Remote Script for Novation Nocturn and Live

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
11olsen
Posts: 151
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 9:12 pm
Location: germany

Re: New Remote Script for Novation Nocturn and Live 8

Post by 11olsen » Sun Jan 10, 2010 6:28 pm

guille wrote:
boboter wrote:Hey Guille,

I just wanted to tell you how insanely usefull and fun your script is. Everything works fast and flawless.

Is there a possibilty you will enhance the Mixer section for tracks 9-16 in the future?
You can switch track banks with buttons of Fx section.

I used bomes to translate the crossfader in mixer page to select track banks (modify the crossfader in automap until it only sends two or three values) just like i did it.

11olsen
Posts: 151
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 9:12 pm
Location: germany

Re: New Remote Script for Novation Nocturn and Live 8

Post by 11olsen » Sat Jan 16, 2010 1:23 am

can you tell me the difference between page 2 and 3 in the user section?
and what do you mean with "the last free button in the last user page to stop all clips" in your release notes?
can't find it.
page 2 and 3 are both triggering and stopping clips with the buttons,
one time it's called "trigger" and then "playing".
hmmm.
edit: got it, trigger is the actual scene and playing shows clips from different scenes.

guille, do you have some more fuctions hiding in your script that are actually not mapped in one of the automaps?

greets

mrsakitumi
Posts: 199
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 1:16 pm
Location: South Africa

Re: New Remote Script for Novation Nocturn and Live 8

Post by mrsakitumi » Thu Jan 21, 2010 8:52 am

Brilliant work mister! Had this all up and running in no time.
Your script for Nocturn, along with Launchpad is a killer combo for Live.

Just one request:
In the Inst mode, would it be possible to set-up buttons for "device on/off" and a"left"&"right"
for navigation between devices on the same track?

That would really be awesome.
If not, I'm still a happy nocturn user!
...and it's mr sakitumi (too late to change profile name)...damn
LIVE, DS lite, a tambourine, tape recorder.
http://www.soundcloud.com/mrsakitumi
http://www.facebook.com/mrsakitumi
http://www.youtube.com/mrsakitumi
http://www.twitter.com/mrsakitumi

11olsen
Posts: 151
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 9:12 pm
Location: germany

Re: New Remote Script for Novation Nocturn and Live 8

Post by 11olsen » Thu Jan 21, 2010 3:13 pm

use a midi translator to and map some buttons to keyboardkey <- und -> for device selection. it works with every keyboard key and shortcuts.

mrsakitumi
Posts: 199
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 1:16 pm
Location: South Africa

Re: New Remote Script for Novation Nocturn and Live 8

Post by mrsakitumi » Thu Jan 21, 2010 3:51 pm

thanks for the tip on the buttons for selecting....and the ability to switch device on/off?
that would be super handy in a live show (if you're adding fx on the fly)
I could probably midi map some buttons to activate/de-activate devices..
Just be convenient to have one button to rule them all.
...and it's mr sakitumi (too late to change profile name)...damn
LIVE, DS lite, a tambourine, tape recorder.
http://www.soundcloud.com/mrsakitumi
http://www.facebook.com/mrsakitumi
http://www.youtube.com/mrsakitumi
http://www.twitter.com/mrsakitumi

guille
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 5:06 am
Location: Spain

Re: New Remote Script for Novation Nocturn and Live 8

Post by guille » Thu Jan 21, 2010 4:17 pm

11olsen wrote:can you tell me the difference between page 2 and 3 in the user section?
and what do you mean with "the last free button in the last user page to stop all clips" in your release notes?
can't find it.
page 2 and 3 are both triggering and stopping clips with the buttons,
one time it's called "trigger" and then "playing".
hmmm.
edit: got it, trigger is the actual scene and playing shows clips from different scenes.

guille, do you have some more fuctions hiding in your script that are actually not mapped in one of the automaps?

greets
Buttons of page 2 show and set the state of the clip slot in selected scene. Press a button and simply you will launch the slot of the current scene.

In page 3 buttons show if a clip of any scene is playing. If the track hasn't got a clip playing and you press the button you launch the clip of selected scene as page 2. But press the button when any clip of the track is playing and you will stop it.

Summarizing, to control the state of an scene you can use page two but use page three to control the playing state of the tracks.

You have got free buttons when -for example- there are less of eight tracks. Those unattached buttons can be used to stop all clips.

guille
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 5:06 am
Location: Spain

Re: New Remote Script for Novation Nocturn and Live 8

Post by guille » Thu Jan 21, 2010 5:08 pm

mrsakitumi wrote:Brilliant work mister! Had this all up and running in no time.
Your script for Nocturn, along with Launchpad is a killer combo for Live.

Just one request:
In the Inst mode, would it be possible to set-up buttons for "device on/off" and a"left"&"right"
for navigation between devices on the same track?

