe though?

JL
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 11:55 pm
Location: Yucatan

Re: 8.4 and reaktor 5.12 crashes

Post by JL » Wed Feb 10, 2010 3:22 am

NorvernMonkey wrote:
ewistrand wrote:Reset your plugin folder or trash your preferences.cfg.

ew
i cant find this file, sorry if i'm being stupid! where should i look? inside the native instuments folder on c drive? or in reaktor standalone or something? im on a pc

Hi, I know this is an old topic but Im having the same problem, where did you find the file preferences.cfg ? Im also using a PC

Thanks

elxicano
Posts: 1464
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 9:57 am
Location: NYC

Re: 8.4 and reaktor 5.12 crashes

Post by elxicano » Wed Feb 10, 2010 4:44 am

JL wrote:
NorvernMonkey wrote:
ewistrand wrote:Reset your plugin folder or trash your preferences.cfg.

ew
i cant find this file, sorry if i'm being stupid! where should i look? inside the native instuments folder on c drive? or in reaktor standalone or something? im on a pc

Hi, I know this is an old topic but Im having the same problem, where did you find the file preferences.cfg ? Im also using a PC

Thanks
C:\Documents and Settings\"your name"\Application Data\Ableton\Live 8.1.1\Preferences

Just change the "your name" part as well as your version number.

The folder "Application Data" is usually a hidden folder, so make sure you have it enabled to view hidden folders.

JL
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 11:55 pm
Location: Yucatan

Re: 8.4 and reaktor 5.12 crashes

Post by JL » Wed Feb 10, 2010 5:52 am

Thanks a lot!

NorvernMonkey
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 4:14 pm
Location: Yorkshire UK

Re: 8.4 and reaktor 5.12 crashes

Post by NorvernMonkey » Wed Feb 10, 2010 9:26 am

hi, i forgot where it was located, but i remember i just deleted the file. i didnt change anything. seems to have been working fine since.
i've also done a clean install of the latest reaktor and all seems to work
silly we must do these things..but hey! such is life :lol:

ewistrand
Posts: 1537
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2002 5:33 am
Location: Eagan, Minnesota

Re: 8.4 and reaktor 5.12 crashes

Post by ewistrand » Thu Feb 11, 2010 5:13 pm

abiah wrote:
SubFunk wrote:i trashed the reaktor preference file, since then 'knocking on wood' it's been flawless.
on my system, i need to do this every other week
There's no reason you would need to do this with a legal version. If you're legit, contact support.

ew

Post Reply