SHAME

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
RO-mix
Posts: 54
Joined: Sun May 31, 2009 9:30 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

SHAME

Post by RO-mix » Tue Aug 11, 2009 11:25 am

Again this version is very buggy... it is the shame, Ableton sold ALPHA version as a release and now do beta testing using customers.... and this is mission critical software so many people f**8d up on the stage.
This version crashes suddenly on some operations (irregularly!) for example as reloading preset on Drum rack....
Guys you made good software but it does not work as expected.

--
RO-mix
EXIT project

Rogue Scrunt
Posts: 1272
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 6:32 am
Location: Colorado Springs, USA

Re: SHAME

Post by Rogue Scrunt » Tue Aug 11, 2009 11:55 am

if your mission is so critical, then why did you upgrade.


common rule for stabe computer audio sysytems is " never upgrade a working stable system", until you have to.
for lots of great records, check out,
http://stores.ebay.com/id=64360994?ssPageName=ME:F:ST

sdmiddleton
Posts: 412
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 1:35 am
Location: Sutton

Re: SHAME

Post by sdmiddleton » Tue Aug 11, 2009 12:34 pm

Rogue Scrunt wrote:if your mission is so critical, then why did you upgrade.


common rule for stabe computer audio sysytems is " never upgrade a working stable system", until you have to.
I totally agree with you, but it's not just an upgrade in the sense that the GUI has had a slight revamp or the audio engine has been tweeked here and there, for many its the purchase of brand new products entirely, Looper etc etc and also the APC40 as a hardware option as well, and also for many buying huge amounts of new sample libraries and instruments, which for me was expensive just as an upgrade from 7 to Suite 8, imagine if you'd taken a fresh leap having never used Live before... Lots of money!!!

They will get there though, its a fantastic programme, but its hard not to feel short changed at times.

RO-mix
Posts: 54
Joined: Sun May 31, 2009 9:30 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: SHAME

Post by RO-mix » Tue Aug 11, 2009 1:05 pm

Rogue Scrunt wrote:if your mission is so critical, then why did you upgrade.


common rule for stabe computer audio sysytems is " never upgrade a working stable system", until you have to.
i just bought 8 and it was buggy. I upgraded in hope that unwanted behaviour will dessapear.AND new version was not compatible with previous so i could not roll back without loosing work.

Again i love Ableton..but.... i wish ableton team to get rid of "serios program error has occured"....

My mission is not so critical that is why i use beta and send bugreports. :oops:

boomtchik
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 3:43 pm

Re: SHAME

Post by boomtchik » Tue Aug 11, 2009 1:23 pm

Rogue Scrunt wrote:if your mission is so critical, then why did you upgrade.
common rule for stabe computer audio sysytems is " never upgrade a working stable system", until you have to.
coool, I didnt know you use Ableton Live 2 on a Win98 ^^ :lol:

To Ro-Mix I agree with its a really shame
of course we all upgrade for the new effects and plugins but what we got is a ton of extra bugs...
remember live 7 and sync problems... I know the bad feeling because we pay for bugs and betas...
Just to say I ended using hardware and only hardware... I uninstalled Live in my sound studio I just imports sounds in my hardware (have a monster collection of drummachines hits i found on the web for free)
I upgraded from live 3 to 4, 5, 6, 7 and now Live 8 - But today I will say keep your money for hardware :)
bye all
Stealth Bomber PC - Vista 64bit - FF400 - Moog Voyager Lunar - Little Phatty Tribute - Korg ESX1 - Live 8 uninstalled

Emissary
Posts: 2431
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 11:27 am

Re: SHAME

Post by Emissary » Tue Aug 11, 2009 2:44 pm

yeah, i use live as a compositional tool, no way i would actually play live with it, not at the moment anyway.

McQ714
Posts: 1851
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 10:12 pm
Location: Orange County, CA

Re: SHAME

Post by McQ714 » Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:01 pm

boomtchik wrote:
Rogue Scrunt wrote:if your mission is so critical, then why did you upgrade.
common rule for stabe computer audio sysytems is " never upgrade a working stable system", until you have to.
coool, I didnt know you use Ableton Live 2 on a Win98 ^^ :lol:

To Ro-Mix I agree with its a really shame
of course we all upgrade for the new effects and plugins but what we got is a ton of extra bugs...
remember live 7 and sync problems... I know the bad feeling because we pay for bugs and betas...
Just to say I ended using hardware and only hardware... I uninstalled Live in my sound studio I just imports sounds in my hardware (have a monster collection of drummachines hits i found on the web for free)
I upgraded from live 3 to 4, 5, 6, 7 and now Live 8 - But today I will say keep your money for hardware :)
bye all
you've had Live since version 3 and you've only posted here 32 times???

squelcht
Posts: 1897
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2009 4:38 am

Re: SHAME

Post by squelcht » Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:33 pm

+1
True.
That.

starving student
Posts: 7129
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 6:13 pm
Location: right here

Re: SHAME

Post by starving student » Tue Aug 11, 2009 5:49 pm

Emissary wrote:yeah, i use live as a compositional tool, no way i would actually play live with it, not at the moment anyway.
how's that workin out for ya

Post Reply