All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 454 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Control selected track \w keyboard shortcuts
PostPosted: Thu Aug 28, 2014 7:56 pm 

Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 5:22 pm
Posts: 4
What would be an absolute KILLER would be a shift button...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Control selected track \w keyboard shortcuts
PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2014 8:04 am 

Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2013 6:00 am
Posts: 15
Hi,
Just stumbled upon this script after looking for some ways to program a Livid Instrument controller I just got. Is it possible to be able to select which MIDI channel is used to send data? I know it says in the documentation that MIDI data is expected to be on channel 0 or 1, but I was wondering if there was a way around that.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Control selected track \w keyboard shortcuts
PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2014 8:36 am 

Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2004 4:53 pm
Posts: 238
Yes, there is a file inside the Selected_Track_Control-folder called MIDI.py (NOT .pyc!). In there on line 8 it says:

Code:
DEFAULT_CHANNEL = 0


Change that to the channel number you want, starting with 0 – so the 16 MIDI-channels go from 0 to 15 (that is programmers counting vs. the "natural" 1-16).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Control selected track \w keyboard shortcuts
PostPosted: Sun Feb 01, 2015 2:02 am 

Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2006 9:22 pm
Posts: 323
Oooh, cool, I just figured out how to install it properly. You gotta copy the folder *inside* the folder that appears when a Mac user unzips the downloaded file.

_________________
===
http://tinyurl.com/4ub38s


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Control selected track \w keyboard shortcuts
PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2015 7:45 pm 

Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 4:38 pm
Posts: 3
Hi at all!
I doing the whole weekend nothing else as studying THIS script :)

Is it possible to send the current values (volume, sends, ect) back to the midi-controller when i change/scroll the track or scenes/clips?
would be cool also if its possible to send colors of the current clip to the controller/button


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Control selected track \w keyboard shortcuts
PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2015 9:03 am 

Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2004 4:53 pm
Posts: 238
Hi comod,
I am sorry, currently STC does not support MIDI-feedback – STC started out as a helper to get my Kimidi keyboard-shortcuts working and did not need Value-Takeover or MIDI-feedback or clip colors.

STC2 is still a lot of work, but it will be based on Live’s _Framework-Classes, which add Value-Takeover and MIDI-feedback. Regarding clip-colors, I am not sure, if the default _framework-classes support it – I assume it does not easily out of the box, as color-coding is somewhat special: do you just want the states (playing, recording, ready, …) to be color coded or do you need full RGB-support. Also, what hardware does the color coding do – distinct LEDs for e.g. red, green and orange or is it one RGB-LED …

Richard


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Control selected track \w keyboard shortcuts
PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2015 9:11 am 

Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 9:42 am
Posts: 4538
Location: Hoerikwaggo's sunset side...
STC2?

Exciting!

When will it be ready?

_________________
some words
some sounds
some works in progress


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Control selected track \w keyboard shortcuts
PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2015 6:34 pm 

Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2004 4:53 pm
Posts: 238
@re:dream: good question! I have some basic code fragments working, but it is still a lot of work – and I have the feeling spare time for such projects is getting less and less. There are some stressful weeks at work ahead, but hopefully after that I have more time to finish this thing! Fingers crossed!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Control selected track \w keyboard shortcuts
PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2015 9:54 pm 

Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 4:38 pm
Posts: 3
Hi wiffbi!

It would be nice to get the current CC Values to my device if i change the Track. Color is not really important if its so difficult.

In other Scripts, they dont work too, i see something like this:

Code:
   
_LED_OFF                    = 0x00
_LED_RED                    = 0x10
_LED_GREEN                  = 0x20
_LED_BLUE                   = 0x40
_LED_CYAN                   = 0x60
_LED_MAGENTA                = 0x50
_LED_YELLOW                 = 0x30
_LED_WHITE                  = 0x70


I would like to understand first, how to send a send_midi command out of the box:

For Example:
Chanel: 1
Controller-Index (CC-Index): 5
Value: 127

Code:
midi_bytes = (1,5,127) // dont know the order - i dont know anything :-)
self.c_instance.send_midi(midi_bytes)
self.c_instance.show_message("send_midi > " + str(midi_bytes))


its really difficult for beginners.. :roll:

thanks in advance


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Control selected track \w keyboard shortcuts
PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2015 9:05 am 

Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2004 4:53 pm
Posts: 238
From the top of my head, it should work like this: the tuple midi_bytes has 3 elements, all of them 1 byte. You need to encode 4 types of information in those 3 bytes. MIDI channel, what type of midi message (Note On, Note Off, CC, etc.) and note/cc number and value. Note/CC number is one byte (0-127) and value is also one byte (0-127), so you need to combine MIDI channel (0-15) und type of MIDI message into one byte (the first byte).