That would really be awesome.
If not, I'm still a happy nocturn user!
The problem is that there are only eight buttons and this kind of control (left, right, on/of) needs accessibility to be practical. I use computer keyboard to do this.

mrsakitumi
Posts: 199
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 1:16 pm
Location: South Africa

Re: New Remote Script for Novation Nocturn and Live 8

Post by mrsakitumi » Thu Jan 21, 2010 5:26 pm

Is there a keyboard shortcut for switching a device on/off?
I just don't want to have to aim a mouse cursor at the device switch during a gig.
Pre- midi mapping all the device on/off buttons are possible before a show (can even use LP user2 mode for that)
It can just start to become a memory game as the set builds and evolves over time.
thanks for the reply guille.
...and it's mr sakitumi (too late to change profile name)...damn
LIVE, DS lite, a tambourine, tape recorder.
http://www.soundcloud.com/mrsakitumi
http://www.facebook.com/mrsakitumi
http://www.youtube.com/mrsakitumi
http://www.twitter.com/mrsakitumi

mrsakitumi
Posts: 199
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 1:16 pm
Location: South Africa

Re: New Remote Script for Novation Nocturn and Live 8

Post by mrsakitumi » Thu Jan 21, 2010 5:28 pm

when I refer to the keyboard shortcut, it's so I can keyboard map a button in automap.
realised i can keyboard map "left" and "right" to buttons, to move through devices.
thanks again 8)
...and it's mr sakitumi (too late to change profile name)...damn
LIVE, DS lite, a tambourine, tape recorder.
http://www.soundcloud.com/mrsakitumi
http://www.facebook.com/mrsakitumi
http://www.youtube.com/mrsakitumi
http://www.twitter.com/mrsakitumi

baseinstinct
Posts: 659
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2008 3:45 am

Re: New Remote Script for Novation Nocturn and Live 8

Post by baseinstinct » Thu Jan 21, 2010 9:14 pm

ideally, a predefined key should on/off the currently selected device. default project could contain this setting - this solution seems the most Live.

But that's something for the wish list.

delicioso
Posts: 1331
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 8:28 pm

Re: New Remote Script for Novation Nocturn and Live 8

Post by delicioso » Sat Jan 23, 2010 4:09 am

mrsakitumi wrote:Is there a keyboard shortcut for switching a device on/off?
I just don't want to have to aim a mouse cursor at the device switch during a gig.
I would suggest adding a nanokontrol to the mix running myralfur's script. It'll give you things that will complement the guille-ified Nocturn very nicely, including device on/off, navigating between devices not to mention tracks/scenes. And all those buttons across 4 scenes give you lots of room to customize like keyboard shortcuts and menu items, virtually eliminating the mouse for most tasks.

mrsakitumi
Posts: 199
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 1:16 pm
Location: South Africa

Re: New Remote Script for Novation Nocturn and Live 8

Post by mrsakitumi » Sat Jan 23, 2010 9:35 pm

thanks for the advice. I actually have a Padkontrol (which I use for studio). suppose I can use a script for it as well.
almost feels redundant (PK) taking it to gigs if I have LP with User1 mode for drum racks etc.
It can also start becoming a huge memory game, with the Nocturn (scripted), LP (user 2 mode midi mapped) and PK (scripted).
I'd just love to use Nocturn as the one stop shop for controlling Live (at least you can see the descriptions on whatever's been
mapped on the automap view mode)
...and it's mr sakitumi (too late to change profile name)...damn
LIVE, DS lite, a tambourine, tape recorder.
http://www.soundcloud.com/mrsakitumi
http://www.facebook.com/mrsakitumi
http://www.youtube.com/mrsakitumi
http://www.twitter.com/mrsakitumi

delicioso
Posts: 1331
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 8:28 pm

Re: New Remote Script for Novation Nocturn and Live 8

Post by delicioso » Sat Jan 23, 2010 9:59 pm

mrsakitumi wrote:thanks for the advice. I actually have a Padkontrol (which I use for studio). suppose I can use a script for it as well.
almost feels redundant (PK) taking it to gigs if I have LP with User1 mode for drum racks etc.
It can also start becoming a huge memory game, with the Nocturn (scripted), LP (user 2 mode midi mapped) and PK (scripted).
I'd just love to use Nocturn as the one stop shop for controlling Live (at least you can see the descriptions on whatever's been
mapped on the automap view mode)
Assuming you're on OS X, then you should definitely use farmpad with padKontrol. You can repurpose all of its buttons, knobs, touchpads and pads to your liking across many scenes. You can have all the buttons on the left mapped to shortcut key commands for example. Farmpad is very powerful but you still won't get all the dynamic automapped controls like device on/off, device/track/scene navigation and such like you do with nanokontrol running myralfur's script.

baseinstinct
Posts: 659
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2008 3:45 am

Re: New Remote Script for Novation Nocturn and Live 8

Post by baseinstinct » Sun Jan 24, 2010 10:09 pm

If you're on PC, definitely try stutter's patch for padKONTROL.

Demonstration available on Youtube.

I have it further tailored.

mrsakitumi
Posts: 199
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 1:16 pm
Location: South Africa

Re: New Remote Script for Novation Nocturn and Live 8

Post by mrsakitumi » Mon Jan 25, 2010 12:52 pm

thanks for the feedback guys.
I've thought about farmpad in the past, but now with Nocturn (guille's wicked script) and LP (User 2 mode for midi mapping), I have most of the bases covered.
A device on/off added to the script would just be the cherry on the cake.
For now I'll just midi map each device's on/off switch to pads in the LP user 2 section.
...and it's mr sakitumi (too late to change profile name)...damn
LIVE, DS lite, a tambourine, tape recorder.
http://www.soundcloud.com/mrsakitumi
http://www.facebook.com/mrsakitumi
http://www.youtube.com/mrsakitumi
http://www.twitter.com/mrsakitumi

Post Reply