drum rack controller for APC 40- work arounds?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
greenscreens
Posts: 139
Joined: Fri May 11, 2007 3:23 pm

drum rack controller for APC 40- work arounds?

Post by greenscreens » Mon Jul 20, 2009 4:41 pm

am i missing something? i feel like this should have been a functionality included with the APC 40. its one thing that makes this controller feel really limited. are there any workarounds to make this happen? has anyone figured it out?

McQ714
Posts: 1851
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 10:12 pm
Location: Orange County, CA

Re: drum rack controller for APC 40- work arounds?

Post by McQ714 » Mon Jul 20, 2009 4:50 pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D4YIGfhbCtw

check out that video. nativeKontrol.com is working on some additional features for the APC40 using Bome's. it's in beta testing at the moment but it already works great. there have already been some changes since the video was made and he's working on a couple more functions for the release version as well.

greenscreens
Posts: 139
Joined: Fri May 11, 2007 3:23 pm

Re: drum rack controller for APC 40- work arounds?

Post by greenscreens » Mon Jul 20, 2009 4:52 pm

is it mac only?

McQ714
Posts: 1851
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 10:12 pm
Location: Orange County, CA

Re: drum rack controller for APC 40- work arounds?

Post by McQ714 » Mon Jul 20, 2009 5:29 pm

nope... just the opposite.. it's PC only!

djwack
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 4:19 pm

Re: drum rack controller for APC 40- work arounds?

Post by djwack » Mon Jul 20, 2009 7:59 pm

w007! mac love plz

deepdirtydub
Posts: 173
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2004 10:14 pm
Location: Kitchener

Re: drum rack controller for APC 40- work arounds?

Post by deepdirtydub » Tue Jul 28, 2009 4:59 pm

Its available for Mac as well! I've been playing with the beta for the last 16 hours straight haha

Its actually not that bad playing drum racks on the APC40. My MPD32 could soon be on the chopping block.

Jekblad
Posts: 2351
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 2:02 am
Contact:

Re: drum rack controller for APC 40- work arounds?

Post by Jekblad » Wed Jul 29, 2009 4:55 am

are the rest of the products good for the mac now that bomes is on teh mac?
2.4 ghz Macbook Pro 8gb RAM, SSD, Live 9 Suite, Puremagnetik, Minimal Talent

outershpongolia
Posts: 2230
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 8:40 am

Re: drum rack controller for APC 40- work arounds?

Post by outershpongolia » Wed Jul 29, 2009 5:23 am

The pads aren't velocity sensitive so why would you want to use them for drum racks? I guess for things that you don't need the sensitivity..

boomtchik
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 3:43 pm

Re: drum rack controller for APC 40- work arounds?

Post by boomtchik » Wed Jul 29, 2009 8:43 am

outershpongolia wrote:The pads aren't velocity sensitive..
omg is this a joke ? Ableton ? do you realize ? Can we remove the "pro" from akai ?
thank you unableton
Stealth Bomber PC - Vista 64bit - FF400 - Moog Voyager Lunar - Little Phatty Tribute - Korg ESX1 - Live 8 uninstalled

4.33
Posts: 1198
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 12:49 pm
Location: Moscow

Re: drum rack controller for APC 40- work arounds?

Post by 4.33 » Wed Jul 29, 2009 8:47 am

boomtchik wrote:
outershpongolia wrote:The pads aren't velocity sensitive..
omg is this a joke ? Ableton ? do you realize ? Can we remove the "pro" from akai ?
thank you unableton
it's designed for a different task

boomtchik
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 3:43 pm

Re: drum rack controller for APC 40- work arounds?

Post by boomtchik » Wed Jul 29, 2009 8:51 am

my name is "All in One" from "Stable Guys" and I love multi tasks :)
but whith the apc40 no chance then....
Stealth Bomber PC - Vista 64bit - FF400 - Moog Voyager Lunar - Little Phatty Tribute - Korg ESX1 - Live 8 uninstalled

djwack
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 4:19 pm

Re: drum rack controller for APC 40- work arounds?

Post by djwack » Wed Jul 29, 2009 12:43 pm

a lot of stuff can be done without velocity.. IMO velocity is overrated nowadays (one can always use modwheel/pitchbend to emulate dynamic controls).. But I guess everyone here wants to use their APC for playing piano concertos..

boomtchik
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 3:43 pm

Re: drum rack controller for APC 40- work arounds?

Post by boomtchik » Wed Jul 29, 2009 1:49 pm

djwack do you play piano with pads ?
pads are good for rythms...
rythms are good with velocity... (you know what feeling is ?)
play rythms without velocity you look like a noob
i'm not a piano dj but more than that
Stealth Bomber PC - Vista 64bit - FF400 - Moog Voyager Lunar - Little Phatty Tribute - Korg ESX1 - Live 8 uninstalled

hurlingdervish
Posts: 1242
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2009 1:06 am
Location: The New England Colonies

Re: drum rack controller for APC 40- work arounds?

Post by hurlingdervish » Wed Jul 29, 2009 3:24 pm

i always use fixed velocity on my trigger finger

that way you can go back and make the hihats dynamics perfect

no big deal at all.


but the buttons click in dont they? that would get a tad annoying but i havent touch one so i dont know for sure

robotsound
Posts: 113
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2004 6:31 pm
Contact:

Re: drum rack controller for APC 40- work arounds?

Post by robotsound » Wed Jul 29, 2009 5:20 pm

i just make a drum rack with 2 sets of hits for each sound at a lo and hi velocity. then do some editing for rolls or builds and your done. nobody needs to play 16 drum sounds at once anyway and not all the sounds need

Post Reply