So you almost have it right, you need bitwise OR (that is the single pipe "|") the channel with the MIDI message type. In STC there are helper values in MIDI.py, that have CC_STATUS and NOTEON_STATUS and NOTEOFF_STATUS ready. They are:

CC_STATUS = 0xb0
NOTEON_STATUS = 0x90
NOTEOFF_STATUS = 0x80

You can either use them inside STC like so:

midi_bytes = (MIDI.CC_STATUS | 1, 5, 127)

Or use them directly (or in any other variable you like):

midi_bytes = (0xb0 | 1, 5, 127)
self.c_instance.send_midi(midi_bytes)

I hope that helps.

The next step would be to map Live’s API values to MIDI values – that is not necessarily easy, as not all values are evenly distribute between 0 and 1. You need to read the min and max values of a property and also if it is stepped and then AFAIK there is still some special properties such as volume which as far as I can remember do not work linearly.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Control selected track \w keyboard shortcuts
PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2015 12:35 pm 

Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 4:38 pm
Posts: 3
wiffbi wrote:
midi_bytes = (MIDI.CC_STATUS | 1, 5, 127)

Youre right! It works. I dont belive that the pipe was the key to get this done :roll:

On channel 0 i can Change the Dots (0-127) and with Channel 1 i can change the color of the led... Nice!
Image

Now i take a look to the send values and the volume...

Thank you


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Control selected track \w keyboard shortcuts
PostPosted: Sun May 17, 2015 3:33 am 

Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 8:29 pm
Posts: 111
Location: Manila, Philippines
Just wanted to share in case someone's looking for an alternative. I couldn't find anything like STC (solo exclusively selected track with a keyboard shortcut)

For those looking to use it on a Windows 7 platform (the extended keyboard shortcuts for Live specifically since KIMIDI is Mac-only as of this posting) , BUT can't afford Bome's Midi Translator Pro. The free classic edition will only convert MIDI notes/cc to keyboard shortcut commands, but it WILL NOT do the other way around (I really tried messing around with it to no avail) It will NOT translate keyboard commands to MIDI notes/CC. Which is what we need in order to use STC.

Have the specific keyboard shortcut send the specific MIDI message as indicated in the MIDI Implementation Chart of STC, then have STC control Live as intended.

You may look into MIDI OX and MIDI Keys by Mr. Yellow. Programming can be tricky, as I haven't found any tutorials. (If any of you know where it is kindly share it in this thread.) MIDI Keys will translate keyboard commands to MIDI messages (CC/ notes). Choose your preferred virtual MIDI router, I prefer loopMIDI by Tobias Erichsen. Route the output of MIDI OX messages through the virtual MIDI port - then route virtual MIDI port to STC in Live. It should work. :)

_________________
Bryan Dumaguina
https://soundcloud.com/bryan-dumaguina


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Control selected track \w keyboard shortcuts
PostPosted: Sat Sep 19, 2015 12:24 am 

Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 11:04 pm
Posts: 3
Hey guys,
I downloaded the file from the STC website but can't for the life of me understand how to get this working. Here's what Ive done, can someone please kindly point out anything im missing?
- Downloaded STC, unzipped and moved STC folder to MIDI Remote Scripts folder
- In Ableton preferences I select STC as the control surface with MaschineMK2 set as the input & output
- I open un Maschine Controller Editor software and select say the SOLO button. Following the sheet on the website I set the channel to 1 and the note to C#-2
- Now in Ableton I hit the SOLO button but it doesn't solo the track. I can see in the drum rack it is actually triggering the pad for note C#-2

Have a missed a step or something basic? I browsed through the posts on here but couldn't quite find a 'beginner' walkthrough of how to set this up.
Apologies for my ignorance but any help would be greatly appreciated!
Cheers


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Control selected track \w keyboard shortcuts
PostPosted: Sat Sep 19, 2015 5:13 am 

Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:02 am
Posts: 6299
Location: Menasha, Wisconsin
Sometimes the octave is wrong.

Usually in these cases I will first attempt anything I can possibly get to work first (like if there are consecutive midi cc#'s like 3 in a row for the script, I'll use the middle one and then see which it works with).

In the case of the octave, I'd try an octave Up, I think an octave down is probably not possible.

Make sure you're not using two scripts on the same midi channel at once or you'll have conflicts. Like if one does Notes modes and another uses note mappings, one might interfere. If a script allows you to use another midi channel, you may be able to circumvent that.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Control selected track \w keyboard shortcuts
PostPosted: Sat Sep 19, 2015 7:52 am 

Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 11:04 pm
Posts: 3
Thanks for the reply but no it's not that the octave is wrong. It's like Live is just reading the MIDI data as if it's for Maschine, not for STC controlled with the Maschine hardware. If I change it an octave higher, it triggers the pad an octave higher


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 454 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31  Next

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group