Alesis Micron patches, etc ...?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
lolalola
Posts: 380
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 7:05 pm

Alesis Micron patches, etc ...?

Post by lolalola » Wed Jul 22, 2009 3:01 pm

Just got my Micron, a big learning curve ahead of me!
Is there an easy way of getting sounds into it, rather than the preset ones? Like patches that can be downloaded? I don't know where to even look, the Alesis site is very limited in terms of support.

Oh yeah - also, can this kind of thing be done with a Micron - spazzing out inputted sound and whatnot, therehaveyou? :

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=adVu639p ... re=related

ghostly
Posts: 89
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 8:59 am
Location: Scotland

Re: Alesis Micron patches, etc ...?

Post by ghostly » Wed Jul 22, 2009 8:30 pm

lolalola wrote:Just got my Micron, a big learning curve ahead of me!
Is there an easy way of getting sounds into it, rather than the preset ones? Like patches that can be downloaded? I don't know where to even look, the Alesis site is very limited in terms of support.

Oh yeah - also, can this kind of thing be done with a Micron - spazzing out inputted sound and whatnot, therehaveyou? :

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=adVu639p ... re=related
Welcome to the micron man! I love my little grey and red beast and have downloaded a ton of presets from the yahoo group (http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/alesis-ion/). You'll need to join first and all in sysex format so you'll need a way of sending them from your computer via midi - I have a Mac and use sysex librarian. There are also software editors too, again for mac I use Micron AU but there are more programs, a ton of great info on the yahoo group site.

Good luck!

PS Oh and yeah, you can mess with audio on the micron too! I had the microkorg but the micron blows me away, bang for buck there is nothing else comparable in budget synthland.

Winterpark
Posts: 1671
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 2:59 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Alesis Micron patches, etc ...?

Post by Winterpark » Wed Jul 22, 2009 10:16 pm

check this out....

MicronAu
web | fb | sc | twt | bc

neomad
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 10:34 am

Re: Alesis Micron patches, etc ...?

Post by neomad » Wed Jul 22, 2009 10:54 pm

Hello: my micron is fully live...

Create an External Synth track
Then move micronAU (fx unit, not instrument) as Audio Effect

Open micronau edition
Set your midi ports

Then load your favorite preset into micron
Send sysex to selected midi port from micron

Then you can edit all the parameters in realtime with Micron AU, as a virtual synth !

Great ...

WompJunkieOO
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 2:44 am

Re: Alesis Micron patches, etc ...?

Post by WompJunkieOO » Mon Aug 08, 2011 10:19 am

So I bought this beast about six months ago and FINALLY am utilizing it to its full potential.
Until just recently I was just using the patches I created and stock ones to use within Ableton
but JUST NOW searched "micron patches," and sure enough the first link brought me to the forum!!! :mrgreen:

Cheers to you guys for immediately directing me where to go to get some dope sounds out of this monster!!!

ra78
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 12:47 pm
Location: Kiev, Ukraine
Contact:

Re: Alesis Micron patches, etc ...?

Post by ra78 » Mon Aug 15, 2011 2:35 pm

Gentlemen,
does anybody knows wher I may get a sysex librarin for Micron to be able to
load sysex from alesis-ion@yahoogroup?

I'm using MicronAU, and for editing the patches that come from Micron and vice versa,
it's just great but how I may upload the sysex files from the yahoogroup?

I've searched the group - but dint find a librarian there,
though I'm not that strong in sysex issues, may be I missed it somewhere?

Thanks in advance.

Andrey

P.S. Got issues with postings to the group,
that's why I'm asking it here.

modecai
Posts: 80
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 9:29 pm

Re: Alesis Micron patches, etc ...?

Post by modecai » Tue Feb 28, 2012 10:31 pm

h
ra78 wrote:Gentlemen,
does anybody knows wher I may get a sysex librarin for Micron to be able to
load sysex from alesis-ion@yahoogroup?

I'm using MicronAU, and for editing the patches that come from Micron and vice versa,
it's just great but how I may upload the sysex files from the yahoogroup?

I've searched the group - but dint find a librarian there,
though I'm not that strong in sysex issues, may be I missed it somewhere?

Thanks in advance.

Andrey

P.S. Got issues with postings to the group,
that's why I'm asking it here.
hey did you ever figure this out? I just requested to join the group and am hoping something will work out..

Silverfish
Posts: 753
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 8:53 pm
Location: Calgary, AB
Contact:

Re: Alesis Micron patches, etc ...?

Post by Silverfish » Tue Feb 28, 2012 10:49 pm

To send sysex patches to the Micron, you need something like Sysex Librarian (mac) or Elektron's C6 utility (mac/pc).

What I'd like to be able to do is RECEIVE sysex from the Micron into the MicronAU. that would be nice. Anyone?
Image

modecai
Posts: 80
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 9:29 pm

Re: Alesis Micron patches, etc ...?

Post by modecai » Tue Feb 28, 2012 11:26 pm

pretty sure i do that all the time. I just click "send sysex" on the micron and micron au picks it up...?

Silverfish
Posts: 753
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 8:53 pm
Location: Calgary, AB
Contact:

Re: Alesis Micron patches, etc ...?

Post by Silverfish » Wed Feb 29, 2012 2:28 am

oh. crap. :lol: thanks!
Image

Post Reply