will i be able to get away with live 8 and 2gb ram?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
latufe
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2006 9:03 pm

will i be able to get away with live 8 and 2gb ram?

Post by latufe » Wed Aug 19, 2009 9:46 am

hi everybody!

finally apple had agreed to give me a new computer (after having to fix my old macbook 7(!) times) so im going to get a mbp 13´ 2.26ghz with 2gb ram... obviously im gonna put some more ram as soon as ill have the money but it wont happen so fast so my question is:

so far iv´e been working with tiger (10.4.11) and 2gb ram and live 7, and had great performance... will i experience "poorer" performance with 10.5 + 2gb + live 8?


thanks!

SubFunk
Posts: 7853
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 3:41 pm
Location: A Big Toilet Called Berlin
Contact:

Re: will i be able to get away with live 8 and 2gb ram?

Post by SubFunk » Wed Aug 19, 2009 10:29 am

latufe wrote:hi everybody!

finally apple had agreed to give me a new computer (after having to fix my old macbook 7(!) times) so im going to get a mbp 13´ 2.26ghz with 2gb ram... obviously im gonna put some more ram as soon as ill have the money but it wont happen so fast so my question is:

so far iv´e been working with tiger (10.4.11) and 2gb ram and live 7, and had great performance... will i experience "poorer" performance with 10.5 + 2gb + live 8?


thanks!

you will be fine... go leopard (10.5) and stick as much ram into it as you can, as soon as your budget allows it.
*** Image GAFM ***

8O
Posts: 5502
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 9:29 am
Location: Berlin

Re: will i be able to get away with live 8 and 2gb ram?

Post by 8O » Wed Aug 19, 2009 10:46 am

I can't remember the figures exactly, but I think it was around a 2-3% increase in CPU usage moving from Live 7 to Live 8 on my configuration (2.2GHz MBP w/ 2GB RAM).
Image

Post Reply