Snow Leopard Gold Master

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
SubFunk
Posts: 7853
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 3:41 pm
Location: A Big Toilet Called Berlin
Contact:

Re: Snow Leopard Gold Master

Post by SubFunk » Sat Aug 15, 2009 1:38 pm

timothyallan wrote:
twoandtwo wrote:so, does live 8.0.4 run on Snow Leopard?
Shooooore does :)

Image
he? did i missed something here... do i sleep...? is 10.6 out already?
*** Image GAFM ***

jeffplaysmoog
Posts: 195
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 3:18 am
Location: Gilbertsville, NY

Re: Snow Leopard Gold Master

Post by jeffplaysmoog » Sat Aug 15, 2009 1:45 pm

ha ha, shit!
Mac Book Pro 2.33ghz, 2gig Ram, OS 10.5, Ableton Live 8 Suite, APC40

timothyallan
Posts: 5788
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 11:05 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: Snow Leopard Gold Master

Post by timothyallan » Sat Aug 15, 2009 2:01 pm

So far everything hums along, except the Virus TI vst/au doesn't work, nor do any of the Stilwell plugins. Everything else is good so far :)

chevthewizard
Posts: 256
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 1:21 am
Location: Bristol, UK
Contact:

Re: Snow Leopard Gold Master

Post by chevthewizard » Sat Aug 15, 2009 2:21 pm

Snow Leopard Gold Master.....

sometimes people need to take a step back and realise how ridiculous these names sound
My Website | Myspace | Soundcloud
birdhouse19 wrote:i was playing a club last night and had to play some rap, and i know ableton live isnt very good with rap without a sound card.

xzusa8ky
Posts: 1064
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2004 6:48 pm
Location: Vienna

Re: Snow Leopard Gold Master

Post by xzusa8ky » Sat Aug 15, 2009 2:31 pm

.....is Snow faster than leopard running Live 8?
Bitwig/1.0.5 - Ableton/Live 8 - Apple/MacPro-2.8Ghz-8Core-RAID - Samsung/SM-P2770H 27" - Yamaha/HS80M/HS10W - Behringer/BCR/BCF - Allen & Heath/Xone:3D - Sennheiser/HD25-13 - Native Instruments/Komplete9/Traktor Pro

timothyallan
Posts: 5788
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 11:05 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: Snow Leopard Gold Master

Post by timothyallan » Sat Aug 15, 2009 2:35 pm

I am running a logic session right now that was using 93% cpu on leopard a few hours ago and it's now using 72%. So I'd assume that my Live stuff would see an increase as well. Logic 9 is still 32 bit still, so it's not a 64 bit thing...

The most noticeable difference is in the graphic response, the meters are lightning quick and moving plugin windows around etc is smooth as butter even at high CPU usage.

SubFunk
Posts: 7853
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 3:41 pm
Location: A Big Toilet Called Berlin
Contact:

Re: Snow Leopard Gold Master

Post by SubFunk » Sat Aug 15, 2009 2:38 pm

timothyallan wrote:I am running a logic session right now that was using 93% cpu on leopard a few hours ago and it's now using 72%. So I'd assume that my Live stuff would see an increase as well. Logic 9 is still 32 bit still, so it's not a 64 bit thing...

The most noticeable difference is in the graphic response, the meters are lightning quick and moving plugin windows around etc is smooth as butter even at high CPU usage.
i love to hear that! Yum.
*** Image GAFM ***

jeffplaysmoog
Posts: 195
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 3:18 am
Location: Gilbertsville, NY

Re: Snow Leopard Gold Master

Post by jeffplaysmoog » Sat Aug 15, 2009 3:25 pm

Tim, what system are you running on?
Mac Book Pro 2.33ghz, 2gig Ram, OS 10.5, Ableton Live 8 Suite, APC40

jeffplaysmoog
Posts: 195
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 3:18 am
Location: Gilbertsville, NY

Re: Snow Leopard Gold Master

Post by jeffplaysmoog » Sat Aug 15, 2009 3:26 pm

oops, I am an idiot... never mind!
Mac Book Pro 2.33ghz, 2gig Ram, OS 10.5, Ableton Live 8 Suite, APC40

dru
Posts: 639
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 3:04 pm
Location: Perth, Australia

Re: Snow Leopard Gold Master

Post by dru » Sun Aug 16, 2009 2:42 am

Is that 4GB RAM all readable tim? Or do you have the same MBP as myself (07 model 2.16GHz)?

Machinesworking
Posts: 11118
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 9:30 pm
Location: Seattle

Re: Snow Leopard Gold Master

Post by Machinesworking » Sun Aug 16, 2009 2:53 am

timothyallan wrote:I am running a logic session right now that was using 93% cpu on leopard a few hours ago and it's now using 72%. So I'd assume that my Live stuff would see an increase as well. Logic 9 is still 32 bit still, so it's not a 64 bit thing...

The most noticeable difference is in the graphic response, the meters are lightning quick and moving plugin windows around etc is smooth as butter even at high CPU usage.
Cool, that's kinda funny, there's a running joke at Unicornation (Digitial Performer BBS), about how any OS or DP update makes things 'snappier'! Are you running a 15 or 17" macbook pro? if 17" your configuration is the same as mine, 4GB RAM 2.4Ghz cpu etc.

timothyallan
Posts: 5788
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 11:05 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: Snow Leopard Gold Master

Post by timothyallan » Sun Aug 16, 2009 2:57 am

Yeah, it's always been readable though (AFAIK) as I have the Santa Rosa chipset. If yours doesn't currently read 4gb, I think it's probably hardware related so it won't make any difference. Although, you might want to do some googlizing on that just to be sure.

Yes, I'm on the 17" with the Geforce 8600m so it supports OpenCL :)

8O
Posts: 5502
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 9:29 am
Location: Berlin

Re: Snow Leopard Gold Master

Post by 8O » Fri Aug 21, 2009 8:56 am

Just a cross-post here: http://forum.ableton.com/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=122176 - early figures look good... 8)
Image

cids
Posts: 480
Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2004 5:53 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands

What's "64-bit" on Snow Leopard?

Post by cids » Fri Aug 21, 2009 1:39 pm

Very useful article to clear the confusion!


http://www.macworld.com/article/142379/ ... 4_bit.html
Mac Pro 2.66Ghz Quad-Core

Genelec 8020; Live 10; macOS Mojave 10.14

Novation ReMOTE 49SL Compact, Focusrite Saffire Pro 14

SubFunk
Posts: 7853
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 3:41 pm
Location: A Big Toilet Called Berlin
Contact:

Re: Snow Leopard Gold Master

Post by SubFunk » Fri Aug 21, 2009 2:29 pm

8O wrote:Just a cross-post here: http://forum.ableton.com/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=122176 - early figures look good... 8)
yum.
*** Image GAFM ***

Post Reply